FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Sim unlock method

12 posts
Thanks Meter: 36
 
By pisang_aza, Junior Member on 15th April 2014, 03:56 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
8th January 2016, 02:22 AM |#371  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashreedhar

Is your phone S-OFF? If so, this method should definitely work. S-ON, I am not sure. In my opinion the main issue is you are on stock firmware and it doesn't allow you to modify. Flash the modified firmware and SIM unlocking will be easier. For details on activating WCDMA and switching to gsm mode using network app etc, read my thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/spri...tries-t2847461

Good luck!

Thanks for reply!
I'm S-OFF.
Now I'm on InsertCoin_M8_3.0.4 ROM but nothing worked. I attached screenshots. Notice build version.
Downloading ".54.654.15 Modified Firmware....removed boot, hboot & recovery (fastboot flashable)" as you recommended, will try that ROM. Hope that helps.
As for QPST configuration, do you think if I forcefully switch to from LTE/CDMA to WCDMA mode that might work?
Do you know how to manually switch RADIO ON?
Seriously I have no idea whats wrong with the phone...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	6vroJBQUPl7fMgVCNH5bmt0iIdjTG4DO.jpg
Views:	246
Size:	192.9 KB
ID:	3602718   Click image for larger version

Name:	BTaFmR2b7z1vLiHDCMgsGwtIfkEuSlqN.jpg
Views:	250
Size:	223.2 KB
ID:	3602719  
 
 
9th January 2016, 01:42 PM |#372  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashreedhar

Is your phone S-OFF? If so, this method should definitely work. S-ON, I am not sure. In my opinion the main issue is you are on stock firmware and it doesn't allow you to modify. Flash the modified firmware and SIM unlocking will be easier. For details on activating WCDMA and switching to gsm mode using network app etc, read my thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/spri...tries-t2847461

Good luck!

Hey!
I flashed modified firmware and once again tried to unlock. And again no luck... mysterious... Will flash 1.54.654.9 modded firmware and give it a try.
29th January 2016, 09:06 AM |#373  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
upgrade it to Marshmallow
I have an Unlocked Sprint M8 with 4.4.2 andriod.
Now I want to upgrade it to Marshmallow, what is the safest way of doing it?

Thanks
10th February 2016, 02:56 PM |#374  
tclemens's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shepherdsville
Thanks Meter: 946
 
More
I guess a few of us have wondered why we can't sim unlock domestically as I was digging around in the firmware files I found a file named rcdata as I was viewing it I came across this line I wonder if there is a way to edit this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1455116030360.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	139.8 KB
ID:	3640945  
19th March 2016, 04:19 PM |#375  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Greats Job
20th March 2016, 01:10 AM |#376  
Vcek's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Alexandria
Thanks Meter: 302
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tclemens

I guess a few of us have wondered why we can't sim unlock domestically as I was digging around in the firmware files I found a file named rcdata as I was viewing it I came across this line I wonder if there is a way to edit this?

How about hex edit the word "rule"? Changing it will make the command invalid.
Or by changing the mcc numbers

Edit: btw where did you find this code? Is it in rcdata.img ?
22nd March 2016, 12:49 PM |#377  
tclemens's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Shepherdsville
Thanks Meter: 946
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vcek

How about hex edit the word "rule"? Changing it will make the command invalid.
Or by changing the mcc numbers

Edit: btw where did you find this code? Is it in rcdata.img ?

Yep in rcdata I finally gave up and activated my m8 on ting would've much rather use at&t
26th May 2016, 08:22 PM |#378  
Cashreedhar's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 152
 
Donate to Me
More
Has anyone successfully unlocked the phone to work on US carriers like T Mobile and AT&T? I know HTC M7 devs were successful in this, but wondering any such great news from M8 forums
31st May 2016, 03:11 AM |#379  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
I got a second hand M8 on Android 5.0.2 would this method also work or do i need to get s-off, custom recovery and flash a custom ROM?
5th August 2016, 09:06 AM |#380  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hello dear friends i have samsung galaxy j5 -j500f and after two days when i open 3g then my signal drop and say emergency calls only.
And then i open 2g then again signal come back so anyone can help me that what is wrong with my mobile.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes