Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Materialized LeanDroid Fights Your Poor Battery Life

Battery life has always been one of the biggest problems facing most Android devices. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Has anyone installed the OTA AFTER rooting?

OP TheBiles

5th June 2010, 04:57 AM   |  #11  
1wingangel's Avatar
Senior Member
Midgar
Thanks Meter: 2
 
640 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sph33r

I just tried it.. it appears to fail, reboots, and you're still on 1.32.651.1.

What exactly does the this ota do anyway?
5th June 2010, 05:03 AM   |  #12  
gravis86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kirkland, WA
Thanks Meter: 149
 
1,118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1wingangel

What exactly does the this ota do anyway?

It's supposed to fix the read/write permissions glitch with the MicroSD card.
6th June 2010, 06:04 AM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 19
 
550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by diomark

I rooted mine BEFORE the OTA upgrade.. and it stayed rooted after.. -m

Let me correct this.. The OTA update did not work.. (I stayed at the old software version after trying to apply it.. but root stayed around..)

NOW has anyone managed to place the SD card fix on here manually?

-mark
6th June 2010, 05:07 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2007
Yes please. Just update.zip that goodness please. I am sure a complete SuperFresh Rom is on its way.
6th June 2010, 06:46 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Well i guess I got this all backwards
I didnt know any better when I got the phone in the store, and I did the update...

then decided to root it.... did the process....

it worked.... but then I had the insufficient permissions on the SD card issue...

after reading a bunch of yea's and nay's on OTA update

I finally made the decision to just due the OTA update cuz I that SD card issue really bugged me...

I did the OTA update, the phone did this funny thing where its showing a green progress bar and then in the middle of it, a red question mark pops up as if it were saying " what the hell is this??" lol

it rebooted... and phone came back online, and now my SD card isnt having the same issue anymore...
UPDATE: Its back.... so now what do I do? Is there any way I can include all my info and settings and apps in a custom recovery cuz if i have to do this again im gonna freak. lol
Last edited by lbheightsboy; 6th June 2010 at 07:31 PM. Reason: update
6th June 2010, 07:03 PM   |  #16  
Member
springfield
Thanks Meter: 3
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbheightsboy

I did the OTA update, the phone did this funny thing where its showing a green progress bar and then in the middidle of it, a red question mark pops up as if it were saying " what the hell is this??" lol

your having the same problem as me... the update failed.. which is why were waiting on a way to manually apply the update.
6th June 2010, 07:15 PM   |  #17  
twista117's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
31 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
OTA worked perfectly. And I get root access
6th June 2010, 08:30 PM   |  #18  
jabbawalkee's Avatar
Senior Member
Chevy Chase, MD
Thanks Meter: 175
 
2,039 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2008
More
I still haven't gotten the OTA...no matter how many times I manually "check now" in HTC Software Updates, it does not show up. I don't know why this is happening, it's very odd. I'm waiting for someone to cook the update into a custom, or rather stock, ROM. It's driving me insane at the moment, not to mention a bunch of apps are missing from the market (a whole other issue in it's own right). If anyone has an update.zip I can flash or a way to fix this, please please please let me know. Thanks.
7th June 2010, 12:02 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 33
 
287 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Re: Has anyone installed the OTA AFTER rooting?
I wasn't getting the OTA notification either until I enabled WiFi, then restarted the phone. Worked perfectly after that. Didn't even have to go to system updates.

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes