5,597,138 Members 45,234 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Nexus One USB host driver

Tip us?
 
sonic74
Old
(Last edited by sonic74; 7th June 2010 at 02:53 PM.)
#61  
sonic74's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Schwabach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by hugonz View Post
Sven, have you tried to make OTG mode (dynamic host/peripheral switching) work properly yet?
No, my tries integrating the codeaurora and the Google kernel tree led to many error messages. But Andrew de Quincey is working on the original linux gadget framework.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hugonz View Post
Also, have you managed to get VBUS generation working?
No, I'm as afraid as Andrew is. And my worst case power consumption is 2 A. I'm thinking about a portable 5 V power source with the National Semiconductor LMZ line.
 
operron
Old
(Last edited by operron; 17th June 2010 at 09:21 AM.) Reason: Added a link to current set of patches for 2.6.29 (still untested)
#62  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic74 View Post
Just apply the contents of *.rej by hand.
This is what I did shortly after having posted here... But this is not enough as the compilation then fails.
So I made further updates in some source files and have managed to get the kernel and the modules finally compiling.
I'm now ready to test this but.... as I don't have yet the OTG cable, I will have to wait for it to arrive !
However in the mean time if someone is willing to test my 2.6.29 usb host kernel, I'll be happy to share it.
 
rumborak
Old
#63  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jun 2010
I'm also trying to make it work, and am waiting on the cables (I also ordered another one from Amazon, search for "Cables Unlimited USB Micro A Cable" , which I hope will work too).
A couple of questions: What is the dual-power cable for? Is it strictly necessary, or rather there for driving some of the more power-hungry devices?
Also, what would the APIs be for activating the N1's power supply? I'm sitting on a pile of N1s here at work, and I'd be happy to use one for testing that API I will be trying to connect a very low-consumption USB devices, so I'm hoping I could get away without an external power supply.
 
sonic74
Old
#64  
sonic74's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Schwabach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
I also ordered another one from Amazon, search for "Cables Unlimited USB Micro A Cable" , which I hope will work too.
No unique hit. How about a link?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
What is the dual-power cable for?
To power the upstream port, because the hub chip get its power from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
Is it strictly necessary?
Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
Also, what would the APIs be for activating the N1's power supply?
Look for msm_hsusb_vbus_power in git://codeaurora.org/quic/kernel/bryanh/linux-2.6.31.y.git
 
rumborak
Old
#65  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by sonic74 View Post
No unique hit. How about a link?
I'm a new member, the forum doesn't let me post links yet

www_amazon_com/Cables-Unlimited-Micro-Cable-Meter/dp/B000UNKGHY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=wireless&qid=1275926558&sr=8-1

Quote:
To power the upstream port, because the hub chip get its power from there.
Ooh, I see. The hub chip is not powered by the N1 itself?
Or would this also get activated with the power API call?
 
sonic74
Old
#66  
sonic74's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Schwabach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
www_amazon_com/Cables-Unlimited-Micro-Cable-Meter/dp/B000UNKGHY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=wireless&qid=1275926558&sr=8-1
This won't fit, look at the photos.
 
rumborak
Old
#67  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jun 2010
Hmm, now that I realize that the dual power cable is strictly needed, I guess it makes sense that you'd need a female USB plug on that end. I was hoping I could go straight from the OTG micro-A to either a hub, or directly to the device.
 
bipolarben
Old
#68  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2010
Question Android on external monitor?

Would it be possible to run the android interface on an attached usb external monitor?
 
sonic74
Old
(Last edited by sonic74; 7th June 2010 at 07:32 PM.)
#69  
sonic74's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Schwabach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
Hmm, now that I realize that the dual power cable is strictly needed, I guess it makes sense that you'd need a female USB plug on that end.
There are gender changers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rumborak View Post
I was hoping I could go straight from the OTG micro-A to either a hub, or directly to the device.
This one is more difficult: You need a Micro B plug.
 
sonic74
Old
(Last edited by sonic74; 7th June 2010 at 07:32 PM.)
#70  
sonic74's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 17
Posts: 161
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Schwabach

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bipolarben View Post
Would it be possible to run the android interface on an attached usb external monitor?
At least it would be possible to mirror the phone screen by copying /dev/graphics/fb0 to /dev/graphics/fb1 periodically.

Tags
displaylink, keyboard, usb host, usb stick, x11
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes