Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,807,518 Members 50,771 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APP]New HTC Messaging Client Versions. 10/8 Current: 20193733 12/2 update

Tip us?
 
pyrorob
Old
(Last edited by pyrorob; 3rd December 2010 at 11:53 AM.) Reason: update about 3733 secure box
#1  
pyrorob's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hudson, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Smile [APP]New HTC Messaging Client Versions. 10/8 Current: 20193733 12/2 update

Ok, so, I was providing this in the HD2 apps forum and it kept being suggested to me to start my own thread, so, im thinking.. why do that just there? Its for wvga devices and people use it on multiple ones, so why not post it somewhere that everyone can see it?

So, what I'm going to be doing, is providing the newest versions here in cab and ext if requested.
Also, I'll try to provide some extra cabs here every once in awhile (like network settings,graphics tweaks,etc.).

So, here you go:

Current Version:

Pyrorob HTC Messaging Client v1.8.20193733.00.cab(btw, without securebox/vip)

UPDATE: Anyways.. Ive been playing around with some stuff regarding the 3733 client and i think i fixed the securebox/vip issue.. when you add a contact to the vip section now, there messages are forwarded to the secure box and there is a notification, but only in the notification bar, I would recommend to go to Settings/Sounds & Notifications/Notifications/Event:"Message:New Message" and check "Display message on screen" it will then have a pop up that tells you that its a vip message and from whom..

here for those that want to check it out:3733 Messaging_secure_vip_fix.cab




Quote:
[BETA TESTING]:

//\\

LEAVE FEEDBACK PLEASE.
[/BETA TESTING]

Languages:

French Language add-on (install after main install)
pyrorob Pyrorob HTC messanger FRENCH MUI'S.cab(20173127)

German Language Add-on (Install After Main Install)(credit goes to Sqoerk)
sqoerk german muis(407) for HTCMessaging Clinet 1_8_20182814.cab(will work with newer versions until noted)
german muis(407) for HTCMessaging Clinet 1_8__20181630.cab
pyrorob HTC Messaging Client German 0407 mui's.cab(20173127)
Install this after the german language pack: pyrorob german files 2.cab


Color Icons/Notifications:

Color notification icons to match the energy rom theme
,
pyrorob energyrom htc messaging color icons.cab (Updated 8/27 to be compatible with new htc client versions.)

Color Icons For various functions (credit for most of the icons goes to Sergio76),

pyrorob HTC Messaging Color Function Icons.cab

Extras:

T-Mobile US MMS settings,
pyrorob T-Mobile MMS for htc messaging.cab (For USA BTW)
pyrorob T-Mobile MMS SizeMax for htc messaging.cab

Quote:
Extra Info/FAQ:

How To Install:
(If you already Have the htc messaging client installed)
First Method: (Download:pyrorob Messaging Client OFF.cab) run the OFF cab (First), Soft reset (Second), Install Client (Third), and soft reset (Fourth)

Secondary method:
now for the people that are having problems installing/upgrading, the most common reason is due to the fact that if you had the client installed before, it installs a service, which is an actively running dll that runs in the background (like an openly running exe, BUT IT IS NOT AN EXE!) you have to shutdown the dll to overwrite it or you will face issues.
Now in energy roms, you can go to start/tools/ and open task manager, after it loads, touch in the top right where the little arrow is and go to "services" NOT PROCESSES, find "messaging service" and touch and hold on it and set it for manual and soft reset.

If the client was installed by you, then go to remove programs and uninstall any mods for it, then the client itself, soft reset,then install the client you want.
if it was pre-installed, just install.

If your not running an energy rom, Download:dotfred's taskmgr and follow the same directions after install.

IF YOU DO NOT DO THIS LIKE I HAVE SAID, (NOTICE I SAID NOTHING OF "MESSAGING CLIENT.EXE") THEN THE DLL MIGHT NOT BE OVERWRITTEN/UNINSTALLED.

To install (if the htc client isnt installed):
Just install.

How to uninstall:
(You cannot uninstall a cooked in client, so just follow the install directions)
The uninstall procedure is really simple, basically, run the off cab, soft reset, uninstall any addons you installed for the client, then uninstall the client, soft reset, thats it.

To Upgrade:
Follow the uninstall procedure, then the install procedure.



How do i set my MMS server as default?:
In the htc messaging client, go to menu/settings/options/ then again at the bottom, menu/mms server, Highlight the mms settings and while its highlighted go to, at the bottom, menu/ "set as default". now hit back, done and you should be done.

Your on T-Mobile and are receiving SMS's titled "129" that have some weird text in them?:
Congratulations! You have The Visual Voice Mail Service!
Install: Tmobile Visual VoiceMail 1_1_1_0_24_00.cab(soft reset after)
That should remove them when you get them or at the very least make them blank.

On Verizon and are receiving weird SMS's after a voicemail?
You might have the Visual Voicemail Service too!
Try this: pyrorob VZW_VisualVoiceMail_1_1_12_11.cab

About Energy Roms:
On Energy Roms there is no sms client installed besides the winmo stock one, so you just install the cab and thats it.

To adjust the outgoing message size?:
Go to your MMS server options and adjust the size to 1024. (settings/options/menu/mms server/(mms server name)/ "message size limit")

Contacts show as a number?:
it only happens when the contact has more than one number (example:cell and home) stored.

Wheres the bubbles from that picture i saw?:
yeah,no... that was a mistake by the guy who posted the article, if you looked at the pic it says in it "sense 2.1 messaging mod"

What about CDMA? Why doesnt MMS work on CDMA?:
Well, at the moment as its very tricky. Some people say they can get it working, but from what i have seen most cant.
There has been some success with verizon in post #636 and im working on sprint, but as for others.. it remains to be seen.

from angeldeath:
Adjust the number of messages shown at one time in reading pane (only works for traditional mode):

"HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\HTC\HTCMessaging\Harv ey"
"MaxMessagesForOnePage"=dword:500
setting at around 50 or 100 should give a quicker loading time.

EXT Packages (For cooks):
(post a request for a newer one and ill be more then happy to post it up)
Pyrorob_HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20193733_00_packag e.rar
Pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20181630_Package.rar
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20173127_package.rar
pyrorob HTC Messaging Color Function Icons_package.rar




Older Cabs:
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20192421_01.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20191825_00.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20183727_00.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20183325_00.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20182814_00.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20182222_00.cab
Pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20181630.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20173820_00.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20173127.cab
Pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20171628.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_5_20143625.cab
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_5_20142622.cab
French:
pyrorob HTCMessaging_Client_1_8_20173127_040C_FRENCH.cab
Attached Files
File Type: cab pyrorob Messaging Client ON.cab - [Click for QR Code] (1.1 KB, 777 views)
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to pyrorob For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
sterz85
Old
#2  
sterz85's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 424
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Troy, MI
I'm running your newest cab (3127) and I've noticed the notification icons (at the top bar that shows battery/signal) have changed. I now get the same icon (letter envelope) for SMS's and Emails
 
pyrorob
Old
#3  
pyrorob's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hudson, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
well, the htc messaging client uses the same notification icon for mms and sms, which kinda sucks, imo. but it doesn't touch the one for email.. it doesn't even have anything to do with email..
 
aaamador
Old
(Last edited by aaamador; 30th July 2010 at 03:26 AM.)
#4  
aaamador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2010
Ok, this time I'm sure I followed pyrorob instructions step by step. I checked the About in the Messaging Client says "Version 1.8 (Build 2017.3127)".

How can I check the right DLL is installed?

By the way, after installation of the new Messaging Client the SMS were not send, so I tried starting the Messaging Client service and the SMS were send.

Does this have to be done or it is an indication that something went wrong?

Another issue is that the SMS Sending Network shows "Ask me" and I can't change that option, so I have to select the Sending Network each time.

Thanks in advance, pyrorob, in case you can help me.
Current Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.6 BETA1 (F2FS) + PA Google Apps Mini Modular Package 2014-09-01 | KERNEL: UBER-N5-SM-4.9.2-Faux-09-12-2014 | RADIO: KTU84P | RECOVERY: TWRP 2.8.0.1 | BOOTLOADER: HHZ11n
 
orb3000
Old
#5  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 3,035
Posts: 22,282
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...

 
DONATE TO ME
Thanks for sharing!
orb


HTC Butterfly 2 - HTC One M8 - HTC Universal

XDA is about developing and is for developers. Any user that recognizes that will gain the most benefit from this site


 
This is and always will be a site for developers, pure and simple. Without them we are nothing, without them there would be no reason for XDA Developers to exist; we should never ever forget that. Without them this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.

Previous devices: HTC: Treo 650 - Excalibur - Diamond - Diamond 2 - Maple - HD2 - Rhodium - Desire Z - Desire HD - Vivid - Sensation - One V - One X - Titan II - One X+ - DNA - Butterfly
The Following User Says Thank You to orb3000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
pyrorob
Old
(Last edited by pyrorob; 30th July 2010 at 04:05 AM.)
#6  
pyrorob's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hudson, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaamador View Post
Ok, this time I'm sure I followed pyrorob instructions step by step. I checked the About in the Messaging Client says "Version 1.8 (Build 2017.3127)".

How can I check the right DLL is installed?

By the way, after installation of the new Messaging Client the SMS were not send, so I tried starting the Messaging Client service and the SMS were send.

Does this have to be done or it is an indication that something went wrong?

Another issue is that the SMS Sending Network shows "Ask me" and I can't change that option, so I have to select the Sending Network each time.

Thanks in advance, pyrorob, in case you can help me.
Ok, first, the about wont show you anything regarding the version of that service and even if you pulled the file out of windows and checked, theres no version number shown..

Second, it depends on if you had htc messenger pre-installed.. if it was, when you set the service to manual it doesnt load at startup so its not being used, so it will be able to be overwritten by the one in the cab.
now if its part of a htc messener client cab you installed previously, after you set it to manual, soft reset and uninstall the old one, if you go to services youll see thats its no longer there. so when you install the new one you can be absolutely sure its the newer dll (the only way it will still be there, is if it was cooked into the rom (pre-installed) in the first place)

Third, if after you install and you have the sms not sent issue its because, like you pointed out, the services is not running at startup automatically. go to services and touch and hold on messaging service and set to automatic, thats fixes that.

Fourth, ( i assume you mean mms) in htc messenger go to menu/settings/options/ then again at the bottom, menu/mms server, open up whatever mms server you have there to use, and two things, make sure the "Connect via" is set for your main data connection (the one that is used for you to access the internet) and press back, the mms settings name will be highlighted and while its highlighted go to, at the bottom, menu/ "set as default". now hit back, done and you should be done.
Now, if it still shows "ask me" ill need more information, such as what cell provider your using and what options it gives you under "ask me" also, you might want to check under start/settings/connections/"advanced network" and go to the sms service tab and see what its set for.

ugh, to be honest im not a big fan of typing long paragraphs...
but i hope this answers those questions.
 
aaamador
Old
(Last edited by aaamador; 30th July 2010 at 04:55 AM.)
#7  
aaamador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrorob View Post
Fourth, ( i assume you mean mms) in htc messenger go to menu/settings/options/ then again at the bottom, menu/mms server, open up whatever mms server you have there to use, and two things, make sure the "Connect via" is set for your main data connection (the one that is used for you to access the internet) and press back, the mms settings name will be highlighted and while its highlighted go to, at the bottom, menu/ "set as default". now hit back, done and you should be done.
Now, if it still shows "ask me" ill need more information, such as what cell provider your using and what options it gives you under "ask me" also, you might want to check under start/settings/connections/"advanced network" and go to the sms service tab and see what its set for.
Messaging Client version 1.8 Build 2016.xxx is pre-installed in the NhatHoa ROM I'm using, so it think the issue with the service in your new Messaging Client is completely solved.

The other issue is still there, because at the new Messaging Client Settings the "Sending Network" option is set to "Ask me" for SMS and MMS and this option is gray out so it can't be changed.

When I tried to send a SMS, the Messaging Client shows a window to select the "Sending Network" which shows three options: C - No operator, G - No operator, Cancel.

I've been selecting G - No operator and the SMS is send without problems.

By the way, my phone is connected through GSM to my cellular provider, called ICE.

What do you think pyrorob?
Current Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.6 BETA1 (F2FS) + PA Google Apps Mini Modular Package 2014-09-01 | KERNEL: UBER-N5-SM-4.9.2-Faux-09-12-2014 | RADIO: KTU84P | RECOVERY: TWRP 2.8.0.1 | BOOTLOADER: HHZ11n
 
pyrorob
Old
#8  
pyrorob's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 148
Posts: 1,038
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Hudson, NC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaamador View Post
Messaging Client version 1.8 Build 2016.xxx is pre-installed in the NhatHoa ROM I'm using, so it think the issue with the service in your new Messaging Client is completely solved.

The other issue is still there, because at the new Messaging Client Settings the "Sending Network" option is set to "Ask me" for SMS and MMS and this option is gray out so it can't be changed.

When I tried to send a SMS, the Messaging Client shows a window to select the "Sending Network" which shows three options: C - No operator, G - No operator, Cancel.

I've been selecting G - No operator and the SMS is send without problems.

By the way, my phone is connected through GSM to my cellular provider, called ICE.

What do you think pyrorob?
ok, i assume you have a world phone tp2? thats both cdma and gsm? cause thats what the c and the g are for..
now the only line in the reg that i could see that could relate to this issue is here: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Jataayu\Messaging\Netw ork]
"SMSPreferredNetwork"=dword:00000002
since theres no way for me to test the values and what effect they would have you might want to try changing it to 0 or 1 and seeing what the effects are.
 
aaamador
Old
#9  
aaamador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by pyrorob View Post
ok, i assume you have a world phone tp2? thats both cdma and gsm? cause thats what the c and the g are for..
now the only line in the reg that i could see that could relate to this issue is here: [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Jataayu\Messaging\Netw ork]
"SMSPreferredNetwork"=dword:00000002
since theres no way for me to test the values and what effect they would have you might want to try changing it to 0 or 1 and seeing what the effects are.
It worked! I found [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Jataayu\Messaging\Netw ork] "SMSPreferredNetwork" was set to 0 (dword:00000000), so I first changed to 1 and this set the "Sending Network" to CDMA at SMS Settings, so I changed to 2 and this set the "Sending Network" to GSM at SMS Settings.

I guess it will work the same on MMS, but this service is not available at my cellular provider for my phone, so there's not need to fix it.

Thanks pyrorob!
Current Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.6 BETA1 (F2FS) + PA Google Apps Mini Modular Package 2014-09-01 | KERNEL: UBER-N5-SM-4.9.2-Faux-09-12-2014 | RADIO: KTU84P | RECOVERY: TWRP 2.8.0.1 | BOOTLOADER: HHZ11n
 
aaamador
Old
#10  
aaamador's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 215
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2010
By the way. So far, on this new Messaging Client I haven't seen the weird behavior of previous builds, because its memory usage doesn't increase suddenly and for no particular reason and also its CPU usage doesn't increase suddenly and for no particular reason, too.

Actually, CPU usage seems to stay at zero when there's no messaging traffic.
Current Phone: Nexus 5
ROM: ParanoidAndroid 4.6 BETA1 (F2FS) + PA Google Apps Mini Modular Package 2014-09-01 | KERNEL: UBER-N5-SM-4.9.2-Faux-09-12-2014 | RADIO: KTU84P | RECOVERY: TWRP 2.8.0.1 | BOOTLOADER: HHZ11n

Tags
hd2 apps, htc messaging client, pyrorob, wvga apps
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes