LG to Release Octa-Core “Nuclun” SoC in the LG G3 Screen

LG is set to follow the likes of Samsung and other manufacture its own … more

Lockdown Pro 2 Brings Material Design and Media Support

Back in March of this year, we took a look at a rather innovated security application … more

Mural Watchface Brings 500px to Android Wear

On a traditional watch, you can’t really do too much to change its appearance once … more

Android 5.0 Favorite Features, Release November 3rd? – XDA TV

Google Confirms Android 5.0 Lollipop for November 3rd! That and much more … more
Post Reply

[HOWTO] Assign other buttons to show unlock screen

OP pina_

24th May 2010, 10:37 PM   |  #21  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kenilworth, Coventry
Thanks Meter: 13,126
 
11,639 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
Great hack!
This is an excellent hack - I've now got my Desire opening with the menu button hit twice! Just like how I had my G1
25th May 2010, 11:31 AM   |  #22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
300 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2007
More
here are my modifications as update.zip file

menu-to-wake
-enables wake for menu button

menu-to-wake wo power
-enables wake for menu button
-disables wake for power button
Attached Files
File Type: zip menu-to-wake.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.2 KB, 1083 views)
File Type: zip menu-to-wake-wo-power.zip - [Click for QR Code] (4.2 KB, 507 views)
File Type: zip back-to-original.zip - [Click for QR Code] (2.9 KB, 338 views)
25th May 2010, 12:45 PM   |  #23  
zaphyr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingchris

here are my modifications as update.zip file

menu-to-wake
-enables wake for menu button

menu-to-wake wo power
-enables wake for menu button
-disables wake for power button

Thanks, I tried the "menu-to-wake wo power" file, but it still doesn't work.
I rebooted twice, and then went into recovery to pull the file to see if it was overwritten.

Code:
C:\DATA\HTC-Desire\sdk\tools>adb pull /system/usr/keylayout/bravo-keypad.kl c:\
remote object '/system/usr/keylayout/bravo-keypad.kl' does not exist
then

Code:
C:\DATA\HTC-Desire\sdk\tools>adb shell ls /system/
bin  lib
There's no /system/usr/ ??

Then

Code:
C:\DATA\HTC-Desire\sdk\tools>adb push c:\bravo-keypad.kl /system/usr/keylayout/b
ravo-keypad.kl
1 KB/s (1867 bytes in 1.000s)
Code:
C:\DATA\HTC-Desire\sdk\tools>adb shell ls /system/usr/keylayout/
bravo-keypad.kl
So, now it's there; reboot time
Still doesn't work.
Back in recovery it's status quo as well

Code:
C:\DATA\HTC-Desire\sdk\tools>adb shell ls /system/usr/keylayout/
ls: /system/usr/keylayout/: No such file or directory
Seems to me, /system/ is overwritten at reboot....
...guess I'll have to live with it as it is, and try again with Froyo when it comes

EDIT: I noticed, the wake on powerbutton is not working until I enter the SIM PIN code? I have to use the menu key...is this by default??
Last edited by zaphyr; 25th May 2010 at 12:54 PM.
25th May 2010, 05:26 PM   |  #24  
aslocum's Avatar
Member
Flag Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 4
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
you have to mount system first...

adb shell mount /system
Last edited by aslocum; 25th May 2010 at 05:28 PM.
25th May 2010, 06:45 PM   |  #25  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
113 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2005
More
It works. Thanks kingchris for the modded files.
25th May 2010, 07:14 PM   |  #26  
Member
Flag Bienne
Thanks Meter: 5
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Thumbs up
great files

can someone post a step by step installation guide for android beginners like me ?

thx
25th May 2010, 09:09 PM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
246 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by lionel7

great files

can someone post a step by step installation guide for android beginners like me ?

thx

Try this on page one....

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...18&postcount=8
25th May 2010, 09:39 PM   |  #28  
zaphyr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aslocum

you have to mount system first...

adb shell mount /system

Ah, classic! That explains why I couldn't see /system/usr

So I did the whole operation again, still no luck.
I pulled the file off after I checked it did not work, and it's identical to the one I pushed i.e. it's not overwritten by default

Still, it's strange it works for some, and not others

EDIT: I found the source of my troubles! I had Lockbot Pro installed, and it overrides the bravo-keypad.kl file. Once uninstalled, the hack works like a charm
I am a little bummed though, because I really liked my customized lock screen
Last edited by zaphyr; 25th May 2010 at 09:45 PM.
28th May 2010, 05:59 PM   |  #29  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
How to assign wakeing on the optical trackpad for further unlocking?
30th May 2010, 11:07 PM   |  #30  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruslanvetra

How to assign wakeing on the optical trackpad for further unlocking?

i don't know if that's possible, if you know the code of the optical button, then it should be possible

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
remap, set
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes