OnePlus DR-1 Quadcopter Drone Available for Purchase

OnePlus has been teasing a new product for a while now, hailing it as a … more

KDZ of Android 5.0.1 Captured for T-Mobile LG G3

T-Mobile US is yet to release the 20B Lollipop build for the LG G3. Luckily enough, you … more

Build Custom Stock Kernel with Linaro GCC 4.9.1

With this guide for Sony devices, you will learn how to build a kernel using the Linaro … more

What’s Your Biggest Reason for Not Owning an iPhone?

With XDA being a community of Android enthusiasts, it is not uncommon to see … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Faster Flashing W/O Activesync and is Task29 better?

22nd May 2010, 12:52 PM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Greenwood, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Ok these two are related and are not...

I hadn't seen this elsewhere even with a search but to flash without having to use activesync simply power down your phone (completely off) either by holding the power button for about 3 seconds or by a program or remove your battery and count to 10...

Then hold volume down and power on the device then wait until the device gives you the bootloader screen (or the 3 colored bars)...

At this point the bootloader will say serial in the white portion... hook up a USB and connect it to the computer... windows 7 beeps at you when it accepts it... and it should now read "usb"... flash away!

1. power down
2. wait for shutdown
3. hold volume down
4. power on
5. wait for 3 color screen and serial
6. release
7. connect usb to both computer and phone.
8. wait for serial to change to usb
9. flash away!

With that said I like clearing my memory with Task29 which gave me this idea... as I hate doing activesync flashing... repeat... however I found that activesync does not resolve driver issues...

This is why it is advised to do task29 and your stock rom... then flashing your cooked rom... some things that task29 could not clear up for me that stock could....

I had a new voicemail message on every reset hard or soft... on 3 roms... this was a problem as there was no voicemail... but there was the icon?

Answer: flashed stock rom... this removed it where several task29's could not

Internet could not connect... Answer: flashed stock rom again... task29 and hard reset could not...

I know this takes a long time... flashing stock, task 29, then your Rom, and no the 2.07's do not count as Stock... and they do not seem to clear up anything... as the voicemail glitch was on WWE 2.07 EU and the internet was on a WWE 2.07 ASIA... I flashed, reflashed, task29'd, and hard reset, nothin'!

My thought is that first you restore the drivers/hardware let the phone reboot clear any problems... clear the rom with task29 then have a fairly good place to set your new Rom with good drivers/hardware and blank slate!
Hope this is useful for a lot of problems.
22nd May 2010, 01:19 PM |#2  
steviewevie's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 615
 
5,322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Going into bootloader mode is covered in the sticky thread about flashing ROMs. You can also flash from memory card too.

task29 completely wipes out the ROM area. I'm struggling to understand how flashing a stock ROM after a task29, and then your cooked ROM, is better. In fact it seems worse to me, i.e. you may have some stuff from the stock ROM left around when you flash the cooked ROM.
22nd May 2010, 02:39 PM |#3  
ultramag69's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Waratah
Thanks Meter: 615
 
4,580 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
You didn't say that you need Hard SPL on your Rhodium to do this... I reckon a lot of noobs reading this would brick their devices after reading this...
22nd May 2010, 03:00 PM |#4  
steviewevie's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 615
 
5,322 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultramag69

You didn't say that you need Hard SPL on your Rhodium to do this... I reckon a lot of noobs reading this would brick their devices after reading this...

I don't think they'd be at risk of bricking. Task29 needs HardSPL and will refuse to work otherwise. And a ROM flash will just hang without HardSPL.
22nd May 2010, 03:29 PM |#5  
Kenichi's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 28
 
214 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
I don't see a reason to flash a stock rom, at all. Although, I do appreciate your input about task29 to stock rom then to cooked rom. It just doesn't make sense to me, because I have never had issue using task29 and then just flashing to the next cooked rom.
26th May 2010, 05:47 AM |#6  
OP Member
Flag Greenwood, IN
Thanks Meter: 0
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Like I said above guys... I have ISSUES TASK29 COULD NOT RESOLVE ALONE... thus flashing the STOCK then Task29... NOT Task29 then Stock that would seem to be pointless -eh? So I am sorry if I were not clear enough in the post.

As far as the sticky, I had read through it... must of missed it but then again I was skimming for stuff I did not already know from my days of owning a T-Mo Dash (2G)... sorry but I did not remember seeing these instructions on how to get around activesync all the time... I mean let's face it, it is time consuming.

Also I let the stock run for a little too... just a few minutes and a reset or two...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
activesync, brick, connection, task29, voicemail
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes