FORUMS

T-Mobile Galaxy S6 Battery Woes

I’ve been using a T-Mobile Galaxy S6 since the device launched with T-mobile’s … more

Earthquake Early Warning in Your Pocket

Probably all of us reading this have a smartphone in our pocket. For many of us, the … more

Sony: The OEM You Want To Save

In our recent Discuss article, we asked you readers on which OEM you would like to help. While the … more

How to Lock and Protect Your Apps – XDA Xposed Tuesday

The smartphone revolution has passed. Everybody has mobile apps. Some of … more

[APP] "Skype on 3" mod (Australia, Italy, Denmark, Austria, Sweden...)

133 posts
Thanks Meter: 6
 
By dawmuz, Senior Member on 2nd July 2010, 04:07 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
<<<H3G network only>>>

Are you on the 3 network outside of UK?
Got an android phone and can't avail of your 4000 free skype minutes p/m as there is no Skype on 3 apk available where you are?

There is no Skype on 3 apk here in Ireland [Edit: 3IRL have just released their Skype on 3 app (attached)] and, as far as I know, no app in Oz, Italy, Sweden, Austria...and wherever else Hutchinson 3G operates!

These modded Iskoot apks are for 3Australia, 3Italy, 3Denmark, 3Austria, 3Sweden & 3Hong Kong (attached to this post). Simply install it, no root or adb needed. You are now able to make your free skype calls! Please test and report in this thread.

If there is interest from elsewhere, I will tweak it for your country too, just post a request here.

There are a couple of things I should mention:
1. The apk will drain your battery fast as it constantly connects to server.
2. It does not refresh the connection properly, so after you have made a skype call your received calls get routed through Iskoot servers, costing you skype credit on received calls.

Here's how you can make it work 100% flawlessly for you:
1. In the Iskoot apk - check "Sign in automatically".
2. Leave the "receive calls" box unchecked.
3. Install "Setting Profiles Lite" (free) from the market. Link here
4. In Setting Profiles Lite - Go to rules > press menu button > new rule > add condition > shedule period.
3. Set "On for 2 min every 45 minutes".
4. Add action > run application > "Skype".
5. "Do on rule enter - Start App"; "Do on rule exit - Kill App". >>[edit: "Kill App" feature doesn't seem to work in froyo]
6. Done.

This will autostart the app every 45 min, letting it run for 2 min, then kill it. Received calls will be free and still get pushed to your phone, even when the app's been killed (you will always show as online to your Skype contacts). Whenever you need to make a call - just start the app manually, then kill it with your task killer when you're done. Your battery consupmtion will hardly even be affected. Enjoy!


Regards,
dawmuz




<<< - A guide in Italian, thanks to Gx3!>>>
Attached Files
File Type: apk iskootMod3AUS.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.9 KB, 854 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3ITA.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 1953 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3DNK.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 381 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3AUT.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 367 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3SWE.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 360 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3UK.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 922 views)
File Type: apk iskootMod3HKG.apk - [Click for QR Code] (999.8 KB, 327 views)
Last edited by dawmuz; 24th June 2011 at 11:17 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to dawmuz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd July 2010, 06:36 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
That sounds brilliant? Any chance you could mod it for 3 in Australia?
2nd July 2010, 08:40 AM |#3  
dawmuz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adityasen

That sounds brilliant? Any chance you could mod it for 3 in Australia?

Sure. I'll upload it later today.
2nd July 2010, 01:03 PM |#4  
dawmuz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by adityasen

That sounds brilliant? Any chance you could mod it for 3 in Australia?

Here u go!
3rd July 2010, 05:09 PM |#5  
dawmuz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Any feedback on this? Does it work?
4th July 2010, 07:05 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
More
nice!!!


what about a for 3Italy?
4th July 2010, 08:24 PM |#7  
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dawmuz

Any feedback on this? Does it work?

Sorry..completely forgot about this thread. installing it now and will post up my test results tomo. thanks!
4th July 2010, 08:24 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 67
 
More
cool!! thanks!!!!
4th July 2010, 08:57 PM |#9  
Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
That is effin brilliant man!! Works flawlessly!!

I even got my skypeout to work! Here's how -> dial your skype out contact and you'll get a "this number is not connected" message. immediately after that, manually dial the number the app connects to for skype<-> skype calls and it works!
4th July 2010, 09:17 PM |#10  
dawmuz's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dublin
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by adityasen

That is effin brilliant man!! Works flawlessly!!

I even got my skypeout to work! Here's how -> dial your skype out contact and you'll get a "this number is not connected" message. immediately after that, manually dial the number the app connects to for skype<-> skype calls and it works!

Glad it works for you mate.
Skypeout just works for me without having to do that (only on foreign calls though).
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, skype
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes