The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROOT] Easy Root, works with any Stock ROM (Including 2.31.651.7!)

OP tehdarkknight

10th October 2010, 04:38 AM   |  #1  
tehdarkknight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 43
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Disclaimer: This is not one-click. However, it IS relatively short and straightforward, and does not require you to downgrade.
Credits: The 743C exploit, and ChainsDD for Superuser.

You need:
  • Android SDK installed and working.
  • The zip attached to this post.
  • If you're still on Cupcake (Android 1.5) you'll need su and Superuser from http://bit.ly/su2361cd

So, let's get down to business.
  1. Unzip the attached file into your /android-sdk/tools/ directory, it'll make your life (and ours) easier.
  2. Open up your command line, change to the SDK tools directory, and enter these commands:
    Code:
    adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp
    adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
  3. Now execute the exploit:
    Code:
    adb shell
    /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
  4. Wait for the exploit to finish.
    Code:
    exit
  5. If it doesn't exit cleanly, chances are it worked, just close your terminal or command prompt and open a new one.
  6. Test that it worked:
    Code:
    adb kill-server
    adb start-server
    adb shell
  7. If you see a $, it DID NOT work, execute the exploit again. (Step 3)
  8. If you see a #, it WORKED, continue:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    exit
    adb push su /system/xbin
    adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
    adb install Superuser.apk
  9. You may need to ctrl-c once it says Success!
  10. Next time you 'su' in adb shell, make sure to click Allow in Superuser!
  11. You may instead install Superuser from the Market if you wish.
  12. Clean up the exploit:
    Code:
    adb shell rm /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin

If you ever do a "Factory Reset", Superuser will go away, but you DO NOT lose root. Just reinstall Superuser.

What next? The choice is yours! Remove stock apps, get some good 'ol WiFi tethering, or flash something different!

*NOTE*
The above steps DO NOT put a recovery on your phone, though it is VERY EASY.
Once you're rooted, install ROM Manager by Koushik Dutta from the Market. Open it up, click "Flash ClockworkMod Recovery".
Select your model (Hero CDMA), and hit Allow when the Superuser Prompt shows up.

*NOTE*
The above steps DO NOT install Busybox on your phone.
Simply install Busybox from Stephen (Stericson), available on the market.
Start the app and click Allow when prompted by Superuser.

How To Uninstall
Code:
adb shell
su
mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
rm /system/xbin/su
rm /etc/passwd
rm /etc/group
Uninstall Superuser.apk then reboot, and you're set!
Attached Files
File Type: zip rootme.zip - [Click for QR Code] (136.4 KB, 7404 views)
Last edited by tehdarkknight; 17th October 2010 at 02:08 AM. Reason: Added uninstall method.
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to tehdarkknight For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th October 2010, 05:11 AM   |  #2  
ahager88's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cape Girardeau
Thanks Meter: 75
 
1,274 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehdarkknight

Disclaimer: This is not one-click. However, it IS relatively short and straightforward.
Credits: The 743C exploit, and ChainsDD for Superuser.

You need:

  • Android SDK installed and working.
  • The zip attached to this post.

So, let's get down to business.
  1. Unzip the attached file into your /android-sdk/tools/ directory, it'll make your life (and ours) easier.
  2. Open up your command line, change to the SDK tools directory, and enter these commands:
    Code:
    adb push rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin /data/local/tmp
    adb shell chmod 755 /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
  3. Now execute the exploit:
    Code:
    adb shell
    /data/local/tmp/rageagainstthecage-arm5.bin
  4. Wait for the exploit to finish.
    Code:
    exit
  5. If it doesn't exit cleanly, chances are it worked, just close your terminal or command prompt and open a new one.
  6. Test that it worked:
    Code:
    adb kill-server
    adb start-server
    adb shell
  7. If you see a $, it DID NOT work, execute the exploit again. (Step 3)
  8. If you see a #, it WORKED, continue:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
    exit
    adb push su /system/xbin
    adb shell chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
    adb install Superuser.apk
  9. You may need to ctrl-c once it says Success!
  10. Next time you 'su' in adb shell, make sure to click Allow in Superuser!

That's it!
I won't give directions on installing a recovery or flashing another rom, there are plenty of threads detailing how to do so.

Pretty straightforward. This will probably help a lot of newer hero owners, because amazingly, people are still buying them every day!

If I get a chance to test it out, I will.
10th October 2010, 05:13 AM   |  #3  
Decad3nce's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 2,772
 
2,083 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
Nice job. Should be stickied so people don't run around searching through all the old rooting threads which aren't as compatible with the newer RUU versions.
10th October 2010, 07:12 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Worked nicely on a refurb Hero that Sprint sent due to the dust problem.

Thanks!
10th October 2010, 08:32 AM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Thumbs up
Works great for me
10th October 2010, 09:43 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Why am I having trouble doing this? I was able to do it on one Hero though not after many retries, but not on another.
10th October 2010, 02:18 PM   |  #7  
DaWeav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehdarkknight

Disclaimer: This is not one-click. However, it IS relatively short and straightforward, and does not require you to downgrade.
Credits: The 743C exploit, and ChainsDD for Superuser.

Great! I can't live without WiFi tethering my iPad which is why I haven't done the 2.31.651.7 HTC OTA update at all.

So, I take it that this exploit will root the Official RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_2.31.651.7_signed_release.exe file then too? I ask because I really don't like to do 'update patches'. I prefer to flash and start fresh so I'm planning on flashing the RUU and then doing this root exploit. Yes, No???
Last edited by DaWeav; 10th October 2010 at 04:05 PM.
10th October 2010, 05:14 PM   |  #8  
tehdarkknight's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Tennessee
Thanks Meter: 43
 
79 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaWeav

Great! I can't live without WiFi tethering my iPad which is why I haven't done the 2.31.651.7 HTC OTA update at all.

So, I take it that this exploit will root the Official RUU_Hero_C_Sprint_2.31.651.7_signed_release.exe file then too? I ask because I really don't like to do 'update patches'. I prefer to flash and start fresh so I'm planning on flashing the RUU and then doing this root exploit. Yes, No???

I tested it with the very same RUU, it works.
10th October 2010, 05:34 PM   |  #9  
DaWeav's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
More
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by tehdarkknight

I tested it with the very same RUU, it works.

SUPER!

Because when I saw this post, I tried to download the latest OTA patch, but my phone just responds 'Your phone is up to date. There are no updates available for your phone'. Strange, because I'm on 2.27.651.6 and the OTAcerts.ZIP is in tact.

Oh well, FEAR NOT, because after I get back from the store this morning, then get the TV tuned to the split screen with football on one and the baseball playoffs on the other, and get Leo Laporte's TechGuy radio show screaming...it'll be the perfect time to flash my phone to factory fresh.

Thanks.
10th October 2010, 05:36 PM   |  #10  
erik.crouch's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Works perfectly on latest and "greatest" stock ROM... excellent

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes