Google Play Newsstand 3.3 Brings Material Design Makeover

In a clear break from the previous practice of delivering nearly weekly Google … more

App Review: Calculating Your Android Calculator Options

Sure, everyone has a default Calculator and its something that you dont think about … more

MultiROM Once Again Available for the Galaxy S4

Multiboot, or the ability to select betweenmultiple operating systems on a single device at … more

Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more
Post Reply

[32A - OLD RADIO] PSFreedom (v3 15/09/2010)

7th September 2010, 10:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Hello, since there seems to be some confusion I decided to start this thread for the 32A port.

The G1 / Magic 32B thread is here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=776922

Note that all the work on PSFreedom was done by KaKaRoTo, and he was helped by DrMon in the MSM72K port, i merely compiled their work and put it in a simple package for everyone to enjoy.

I created 2 packages, an enabler and a disabler, that you have to flash over your working CM 6.0 Final installation.
Flashing the enabler will install the modded kernel and PSFreedom module. You will lose usb functionality completely (no adb, no mass storage etc.) until you flash the disabler.
After flashing the enabler the module will always start upon boot, you have to enter no commands on the terminal emulator.

HOW TO:
Preliminary: Make sure you are on CyanogenMod 6.0 Final and everything is working correctly. It has been reported that it works also with older CM6 versions and CM5 too, you may try if it works and report it in this thread. If it's the first time, do a Nandroid backup before testing!

Now psfreedom should be loaded as a module, you will see no difference, except for the loss of normal usb functions.

To run the exploit:
Make sure you are on 3.41 (DO NOT UPDATE OVER THE NETWORK!)
  • Connect the phone to the PS3 using usb
  • Turn it off completely (unplug power cable or turn off back switch on Fat models)
  • Plug it back in (turn on back switch)
  • Turn it on and immediately press the eject button (you should hear 3 quick beeps)
  • Booting should take a bit longer (5-10 seconds)

If you see two new options under the games tab, the exploit worked. You can now unplug the phone. Mind that you will have to do this procedure every time you boot your PS3. Try using another USB cable if it doesn't work with a few tries.

To uninstall:
  • Boot back into recovery
  • Flash Disable_PSFreedom_G1.zip
  • Reboot
You should have usb functions back to normal.


Payloads:
This version of PSFreedom contains the new PSGroove 1.1 payload (peek & poke)and is enabled for backups, but backup manager talk should not be done on this thread, there are other boards for that.

If you want to try other payloads (F.I. the new AerialX's apploader), you just have to load it into /proc/psfreedom/payload . You can do it by typing:
Code:
cat payload > /proc/psfreedom/payload
The payload can be wherever you want and has to be in the classic binary format. (just remember to substitute "payload" with the correct path).
Even better, if you put the new payload in the /data/local directory, named "payload" (no quotes), it will be automatically loaded upon startup, thus becoming the default payload.

Mirrors:
Code:
Enabler: http://depositfiles.com/en/files/o1qpcbkeo
http://www.zshare.net/download/80630364707ab8fe/
http://rapidshare.com/files/420315547/Enable_PSFreedom_32A_v3.zip
Disabler: http://www.zshare.net/download/801637791c6185b2/
Versions:
Code:
v0: initial release
v1: +module loaded on startup
    +created disabler
v2: updated payload (peek & poke) 
v3: resolved bootloop bug, updated PSFreedom, dynamic payload loading.
Last edited by .kAroshi; 21st September 2010 at 10:37 AM. Reason: New version.
7th September 2010, 10:58 AM   |  #2  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
reserved (10 characters long)
7th September 2010, 11:19 AM   |  #3  
c0mrade2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Thanks for yours work!

What about an application to enable/disable psfreedom? Will it be possible in the future?
Last edited by c0mrade2; 7th September 2010 at 11:21 AM.
7th September 2010, 01:17 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag Under the rainbow
Thanks Meter: 1
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
My Magic (32A) does just reboot over and over after flashing the enabler.......also after flashing the disabler........so now restoring (i ALWAYS back-up befor flashing anything!)

But thanks for trying!
7th September 2010, 01:18 PM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
radio version for cm6
one question, CM6 can be for New Radio, or just Old radio?
7th September 2010, 01:42 PM   |  #6  
c0mrade2's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by H3llSp4wN

one question, CM6 can be for New Radio, or just Old radio?

there's a port also for new radio showthread.php?t=723520
But there are some issues (like broken camera)
7th September 2010, 02:06 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Old Radio, new radio requires a different kernel.

For the app, for now psfreedom requires a modded kernel, and it is not possible to switch them on the fly using an app. I know they're working on using a different driver, to avoid having to recompile the kernel. Still don't know if it can be done though.
Last edited by .kAroshi; 7th September 2010 at 02:17 PM.
7th September 2010, 04:10 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
Can anyone provide a mirror please?
7th September 2010, 05:35 PM   |  #9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
cm6
i'm just a bit confused about what cm6 rom should be better and should i use, because there are severeal releases (minimou, redux etc).

can u give me a tip about this?


best regards
7th September 2010, 06:35 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
66 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
I always use the vanilla one, straight from the cyanogenMod forums. I think it should work with any of those versions though. Just make sure you're on old radio and you make a nandroid backup before trying.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes