Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: Modify the Look of Your Volume Control – XDA TV

How many screenshots have you seen with a volume status bar in the … more

Prepare Your Nokia X2 for Battle with Nokia X2 Tools

Unveiled in June this year, the Nokia X2 is the Finnish companys second crack at an … more
Post Reply

Dual keyboard? Portrait/landscape switch???

14th September 2010, 12:19 PM   |  #31  
ErickPetru's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Taquaritinga, São Paulo
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by ne0fhyk

if anyone is up for it, let me know, and I will send you the code and instructions for setup.

Great! I'm up for it.

I have a Motorola Milestone and really want to help you. Thanks!
14th September 2010, 10:09 PM   |  #32  
Account currently disabled
Raleigh, NC
Thanks Meter: 5
 
315 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Ineed that I use themed ime mod for school on landscape and swype on portrait

Sent from my Nexus One using XDA App
15th September 2010, 01:31 AM   |  #33  
Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 88
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
The application is rather simple so far. It shows you lists of the input method you have on your device, and allows you to specify different ones for portrait or landscape orientation.

It will then launch a service that's triggered by orientation's change events, and reset the input method based on your preference.

To do so, the service must run as system. Just copy the application under /system/app/.

Restarting after installation is recommended.

This is a work in progress. Occasionally, the keyboard switching shows lag. I am working on improving the app, so any feedback is appreciated.
Attached Files
File Type: apk KeyboardManager.apk - [Click for QR Code] (16.6 KB, 701 views)
The Following User Says Thank You to ne0fhyk For This Useful Post: [ View ]
15th September 2010, 02:56 AM   |  #34  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Force closes right away on my nexus 1 running cyanogen 6.0
15th September 2010, 04:18 AM   |  #35  
Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 88
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
could you send me the dump file you get when that occurs.
To get it, go to phone and enter *#9900# .
Then choose copy dump to sdcard on the screen that appears.
15th September 2010, 04:44 AM   |  #36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by ne0fhyk

could you send me the dump file you get when that occurs.
To get it, go to phone and enter *#9900# .
Then choose copy dump to sdcard on the screen that appears.

Just removed it from /system/app/ and rebooted then re-downloaded and put it back into said directory after that it seams to be working now. this is great so far! let me know if i can give you any logs or info to help you out i think many people would use this app
15th September 2010, 12:38 PM   |  #37  
Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 88
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Great! Could you still send me the logs file you got when it 'force close'.

thx!
15th September 2010, 02:26 PM   |  #38  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
this is working great for me on CM6 6.0.2 on an htc incredible
15th September 2010, 03:25 PM   |  #39  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
225 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
I'm not sure if I did this right or not because I'm fairly new to playing with my system files but I put KeyboardManager.apk on my sdcard and I mounted the system and sdcard from ClockworkMod, went into cmd, into shell and typed:

mv /sdcard/KeyboardManager.apk /system/app/

unmounted both and rebooted system.

It shows installed in my apps, opens up when I choose it , changes settings but once finished, I go into ChompSMS and it doesn't work.

Did I do this right?

EDIT: by the way, I have a HTC DINC, with SR3.1 using Launcher Pro Plus


EDIT#2: I moved it back to my sdcard and installed using Astro. rebooted. Opened program got a FC. Tried to get the log but *#9900# does nothing. Is there something else I should be doing after I put that in my dialer?

EDIT#3: Replaced .apk that was installed with a new one via adb shell and it didn't FC, but it also didn't work. So now I'm back to square 1.
Last edited by REYES702; 15th September 2010 at 03:43 PM.
15th September 2010, 05:21 PM   |  #40  
Member
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 88
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
there should be a dialog telling how to get the log file once it 'force close'.
On my device, it's *#9900#, but it might be different based on the device.

Also, when you move the app to /system/app, change the owner and read/write access property to reflect the other apps in that folder.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes