FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Boost Mobile APN fix for any ROM

184 posts
Thanks Meter: 41
 
By vitokes, Senior Member on 18th May 2014, 06:06 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
13th June 2014, 04:01 AM |#41  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bstrong9211

Yeah, going back to 6.6 I didn't get any data either.


Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

That's why it didn't work! You won't be able to send mms without data..

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to Deathtoflesh For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Deathtoflesh Ad-Free
 
 
13th June 2014, 06:09 AM |#42  
vitokes's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Grand Junction, CO
Thanks Meter: 41
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Deathtoflesh

That's why it didn't work! You won't be able to send mms without data..

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

Sorry guys forgot to check up. But yeah c-rom has broken data on xt1031 for the moment so that's why you can't send data. Probably won't work until then.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to vitokes For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift vitokes Ad-Free
13th June 2014, 06:14 AM |#43  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitokes

Sorry guys forgot to check up. But yeah c-rom has broken data on xt1031 for the moment so that's why you can't send data. Probably won't work until then.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

No prob, that's what I concluded as well.

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk
25th July 2014, 02:30 AM |#44  
Moped_Ryder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Haha! The things you find when one googles your profile. Small world indeed.

If you want a link to the folder I keep the fixes in use this: (copy to OP if wanted)

Boost LTE fix

R2 is basically a install binary update.

Here is some back story / info on the 'fix':

The primary goal I set out to do was to get lte working on our phones with CM / AOSP ROMs(I have a G3 Virgin Mobile phone). Secondary, if able was to get MMS to work. MMS is still a challenge to say the least. In order to get LTE / MMS to work on Sprints network you need to identify yourself as Boost / Virgin on the Sprint network...with correct settings and at times credentials. The APN settings I made actually is a combo of both Sprint and Virgin/Boost settings.

Beyond the APN settings I made a simple bash script to 'find and replace', or if not found input the settings required. It also adds a eri.xml for the phone to identify itself as Boost / Virgin.

Getting MMS to work on LTE made me pull my hair out. Virgin mobile(Boost) working on Sprint networks when it comes to MMS messages is an over complicated issue caused the providers. When attempting to receive MMS on LTE networks with stock MMS or some 3rd party MMS apps it returns with a "HTTP error: Authorization Required". When trying it on 3G its no problem. Seems they required "Authorization" for MMS on LTE but not 3G - go figure. Hangouts basically works for all because the app itself doesn't use the phones APN settings. It tries (and does) to attain what carrier you are on and use its settings. In our case it will identify you are on the Sprint network and use those APN settings. Why don't we set our phones to the Sprint settings?...no LTE then.

For Samsung phones (My S3) TW ROMs use a system called chameleon to attain both LTE and SMS/MMS ability. The chameleon system will not work in AOSP / CM ROMs. The system "shows" itself as Virgin Mobile for phone/network but Sprint for MMS.

I have also found this fix doesn't seem to work on MIUI ROMs either. Haven't figured out why. For some reason every S3 sprint MIUI ROM wont even boot on my phone.

For my fix - if anyone wants to use / edit / repost it I say go for it. Open source at its finest. Best way to learn IMO is to reverse engineer something....just be careful

As for the code if anyone wants to see it without unzipping:

The reason this is capable of flashing on multiple phones is partition specific blocks are not used.

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
Is used and not something like:

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p14", "/system");

Script I made for the build.prop edits:
Code:
#!/sbin/sh
#For APNs fix D2LTE Build ROMs
#Written by Moped_Ryder
#Update to handle universal lte builds
busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
cp /system/build.prop /system/build.prop-bak
if grep -q "ro.cdma.home.operator" "/system/build.prop"; then  
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.sim.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.sim.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.telephony.default_network=.*$/ro.telephony.default_network=8/' /system/build.prop
else  
	echo "####Adding the Boost Mobile APN fixes####" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.telephony.default_network=8" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "telephony.slteOnCdmaDevice=1" >> /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
fi
if grep -q "moped_ryder" "/system/build.prop"; then
	echo "its there"
else
	echo "#moped_ryder carrier edit completed" >> /system/build.prop
fi
Like I said nothing too complicated

The APN Settings used are:
Code:
	<!-- BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS -->
	<apn carrier="APN1 Boost Internet LTE" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="14" /> 
	<apn carrier="APN2 Boost Internet EHRPD" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="13" /> 
	<!-- END BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS-->
Credit where due > My work may not have been possible without junkie2100 from android forums. You ever see him - give him a like / thanks please

...as said in the OP flash at own risk. Sorry so long
The Following User Says Thank You to Moped_Ryder For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Moped_Ryder Ad-Free
10th January 2015, 07:41 AM |#45  
Lucas Eugene's Avatar
Senior Member
★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
Thanks Meter: 1,563
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moped_Ryder

Haha! The things you find when one googles your profile. Small world indeed.

If you want a link to the folder I keep the fixes in use this: (copy to OP if wanted)

Boost LTE fix

R2 is basically a install binary update.

Here is some back story / info on the 'fix':

The primary goal I set out to do was to get lte working on our phones with CM / AOSP ROMs(I have a G3 Virgin Mobile phone). Secondary, if able was to get MMS to work. MMS is still a challenge to say the least. In order to get LTE / MMS to work on Sprints network you need to identify yourself as Boost / Virgin on the Sprint network...with correct settings and at times credentials. The APN settings I made actually is a combo of both Sprint and Virgin/Boost settings.

Beyond the APN settings I made a simple bash script to 'find and replace', or if not found input the settings required. It also adds a eri.xml for the phone to identify itself as Boost / Virgin.

Getting MMS to work on LTE made me pull my hair out. Virgin mobile(Boost) working on Sprint networks when it comes to MMS messages is an over complicated issue caused the providers. When attempting to receive MMS on LTE networks with stock MMS or some 3rd party MMS apps it returns with a "HTTP error: Authorization Required". When trying it on 3G its no problem. Seems they required "Authorization" for MMS on LTE but not 3G - go figure. Hangouts basically works for all because the app itself doesn't use the phones APN settings. It tries (and does) to attain what carrier you are on and use its settings. In our case it will identify you are on the Sprint network and use those APN settings. Why don't we set our phones to the Sprint settings?...no LTE then.

For Samsung phones (My S3) TW ROMs use a system called chameleon to attain both LTE and SMS/MMS ability. The chameleon system will not work in AOSP / CM ROMs. The system "shows" itself as Virgin Mobile for phone/network but Sprint for MMS.

I have also found this fix doesn't seem to work on MIUI ROMs either. Haven't figured out why. For some reason every S3 sprint MIUI ROM wont even boot on my phone.

For my fix - if anyone wants to use / edit / repost it I say go for it. Open source at its finest. Best way to learn IMO is to reverse engineer something....just be careful

As for the code if anyone wants to see it without unzipping:

The reason this is capable of flashing on multiple phones is partition specific blocks are not used.

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/platform/msm_sdcc.1/by-name/system", "/system");
Is used and not something like:

Code:
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p14", "/system");

Script I made for the build.prop edits:
Code:
#!/sbin/sh
#For APNs fix D2LTE Build ROMs
#Written by Moped_Ryder
#Update to handle universal lte builds
busybox mount -o remount,rw /system
cp /system/build.prop /system/build.prop-bak
if grep -q "ro.cdma.home.operator" "/system/build.prop"; then  
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha.*$/ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.sim.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.sim.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.alpha.*$/gsm.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.numeric.*$/gsm.operator.numeric=311870/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.telephony.default_network=.*$/ro.telephony.default_network=8/' /system/build.prop
else  
	echo "####Adding the Boost Mobile APN fixes####" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.numeric=311870" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.cdma.home.operator.alpha=Boost Mobile" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "ro.telephony.default_network=8" >> /system/build.prop
	echo "telephony.slteOnCdmaDevice=1" >> /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/ro.product.locale.region=.*$/ro.product.locale.region=US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.sim.operator.iso-country =US/' /system/build.prop
	sed -i 's/gsm.operator.iso-country=.*$/gsm.operator.iso-country=US/' /system/build.prop
fi
if grep -q "moped_ryder" "/system/build.prop"; then
	echo "its there"
else
	echo "#moped_ryder carrier edit completed" >> /system/build.prop
fi
Like I said nothing too complicated

The APN Settings used are:
Code:
	<!-- BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS -->
	<apn carrier="APN1 Boost Internet LTE" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="14" /> 
	<apn carrier="APN2 Boost Internet EHRPD" numeric="310120" mcc="310" mnc="120" apn="n.boost.ispsn" user="" server="" password="" proxy="null" port="null" mmsproxy="68.28.31.7" mmsport="80" mmsprotocol="null" mmsc="http://mm.myboostmobile.com" type="default,supl,mms,fota,dun" bearer="13" /> 
	<!-- END BOOST MOBILE CUSTOM APNS-->
Credit where due > My work may not have been possible without junkie2100 from android forums. You ever see him - give him a like / thanks please

...as said in the OP flash at own risk. Sorry so long



Hi could you please reupload the fix to another site.
13th January 2015, 02:52 PM |#46  
Moped_Ryder's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Try this

https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=95897840722641928
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Moped_Ryder For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Moped_Ryder Ad-Free
14th March 2015, 11:20 AM |#47  
coolbeans2016's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 42
 
Donate to Me
More
*question*
Quote:
Originally Posted by vitokes

I think maybe it should be. People wanted a fix and now they don't care. Is all good though. If it helps who tried that's good enough for me

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

I run across this searching for something else but it is something that has been buging me since getting my boost account active again in a little over a year. I have an HTC One sv, 4.2.2, unlocked thru HTCDev, rooted with TWRP 2.8.5.0 and SuperSU by Chainfire, s-off with rumrunner. Just running stock HTC RUU debloated with one_sv_swapper that got my partitions to app storage/6.85gb, phone internal/1/15, and my ext_sd. My phone wouldn't get service after account getting opened and when I called in the first rep reminded me to shut it down, wait a minute & turn it on. Got the phone to working at that point (I believe, can't remember exactly) but the data wasn't? or maybe both, but when I called back in I was directed up under mobile data/network mode and had to choose cdma only to get it to connect. Why can I not get lte/cdma? Isn't that part of what you pay for?

zach

---------- Post added at 06:20 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:35 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitokes

I think maybe it should be. People wanted a fix and now they don't care. Is all good though. If it helps who tried that's good enough for me

Sent from my Moto G using Tapatalk

I run across this searching for something else but it is something that has been buging me since getting my boost account active again in a little over a year. I have an HTC One sv, 4.2.2, unlocked thru HTCDev, rooted with TWRP 2.8.5.0 and SuperSU by Chainfire, s-off with rumrunner. Just running stock HTC RUU debloated with one_sv_swapper that got my partitions to app storage/6.85gb, phone internal/1/15, and my ext_sd. My phone wouldn't get service after account getting opened and when I called in the first rep reminded me to shut it down, wait a minute & turn it on. Got the phone to working at that point (I believe, can't remember exactly) but the data wasn't? or maybe both, but when I called back in I was directed up under mobile data/network mode and had to choose cdma only to get it to connect. Why can I not get lte/cdma? Isn't that part of what you pay for?

zach
21st September 2015, 04:45 PM |#48  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
LTE drops data on a daily basis
Hi,

I'm running the latest Optimized Cynogenmod 12.1 along with v2 of the APN fix on my SPH-L720. At least once per day, I see that my data connection drops and I have to manually go through the following steps to recover it.

1. Pull down the status bar
2. Long-Click on the circled "Boost Mobile" icon
3. Select "Access Point Names"

There are 2 entries listed:
- APN1 Boost Internet LTE
- APN2 Boost Internet EHRPD

The first "enabled" despite the data connection not working.

4. Click on the 2nd entry

After clicking on the 2nd entry, the first entry is automattically re-enabled and the data connection is reestablished.

So, my questions would be:

1. Am I the only person on this forum who is seeing this behavior? I haven't seen any other reports.
2. Does anyone know how or why this happens? I'm in NYC and am not sure if location has any effect on this daily problem.
3. Based on the answers to 1 & 2, any chance of a long-term fix?

Thanks in advance
8th January 2016, 07:35 PM |#49  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Is there something easy for me to do. Been trying to unlock wifi hotspot on Boost with not Note 2. So far I have managed to root phone with Kingroot, (ONLY oNE THAT WORKED) also done about 25 other down loads. Foxfi with key not working and hot spot not working. Can't get Apn changer to light up to try to change it. OMG! Running in circles here. HELP PLZ!!
9th April 2016, 03:02 PM |#50  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
OK I have a Galaxy S3 L710 on Boost Mobile. I have used the universal Boost APN fix before and it worked like a charm. However in the last update or 5, I haven't beenbeen able to get LTE to work at all. I'm running cm13 and get mobile data with 3g but no 4g? I've tried cleaning the caches, writing over my update, by itself, ect. Can someone direct me as to what I'm doing wrong? It worked before and I never had any trouble until the last month or so. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes