FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

*Root the Slide & Other HTC Devices*6/15/2010* How-To Updated 8/14/2010

5,635 posts
Thanks Meter: 7,319
 
By eugene373, Retired Recognized Developer on 15th June 2010, 05:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
27th June 2010, 04:36 AM |#751  
Senior Member
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchmin

I've tried every method on here except buying a 16GB SD card...so far no luck. I hope another method comes along


Just keep trying and you will get it. you tried the new loop correct with a battery pull? I had been working on mine since it came out on the 15th.
 
 
27th June 2010, 04:49 AM |#752  
Henchmin's Avatar
Senior Member
Oakland
Thanks Meter: 13
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nomadrider123

Just keep trying and you will get it. you tried the new loop correct with a battery pull? I had been working on mine since it came out on the 15th.

Ya. Tried that. 5 different SD cards, two laptops, reinstalled drivers on both, nada. With the new loop, I do see offline mode longer it seems but not by much

edit: spellllin HUR HUR
Last edited by Henchmin; 27th June 2010 at 05:07 AM.
27th June 2010, 04:53 AM |#753  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Thankyou everyone. I just got my Slide tonight and couldnt wait to get it rooted.
27th June 2010, 05:22 AM |#754  
Senior Member
Flag MN
Thanks Meter: 129
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henchmin

Ya. Tried that. 5 different SD cards, two laptops, reinstalled drivers on both, nada. With the new loop, I do see offline mode longer it seems but not by much

edit: spellllin HUR HUR

I have been there... is you phone set up for usb debbuging? Oh and my connection type was set on charging only not sync nor disk drive
27th June 2010, 05:35 AM |#755  
Member
Flag houston
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
completed all the steps listed and i was able to install the superuser.apk but when i adb shell in the cmd prompt i get the $ and type SU but it keeps saying permission denied and there isnt a notification on my phone to accept su request or anything... im stuck here please help!
27th June 2010, 05:58 AM |#756  
Member
Flag PORTLAND
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
the only problem im having is the timing of the command and hitting "apply sdcard: update.zip"

when i enter that in, all i get is the bar for 1 or 2 seconds then

E:failed to verify whole-file signature
E:signature verification failed
Installation aborted

im able to get offline/recovery about 50% of the time but after that i hit the verification wall

Edit: the power of this forum is amazing!!!!!! just got root it was all in the timing
Last edited by NTree45; 27th June 2010 at 06:22 AM.
27th June 2010, 07:12 AM |#757  
Senior Member
Atlanta, GA
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
wat did u do? still cant get mine to pass the verification ****. Tried immediately, 2 seconds, 3 seconds, green bar moving, after selecting update.zip. NOttin worked. Sigh i freaking give up hope.
27th June 2010, 08:18 AM |#758  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I got it to work
I used the link for the slide in addition to what this guy said. You have to pop out the sd card as soon as you hit down to go into boot. Then when you run the loop file hit control C once it find your device after that its a piece of cake.
27th June 2010, 08:21 AM |#759  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by c-phresh

completed all the steps listed and i was able to install the superuser.apk but when i adb shell in the cmd prompt i get the $ and type SU but it keeps saying permission denied and there isnt a notification on my phone to accept su request or anything... im stuck here please help!

Did you make sure you mounted the system when you got into ClockWork? I missed that step too.
27th June 2010, 08:47 AM |#760  
judicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
I think o rooted but o can't use root settings on estrong file or titanium back up..said I have no permissions and I need to have root on Rom or bb ..it does say cid 0 and # for Su check...what am I doing wrong..I can't install root app from marketplave
27th June 2010, 09:05 AM |#761  
judicious's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bay Area, CA
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
def root..
adb shell
$
su
#

kernal 2.6.29-885f0b88 htc kernel @and 18-2 #1

i'm rooted right? but im on stock att rom..y can't i delete att apps and install like the root apps like estrong or titanium back up etc...i'm not sure if im supposed to do anything AFTER i root...settings.db or busybox?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes