Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Overclocking Motorola Milestone

OP emx_o

18th May 2010, 11:58 AM   |  #1  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlbogdan

Hello,
What a great day this is for the Milestone!


Tiagosousa just released a couple of hours ago a program that overclocks the milestone by a kernel module.


check it out: milestone-overclock - Project Hosting on Google Code

direct QR download:

Cheers!

have fun working great!!!

Developers Thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=683451

HOW TO KEEP SETTINGS AFTER REBOOT:

If you dont like to set the CPU frequency after each reboot you can add following lines to /system/bin/mot_boot_mode
This only works if this file is NOT in binary mode

Code:
#
insmod /data/data/pt.com.darksun.milestoneoverclock/files/overclock.ko
echo 68 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
echo 800000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate
If your file is in binary mode (not cleartext):
ONLY IF YOU DONT HAVE MEMHACK OR APPS2SD!!!!

1. rename original mot_boot_mode to mot_boot_mode.bin but leave it in the same directory
2. copy my mot_boot_mode (without extension) to the same directory
3. set permissions of BOTH files to 755 (rwx r-x r-x)
Attached Files
File Type: zip mot_boot_mode.zip - [Click for QR Code] (279 Bytes, 219 views)
Last edited by emx_o; 21st May 2010 at 09:41 AM.
19th May 2010, 12:44 PM   |  #2  
anheuer's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Amsterdam
Thanks Meter: 6
 
911 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Ik also just did this..

did have to root my 2.1 before i could..

but now working with a nice 1000Mhz processor..
also using setcpu as recomended.
19th May 2010, 06:22 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Beijing
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
I just overclocked my Milestone...

UK 2.1 ROM (SHOLS_U2_02.31.0)
Obviously Rooted
Apps2SD installed (1gb Ext2 Part) on my 8gb Class4 card

Tried overclocking upto 1200Mhz. All worked, but have decided to scale it back a bit to 800Mhz for daily use.

Also running SetCPU with profiles set.

Benchmarked with Linpack @ 800Mhz (MFLOPS: 6.506; Time 0.83sec)

Looks good so far.

I will now try to install JIT.
19th May 2010, 10:42 PM   |  #4  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
is there already a possibility for jit on milestone?! tell me if u got it working
20th May 2010, 04:35 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Flag Queenstown
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emx_o

have fun working great!!!

edit://
If you dont like to set the CPU frequency after each reboot you can add following lines to /system/bin/mot_boot_mode
This only works if this file is NOT in binary mode

Code:
#
insmod /data/data/pt.com.darksun.milestoneoverclock/files/overclock.ko
echo 68 > /proc/overclock/max_vsel
echo 800000 > /proc/overclock/max_rate

Hi, I'm a complete noob with Android (and next to no knowledge in Linux).
I've rooted my Milestone successfully and upgraded to the stock 2.1 version but have no knowledge of the internals, so i'm very cautious with modifying system files.

I've opened /system/bin/mot_boot_mode in text editor and saw a lot of giberish, so I assume it is in Binary mode?
How do I know for sure? If it is in Binary mode, can I change it?

Appreciate your help!

Cheers

Tai
20th May 2010, 09:05 AM   |  #6  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
ok there is a way to get it working in binary mode but DONT change the content of your file, thats very important.
ONLY IF YOU DONT HAVE MEMHACK OR APPS2SD!!!!

1. rename original mot_boot_mode to mot_boot_mode.bin but leave it in the same directory
2. copy my mot_boot_mode (without extension) to the same directory
3. set permissions of BOTH files to 755 (rwx r-x r-x)
Attached Files
File Type: zip mot_boot_mode.zip - [Click for QR Code] (279 Bytes, 42 views)
Last edited by emx_o; 20th May 2010 at 09:12 AM.
20th May 2010, 10:07 AM   |  #7  
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 16
 
427 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
Wink
Here is the actual thread by the project owner. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=683451
20th May 2010, 10:38 AM   |  #8  
emx_o's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Munich
Thanks Meter: 37
 
368 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
yeah, please stick with his thread
20th May 2010, 12:56 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Queenstown
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by emx_o

ok there is a way to get it working in binary mode but DONT change the content of your file, thats very important.
ONLY IF YOU DONT HAVE MEMHACK OR APPS2SD!!!!

1. rename original mot_boot_mode to mot_boot_mode.bin but leave it in the same directory
2. copy my mot_boot_mode (without extension) to the same directory
3. set permissions of BOTH files to 755 (rwx r-x r-x)

Thanks mate!

Much appreciated!
20th May 2010, 06:27 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 486
 
3,141 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I tried something similar with mot_boot_mode and it didn't kick in on the first boot. I replaced insmod with /system/bin/insmod just to see if that would make a difference. Then it worked on the next boot.

Warning: Make a nandroid backup before you try this, just to be sure... if you bugger up the boot files, it'll be your only way to restore.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cpu, milestone, motorola, overclocking
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes