FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

[GUIDE] Easy way to get MSL without calling Sprint, using CMDA Workshop, OR ROOT!!

Thanks Meter: 253
 
By kyouko, Senior Member on 26th May 2010, 11:38 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
First off I'll start by saying I have tried this on my phone (custom rom obviously) and on both my sister's and father's phone, both of which ran the official sprint update... don't ask me why.

Anyway, I came across this screwing around a couple months ago when I wanted to reset my PRI, and apparently it still works with 2.1 roms.

Before doing this make sure you have aLogcat. Also its easier to find your MSL if you go into logcat and "clear log" before doing these steps.

**Refer to the attached pictures if you get lost**
  • So step 1 is to go to your dialer and enter ##DATA# or ##3282# which will bring up the EPST menu
  • Once the menu pops up just select "View Mode"
  • At this point you will see a screen with 3 selections.
  • From here either press and hold the Home Key and select aLogcat if you ran it before, go to your tray and run Logcat.
  • After opening Logcat it will update, once it finishes press "Menu" and "Pause" the log.
  • Then scroll until you see a group of entries labeled "I/EpstBroadcastReciever" which should be green
  • Locate the line that has "MSL Code=" at the end of it
  • Edit: Or press Menu and Filter "MSL" (thanks wjason)
And there you have it, your 6-digit MSL code without ever calling sprint or using a computer.

Please let me know if this actually works for you guys as I have only been able to test it on 3 phones so far.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_1.png
Views:	9493
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	332918   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_2.png
Views:	10308
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	332919   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_3.png
Views:	12368
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	332920   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_4.png
Views:	111692
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	332921   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_1.png
Views:	9493
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	332918   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_2.png
Views:	10308
Size:	40.5 KB
ID:	332919   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_3.png
Views:	12368
Size:	13.7 KB
ID:	332920   Click image for larger version

Name:	Step_4.png
Views:	111692
Size:	40.1 KB
ID:	332921  
Last edited by kyouko; 14th January 2011 at 02:18 AM.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to kyouko For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
26th May 2010, 11:48 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
More
Worked like a charm. Thanks.

If you are going to use the MSL to fix your PRI after getting the code, just make sure you copy your last nandroid off the sd card, because if you are like me, it won't restore properly after the reboots. Didn't have a copy, so I got to rebuild everything.
Last edited by wadeheisen; 27th May 2010 at 05:42 AM.
26th May 2010, 11:50 PM |#3  
Account currently disabled
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Holy crap, im gonna try... thank you, thank you!
27th May 2010, 12:04 AM |#4  
Account currently disabled
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Confirmed that it worked... thank you!
27th May 2010, 12:13 AM |#5  
regaw_leinad's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle, WA
Thanks Meter: 3,689
 
More
Confirmed. Great find
The Following User Says Thank You to regaw_leinad For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th May 2010, 12:29 AM |#6  
Account currently disabled
Flag USA
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
This should be pinned, it really comes in handy.
27th May 2010, 12:31 AM |#7  
unCoRrUpTeD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fort Worth, TX
Thanks Meter: 240
 
Donate to Me
More
Once you pause it look for I/Eps....Really I looked for I/ and then Eps.
27th May 2010, 12:42 AM |#8  
mrinehart93's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 299
 
Donate to Me
More
Worked for me
27th May 2010, 01:15 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Worked here. Vote this gets stickied!
27th May 2010, 01:28 AM |#10  
redtrk's Avatar
Senior Member
texas
Thanks Meter: 432
 
Donate to Me
More
this worked for me also,thank you great find!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes