FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

ZTE Grand SII LTE (S291) - ROOT , RECOVERY, install GApps

109 posts
Thanks Meter: 42
 
By jozco313, Senior Member on 25th May 2014, 01:23 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
3rd May 2015, 03:37 AM |#111  
Bilal.Android's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 42
 
More
ZTE Grand S II Root and Install Custom Recovery WITHOUT COMPUTER!!! IN 2 MINUTES!!! 100%

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=3098917
 
 
23rd July 2015, 04:47 PM |#112  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Root ZTE S291 With 360 Root APK
Just rooted ZTE S291 (B16) with 360 root android APK version 6.6.2
app is in chinese, installs chinese superuser,
got lucky randomly clicking on things in chinese
hope that someone will translate it and post guide in english
for people who have not been able to root this phone
with other methods.
25th December 2015, 08:13 PM |#113  
lukecz81's Avatar
Member
Flag DG
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Root method from the first post do not work
Actually it renders phone unusable (freezing, restarting etc)
Is 360 the only one method that works with thisphone?

EDIT
After applying this method on second computer, my touch stops responding
Phone turns on but I'm on lock screen (cannot unlock due to touch not working)
Any idea how to restore original firmware to this phone?

EDIT2
To restore touch function, you have to replace corrupted boot.img using ADB (my software version is B11, i used boot.img from B17)
If you want to root, it's better to use english CWM (which includes root) than using methods posted on XDA
Last edited by lukecz81; 28th December 2015 at 11:00 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to lukecz81 For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift lukecz81 Ad-Free
28th January 2016, 05:03 PM |#114  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
KingRoot works great on every ROM.
18th February 2016, 07:08 AM |#115  
headras's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukecz81

Root method from the first post do not work
Actually it renders phone unusable (freezing, restarting etc)
Is 360 the only one method that works with thisphone?

EDIT
After applying this method on second computer, my touch stops responding
Phone turns on but I'm on lock screen (cannot unlock due to touch not working)
Any idea how to restore original firmware to this phone?

EDIT2
To restore touch function, you have to replace corrupted boot.img using ADB (my software version is B11, i used boot.img from B17)
If you want to root, it's better to use english CWM (which includes root) than using methods posted on XDA

Hi;
I lost touch function with this method, can you help me please i'm new in flashing
and i hope you to help me ...
provide me please link to that boot.img and tel me how can i push it to phone please

thank you helping me
19th February 2016, 09:02 AM |#116  
lukecz81's Avatar
Member
Flag DG
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by headras

Hi;
I lost touch function with this method, can you help me please i'm new in flashing
and i hope you to help me ...
provide me please link to that boot.img and tel me how can i push it to phone please

thank you helping me

Did you install chinese recovery from first post or only tried to root?
Install chinese recovery from first post, then install english recovery with root included (choose second opton in chinese recovery, it's "install zip from sdcard" if I remember correctly):
http://pan.baidu.com/s/1mgMMD8c

When you have english CWM, install CM12.1 by alexeei:
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/4cC2Cex...i_28.12.15.zip
And install gapps, choose correct version here:
http://www.android.gs/download-insta...s-for-android/

Alternatively:
Apply boot.img from B17 through adb and touch control will work fine

Alternatively 2:
Download original B17 soft and install in stock recovery
Probably this is B17 software, but I don't remember (anyway - I've used boot.img from this rom to restore my touch control):
http://devicedownload.zte.com.cn/cn/...1010292565.zip
19th February 2016, 04:23 PM |#117  
headras's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
TY
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukecz81

Did you install chinese recovery from first post or only tried to root?
Install chinese recovery from first post, then install english recovery with root included (choose second opton in chinese recovery, it's "install zip from sdcard" if I remember correctly):
http://pan.baidu.com/s/1mgMMD8c

When you have english CWM, install CM12.1 by alexeei:
https://cloud.mail.ru/public/4cC2Cex...i_28.12.15.zip
And install gapps, choose correct version here:
http://www.android.gs/download-insta...s-for-android/

Alternatively:
Apply boot.img from B17 through adb and touch control will work fine

Alternatively 2:
Download original B17 soft and install in stock recovery
Probably this is B17 software, but I don't remember (anyway - I've used boot.img from this rom to restore my touch control):
http://devicedownload.zte.com.cn/cn/...1010292565.zip





Thank you for your help, i installed CM12.1 and pico Gapps, it works perfectly
6th April 2016, 11:02 PM |#118  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
lost touch
Hi,

I have a problem with not working touch in screen. I have done a root and uploaded Chinese recovery (by application from ZTE). After that I lost the touch. So I uploaded new Android Slim ROM B08: s291-b08_update-0531, but problem was the same. I returned to basic recovery (using ADB protocol in Chinese recovery and ZTE application). Touch didn't work. I was trying to upload boot.zip file with new boot.img file which fixs problem with touchscreen. But now I can not upload any .zip file. When I am trying I have message: upload failed. I can't connect to phone from ZTE application because usb debugging mode is off and can't change PC connection options because touch doesn't work.

Do you have any ideas how fix that touch, or change recovery?

Regards
9th April 2016, 09:01 AM |#119  
TheCityAndTheStars's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 27
 
More
I lost touch after installing some older version of rom.
Just used backup to return to previous version and everything worked fine.

If you do not have backup,maybe you should put some cm 12.1 on your sd card via pc or other phone and instal it through recovery.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes