FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[MOD][XPOSED] Fire TV Mods by rbox

1,458 posts
Thanks Meter: 1,716
 
By rbox, Senior Member on 18th June 2014, 06:45 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
2nd June 2016, 02:23 AM |#281  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
i just flashed sdk22 to firetv 1 and xposed seems to work. since firestarter doesnt work well and i want to get rid of the amazon home alltogether I will use xbmc launcher now
 
 
2nd June 2016, 09:07 AM |#282  
Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrchrister

i just flashed sdk22 to firetv 1 and xposed seems to work. since firestarter doesnt work well and i want to get rid of the amazon home alltogether I will use xbmc launcher now

I installed as you have a few days ago, are there any other launchers you would recommend or is xmbc launcher the only one you have tried?thanks
2nd June 2016, 03:48 PM |#283  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
More
[MOD][XPOSED] Fire TV Mods by rbox
only one i tried and seems to work well! another easy way is to get spmc launcher edition, then you don't need an extra launcher


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to mrchrister For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift mrchrister Ad-Free
8th July 2016, 09:53 AM |#284  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
More
It seems that @WheelchairArtist make some changes to your repo @rbox ?
https://github.com/WheelchairArtist/RboxFireTvMods

Perhaps you can combine your work with @is0-mick 's work and nice kodi-voice search integration:
Quote:
Originally Posted by is0-mick

edit: 07/07/2016
I did start work a few months back on an Xposed module (works but not 100%), I was going to add a settings page but I think there was issues with xposed on android version that the fire tv runs on, due to permissions etc.

You can set a prefix in the code (currently hard coded to KODI) so if you say " kodi star wars" it would pass the param of "star wars" to kodi.
If you just say "star wars" without the prefix it would pass this to the normal amazon UI.

If anyone wants to take it further, it's attached on the link below.

http://uptobox.com/ensqll4a7r65

Mick

Greetings by Idijt
8th July 2016, 05:53 PM |#285  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,716
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_did_it_just_tmrrow

It seems that @WheelchairArtist make some changes to your repo @rbox ?
https://github.com/WheelchairArtist/RboxFireTvMods

Perhaps you can combine your work with @is0-mick 's work and nice kodi-voice search integration:


Greetings by Idijt

I did see it and I responded to him. When I have some time to work on this, I will definitely take a look at it.
9th July 2016, 12:14 AM |#286  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbox

Installing xposed is extremely dangerous and can lead to bricking your device. Properly installing it requires recovery. I suppose if you have hardware access to the MMC via the hardware root method, then it's less dangerous. Either way, I stand by the fact that xposed requires recovery.

Since The recovery and rooted FireOS5 can be installed on AFTV1 can we safely install xposed?? Has anyone made a guide??
Quote:
Originally Posted by I_did_it_just_tmrrow

I love you man!

Greetings by Idijt

Quote:
Originally Posted by treqie

And where might that be, exactly? There's nothing in Applications, the module has been loaded and activated.. but there's nothing in xpose itself that points me to anything launchable.


Sent from my B1-850 using XDA-Developers mobile app
11th July 2016, 05:28 PM |#287  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I don't want to disappoint some of you but i don't know if i continue to work on this module.
I'm just some non experienced once in a year hobby developer who doesn't know anything about java.
This is also my first time working on a xposed module.

Sadly this whole try and error thing drives me nuts: Try to get some method to hook. Hook in, recompile, reinstall, reboot, nothing works, check logs, nothing there, and so on.

i have some hard time to read the decompiled amazon packages, although i use an ide for it, and not getting any errors nor logs i put in the module doesn't make things easier for me. It took me almost a week to remove the Banner Ad. Now i have vacation and it's summer here, not hard to guess what I'm gonna do...

Things i wanted to bring in the module:
-Fix everything
-Useful stuff from HDXPosed
-Remove Controller Warning again
-Remove FSK18 Pin
-maybe fix system apps not launchable from app menu

Things i have done so far:
-Brought stuff from HDXPosed in
-Partially fixed HideLauncherAds (banner doesn't get shown but item remains)

BTW: The main point for me to start working on this is to support rbox and introduce some changes in my fork i wanted so see for myself, since everyone just sits there and wait for rbox to fix this.
Attached Files
File Type: apk app-debug.apk - [Click for QR Code] (32.1 KB, 46 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to WheelchairArtist For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift WheelchairArtist Ad-Free
12th July 2016, 08:00 AM |#288  
deanr1977's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag lost somewhere.... Help
Thanks Meter: 303
 
More
@idocinthebox try here mate -
http://forum.xda-developers.com/fire...guide-t3314142

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
14th July 2016, 07:14 PM |#289  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Excuse me for my ignorance but i am unable to install V1.5 Resflux apk on my rooted AFTV1 after installing Xposed to change my wallpaper setup. I dont see any
update on aftvnews site as well if this works with the new Fire OS5. Can someone help me out.
Failure [INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE] -
15th July 2016, 01:59 AM |#290  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanr1977

@idocinthebox try here mate -
http://forum.xda-developers.com/fire...guide-t3314142

Saw that, just was not sure it would work on fire TV version 1 rooted
16th July 2016, 04:06 AM |#291  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,295
 
More
I just used rbox's Xposed FireTV mods to get Firestopper working again on 5.2.1.0_r1. IMHO, it's an under-rated use of this xposed module, as I searched the thread and didn't find any post about it.

You don't need a 'launcher' app when you can set any app to launch with the home key (or any key) in key_codes.xml!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to xenyz For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift xenyz Ad-Free
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
xposed

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes