FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Anyone able to run Plex (SERVER) on the Fire TV

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By beaniiman, Junior Member on 26th June 2014, 05:08 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Not sure if its possible now with root but I would like to actually use my FireTv as a Plex server if possible.
 
 
27th June 2014, 04:28 AM |#2  
troby86's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lumberton, TX
Thanks Meter: 920
 
Donate to Me
More
Server? Why a server? There is a Plex app for the FireTV already. Doesn't really make much sense to use a media streaming device meant for pulling from a server (i.e. computer) to act as a server.
27th June 2014, 03:43 PM |#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Not a crazy idea
Quote:
Originally Posted by troby86

Server? Why a server? There is a Plex app for the FireTV already. Doesn't really make much sense to use a media streaming device meant for pulling from a server (i.e. computer) to act as a server.

Actually it is not a far stretch to want a Plex server running from FTV. There are a lot people in diverse forums asking about how to have a Plex Media Server not only on FTV but on WD My Cloud, and other storage devices besides Synolgy and Qnap which support de Server role.

The reason is that some people don't have a PC or Mac to spare or don't want to have a computer or laptop running the server. If you can run the Server in FTV then you can connect from a bedroom with a Roku, with your android tablet, etc. At this point only this NAS support Plex:

Asustor (Intel)
Drobo (ARM)
Netgear ReadyNAS (Intel, ARM)
QNAP (Intel, ARM)
Synology (Intel, ARM, PowerPC)
unRAID (Intel)
WD My Book (not My Cloud)

The only problem is the resources and the load of transcoding. In all honesty it is better to save some money and buy a Mini or Micro ITX PC or an old Mac Mini (Intel Core Duo 2 with at least 2 Mhz CPUs and 2 Gb of memory) on eBay to use as a server as they are very discreet and visually imperceptible for most people.
The Following User Says Thank You to gmicalzoma For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift gmicalzoma Ad-Free
19th February 2015, 02:31 AM |#4  
tarvoke's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Slightly Outside America
Thanks Meter: 49
 
More
the answer is, that if you have root, THEN YES!

lil'debi to the rescue.


https://forums.plex.tv/index.php/top...h-of-a-button/

previous experiments/disasters (but also some very helpful links)
https://forums.plex.tv/index.php/top...-3#entry805149
The Following User Says Thank You to tarvoke For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift tarvoke Ad-Free
7th June 2016, 10:05 AM |#5  
tedrogers61's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by troby86

Server? Why a server? There is a Plex app for the FireTV already. Doesn't really make much sense to use a media streaming device meant for pulling from a server (i.e. computer) to act as a server.

...because I run Plex Server on my Synology Diskstation NAS, which can just about cope with it when it is dedicated to a single task...ask any more of it (like scraping in the background too) and it falls over unable to transcode.

The FireTV has the power to do any video transcoding, so I'd rather run the server on that instead and have it pull the files from my NAS.

---------- Post added at 10:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:05 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by tarvoke

the answer is, that if you have root, THEN YES!

lil'debi to the rescue.

https://forums.plex.tv/index.php/top...h-of-a-button/

previous experiments/disasters (but also some very helpful links)
https://forums.plex.tv/index.php/top...-3#entry805149

Lovely, thanks....that gives me a place to go from here.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes