5,604,507 Members 46,840 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Galaxy S Sync with Outlook

Tip us?
 
Keith1990
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Galaxy S Sync with Outlook

Hi, I am having problems syncing the Galaxy S to Samsungs Kies software, which in turn allows you to sync with Outlook. Spoken to Samsung support but no result and they blame a faulty handset. Orange say not and suggested I try XDA. Is there any other software out there that can allow the phone to sync with Outlook? Thanks for any help.
 
EddiJoJo
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Keith1990 View Post
Hi, I am having problems syncing the Galaxy S to Samsungs Kies software, which in turn allows you to sync with Outlook. Spoken to Samsung support but no result and they blame a faulty handset. Orange say not and suggested I try XDA. Is there any other software out there that can allow the phone to sync with Outlook? Thanks for any help.
Are you using Launcher Pro by any chance?
 
Roy Ngan
Old
#3  
Roy Ngan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jun 2010
Correct me if I'm wrong, you plan to sync it via USB with your desktop Outlook and not via WIFI or Internet?

Any reason?
 
ivanmmj
Old
#4  
ivanmmj's Avatar
Retired Moderator
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 5,164
Join Date: Jan 2007
Moved to General forum. The development forum is only for development threads. (Threads with actual development happening.)
Questions should always be in the General forums (or Q&A if your device has a Q&A forum.)
God bless you!!!


Try my
JustStableV2 WM6.1 21051
JustHome - Alpha WM6.5
Ivan's Cooking Class
JustStableV2Micro - 73+mb free storage!
SuperJustKitchen - WM6.5 and WM6.1 kitchen for the Herald
JustKitchen.info - My Kitchen blog/site.

If you like my work and wish to donate, click

You don't have to donate to use my ROMs or my EBO kitchen, but any help is appreciated.
 
alijones
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 106
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Amsterdam
I am having the same problem. You can connect through USB cabble and Wi-Fi? Where can I find a tutorial? Thanks
Xperia X1i Black 16GB & Samsung Galaxy S 8+16GB & Samsung Galaxy Tab 10.1 P7510 16GB
 
Loco5150
Old
#6  
Loco5150's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 704
Join Date: Jun 2008
Orange directed you to XDA? Wow it really has become official...
 
AllGamer
Old
#7  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1571
Posts: 11,516
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loco5150 View Post
Orange directed you to XDA? Wow it really has become official...
seems like this site is world wide famous for NEW smartphones self served tech support

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
marie.musicademy
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default Same problem. Also administrator privilege error message

I am having the same problem with the Samsung Galaxy S and synching to Outlook. I'm using Kies with a cable. Orange is my service provider but have tried on Wifi as well and have the same error.

I get a message saying that I need Administrator Privilege permissions. I am logged in as the admin on my computer so not sure on this.
 
AllGamer
Old
#9  
AllGamer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 1571
Posts: 11,516
Join Date: May 2008
Location: buried under loads of work IRL

 
DONATE TO ME
if you are running Vista or 7, you need to do a right click and select "Run As Administrator" option

Donation is appreciated but not required, a cup of Coffee would suffice

Samsung i9000m: on CM10
Samsung Nexus S: on JB 4.2.2
Samsung Galaxy S II SGH-T989: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE SGH-i717r: on CM10
Samsung Galaxy NOTE 3 SM-N900W8: stock 4.3
 
marie.musicademy
Old
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jul 2010
Thanks Fido. Right click within Kies? Nothing happens. I'm running Windows 7. Have checked the settings and I do have administrator rights...

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

SideControl Gains New Powers through Xposed

You may recall that a little overa month ago, we first talked about SideCutsby XDA Forum … more

Leak Points to Windows Start Menu’s Return as Soon as August

About a month ago at this year’s Build conference, Microsoft … more

Wearables Walkthrough: Tasker on the Samsung Galaxy Gear – XDA Developer TV

The future certainly looks like it is full of wearables. … more

WinDroid HTC Toolkit Lets You Root, Unlock, and Flash ROMs on Various HTC Devices

Plenty of users nowadays have more than one mobile device. … more