FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

cm-11.0 (Android 4.4) ROMs for Nexus Q: Amplifier, HDMI, and SPDIF

82 posts
Thanks Meter: 55
 
By hharte, Member on 4th January 2014, 05:33 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
25th May 2014, 06:41 PM |#31  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Unhappy It's not working
Hey everyone,

while reading this post, I have the impression that nobody has any problems with installing this new rom. So I came to the resolution that I have done everything wrong

I have dowloaded the recovery and the ZIP for the rom.
I have boot the Q with the recovery and see the menue.
I have choose install zip/ install zip from sideload.
Then I enter the adb command for sideload and the filename and then NOTHING.
ADB shows al the commands to use with but the rom is not installing at the Q. It waits and waits and waits for data

Has anybody a idea what this could be? I have bought the Q at eBay, because in Germany it is VERY rarely. I would not use it as a lighting paperweight

Sorry for my english, I hope it is sufficient.

Andreas
 
 
26th May 2014, 05:07 AM |#32  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andischaf

Hey everyone,

while reading this post, I have the impression that nobody has any problems with installing this new rom. So I came to the resolution that I have done everything wrong

I have dowloaded the recovery and the ZIP for the rom.
I have boot the Q with the recovery and see the menue.
I have choose install zip/ install zip from sideload.
Then I enter the adb command for sideload and the filename and then NOTHING.
ADB shows al the commands to use with but the rom is not installing at the Q. It waits and waits and waits for data

Has anybody a idea what this could be? I have bought the Q at eBay, because in Germany it is VERY rarely. I would not use it as a lighting paperweight

Sorry for my english, I hope it is sufficient.

Andreas

adb shows all commands means you have enter wrong parameter.
26th May 2014, 06:01 PM |#33  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by maomao891007

adb shows all commands means you have enter wrong parameter.

adb sideload filename.zip
Or not?
12th July 2014, 05:35 AM |#34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
This is probably a really dumb question as everyone seems to be taking it for granted, but I have followed the steps and have CM up and running at the welcome screen, but how is one supposed to go about controlling the Q? The only thing I can do is mute and change the volume with the northern hemisphere.

Do I have to find a keyboard/mouse with micro-USB? Wifi and Bluetooth appear to be off on the device. At very least, the device is not discoverable with my Z10 nor my Moto-G.

Edit: I should also add that "adb devices" from the terminal reveals no devices connected to my computer despite the fact that it is. I have tried adb kill-server and adb start-server and adb usb, but to no avail.
13th July 2014, 09:46 PM |#35  
Junior Member
Flag Chicago, IL
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
To control your Q, you've got a couple options. I personally use a micro usb OTG cable and have a powered USB hub, with a Bluetooth mouse, RetroBit NES adapters and controllers, and another USB cable that I use to charge my tablet. The on screen keyboard is fine with the mouse for the few times I have to type on it. Having a hub attached works great. Alternatively, having just a mouse attached will be fine, but due to the way the USB port is recessed, you'll need the OTG cable, and it should be a straight connector, like the PPA cable (UPC
833250005361 - sorry, I'm not yet cool enough to post links)

I'm not sure of any other way to get it set up. If you want to use your phone to control your Q, you could install Droidmote Server on your Q and Droidmote Client on your phone. I think you'll need a mouse attached to set up Droidmote Server on the Q, but after initial setup, it can start on reboot.

To get ADB running during normal operation, go into Settings, activate Developer Mode, check debug mode on USB connection, and under Storage, make sure that the MTP setting is disabled. Connect to your computer by USB and set your Q to remember your computer's ID.
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba Jeremy For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Scuba Jeremy Ad-Free
31st July 2014, 02:14 AM |#36  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Do I have to flash this via adb, or can I download and flash in recovery if I'm running an older version of CM10?
15th August 2014, 07:32 PM |#37  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by unknownkwita

Thanks for the rom, i just flashed from cm10.2. no problems, everything seems to work fine.

Pity Cheapcast still gets stuck at the end of each song

I've been using Allcast Receiver and it has been working pretty great.
1st September 2015, 08:08 PM |#38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Does anyone know if it is still possible to get the gapps from this link? Or will a different version work? The link in the original post is not working for me.

Thanks
15th September 2015, 03:44 PM |#39  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
If you google the name of the gapps file, you should be able to find a working host for it.
11th November 2015, 11:33 PM |#40  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hharte

Hello,

Happy New Year!

Here are builds of Android 4.4 KitKat based on CM11 from repo sync on 1/3/2014 for Nexus Q. Please choose the correct one for your application depending on which audio output you need.

See the end of this post for details on issues and potential workarounds.

It is a good idea to wipe data and cache. If coming from my previous cm-11 image, it may be possible to avoid wiping data/cache.

Sideload gapps if desired:

If cm11 gets stuck in a boot loop, then you probably need to wipe. Reboot the Q back into fastboot as follows:

  1. Unplug power for Nexus Q and wait about 10 seconds.
  2. Plug Q back in. Do not put your hand on top of the Q until the small LED on top lights up.
  3. When the LED lights up on the top of the Q, cover it with your hand until the LED ring turns red. This has to be done in less than one second. If you miss it, try again.
  4. As soon as the ring is RED, remove your hand, and the Q should be in fastboot mode.

If you keep your hand on the Q while plugging it in, or if you put your hand on it too quickly, it will not enter the bootloader.
Now, you can "fastboot -w" to wipe, or "fastboot boot recovery.img" to boot into recovery and wipe using the menu.

Please let me know how these work for you. I'm using these TAS5713 and CM 11 seems to be work, but there are some functional and stability issues.

FUNCTIONAL AND STABILITY ISSUES:
  1. Chrome Browser in Google Play Store says it's not compatible with this device for some reason. Pulling the .apk off a phone and "adb install" to Nexus Q seems to work fine. Make sure you are using the latest Google Chrome update with KitKat support. The previous version will crash on KitKat.
If you find any other issues, please let me know.


I believe that LG may have given the Nexus q the revival we have all been wanting with their new feature called "Earphone splitter" which allows simultaneous audio streaming through both bluetooth and the 3.5 headphone jack.

I have been running a nexus q as a central media device with netflix, youtube, and google play music in my living room since buying one off ebay a long while ago, although i did want to be able to use the banana plugs i bought for the speakers i already had. Im very unaware of the limitations that exist just from decompiling the stock LG G4 rom and implementing the dual media output that this new phone offers but using this as a stepping stone we may have a way to have the amplifier functionality with say hdmi output as well?
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to AaronSutter For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift AaronSutter Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes