Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[HOW TO] Transfer your CoPilot from WinMo -> Android

OP jonboyuk

28th July 2010, 06:38 PM   |  #1  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 95
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
***Update 3*** 09th August 2011
ALK have restored the CP8 download. Link here - thanks to Antus.

***Update 2*** 06th June 2011
It would seem with the introduction of CoPilot 9, a number of changes have occurred to their web site. As such, the old free APK update for CP8 has been removed from their system and can no longer be downloaded. It's still legit to own as it requires activation, so if someone could host the file contact me and I'll add the link, otherwise, this thread is effectively invalid. Sadly I no longer have the APK in question, because I just invested in CP9.

***Update*** 15th August 2010
This isn't specifically for the HD2. In fact this works for any device! WinMo -> Android OR Android -> WinMo.

Since those geniuses Coutlla/Dan fixed GPS for the HD2 Android, I thought for those of you who have purchased Co-Pilot and wish to transfer it over to Android, I'd make a small guide.

Requirements:

- A *LEGAL* copy of CoPilot 8 for Windows Mobile and the license key
- The latest version of CoPilot 8 for Android (works in Froyo now): LINK RESTORED

I bought it about 8 months ago for my HD2, for Windows Mobile 6.5. Great piece of software. I contacted ALK to ask if I could transfer between OS's and they said no, it wouldn't work! It also clearly states on their web site that transfers don't work: LINK RESTORED

So being stubborn, I thought I'd take my own license from WinMo and deactivate it, stick it into Android and needless to say - it works and I have a fully legal copy of CoPilot 8 running on my Android Froyo device. Those cheeky beggers at ALK!!!

So how to get it working:
  • Make sure you still have CoPilot installed under Windows Mobile and activated;
  • Launch CoPilot. Go to the Menu|Settings|Licensing (NOTE: If you can't see this, find "More Settings" and select that first to show Licensing);
  • Select your Map Region from the list (Mine was UK and Ireland), then press "Deactivate";
  • CoPilot will now shut down;
  • Boot into Android and using an installer, install the APK file which is in the requirements section at the top of the page or here (LINK RESTORED);
  • Open CoPilot from the Menu and it will ask for your license info. Enter this as you did when you first bought CoPilot (usually a username and password);
  • Bada Bing. That should be it, all working!

Just to clarify one further time, this is only for legally purchased licenses. No questions about dodgy software please. Thank you.
Last edited by jonboyuk; 9th August 2011 at 10:16 AM. Reason: Arrival of CoPilot 9
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to jonboyuk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th July 2010, 06:47 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2009
Very interesting, thanks !

How about Map data ? where do u put it on the card ?
28th July 2010, 06:50 PM   |  #3  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 95
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by myjupiler

Very interesting, thanks !

How about Map data ? where do u put it on the card ?

It should be on the root of your SD Card in a folder "CoPilot".
28th July 2010, 07:07 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
253 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
I wonder if the text to speech feature will also work.... using the current key.
28th July 2010, 07:47 PM   |  #5  
noellenchris's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Marlton, NJ
Thanks Meter: 831
 
2,508 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Thanks, thought that would work, and now I know it will! I'll be setting it up as well.

That was the only reason I would need to go back to WM. I use CP8 all the time!

Hero!
28th July 2010, 07:58 PM   |  #6  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 95
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by busterdan

I wonder if the text to speech feature will also work.... using the current key.

It has TTS built in!!! Don't even need to buy it! My traffic key worked also!
28th July 2010, 08:00 PM   |  #7  
jonboyuk's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag South West UK
Thanks Meter: 95
 
854 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by noellenchris

Thanks, thought that would work, and now I know it will! I'll be setting it up as well.

That was the only reason I would need to go back to WM. I use CP8 all the time!

Hero!

Haha, my motivation for switching was the same. It's better in Android IMO. For example you use the Android keyboard so it's qwerty and accepts voice input. It also has controllable volume over bluetooth For me I always listen to Music via bluetooth and in WinMo there was no control over individual volumes. If I had the volume at a normal level for music, the speech was far too loud. Now it's all controllable
28th July 2010, 08:12 PM   |  #8  
noellenchris's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Marlton, NJ
Thanks Meter: 831
 
2,508 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonboyuk

Haha, my motivation for switching was the same. It's better in Android IMO. For example you use the Android keyboard so it's qwerty and accepts voice input. It also has controllable volume over bluetooth For me I always listen to Music via bluetooth and in WinMo there was no control over individual volumes. If I had the volume at a normal level for music, the speech was far too loud. Now it's all controllable

Man I hated that Copilot non qwerty! Wow, speech too! Neat, just need to download the cp8 app for android now...
28th July 2010, 08:13 PM   |  #9  
mic_888's Avatar
Retired News Writer
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 5
 
429 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
More
@OP (and everyone else)

Would anyone mind if I wrote this up on the front page, as it's great news. Anyone foresee any issues if this becomes 'publicised'? If so, I will hold off.
28th July 2010, 08:29 PM   |  #10  
noellenchris's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Flag Marlton, NJ
Thanks Meter: 831
 
2,508 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic_888

@OP (and everyone else)

Would anyone mind if I wrote this up on the front page, as it's great news. Anyone foresee any issues if this becomes 'publicised'? If so, I will hold off.

My only concern would be that Copilot ALK may not want us to transfer. But I do think that other HD2 owners or anyone coming from WM should be, and would be, happy to transfer/use CP8 that they paid for on Android.

So I guess ...go for it. I'm switching ASAP just in case...hehe.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes