5,601,062 Members 47,059 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[FINAL]SPB Mobile Shell 3.55 for Non-Touch Screen Devices / Release 16-04-2011

Tip us?
 
kazablanka
Old
(Last edited by kazablanka; 16th April 2011 at 12:27 AM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default [FINAL]SPB Mobile Shell 3.55 for Non-Touch Screen Devices / Release 16-04-2011

SPB Mobile Shell 3.55 for Non-Touch Screen Devices

SPB Mobile Shell is not free. So if you like it, please buy it.


Quote:
Known Supported Devices:
1) List of devices
Quote:
Notes:
1) SPB_MS3_excalibur_1.00
2) SPB_MS3_excalibur_1.01
  • Added some new widgets from BomByX v3.5 (DClocks, Batteries, Notifications, Alarm)
  • Facebook & Twitter widgets reported not working

3) SPB_MS3_excalibur_1.02
  • SPB MS 3.55 used
  • Clock & Alarm starts from the Clock Widget
  • Sliding between panels using shortcut-arrows located at the top edges of the screen
  • Black background added
  • Switching backgrounds works
  • Removed widgets from BomByX v3.5 (DClocks, Batteries, Notifications, Alarm)
  • Positioning of miscellaneous panels improved



Installation:
(Please check on previous list of devices before you perform this step)

1) Install 96dpi.cab if you already haven't - If you already got your phone on 96dpi, just skip this step
2) Soft reset
3) Install SPB_MS3_excalibur_1.02.cab
4) end
Quote:
Development:

- Moving the widgets:
1) My Mobiler & Fake mouse (Visually - Easier way)
2) Through the registry (if anyone's interested)

- Shutting down SPB Mobile Shell

- Placing the Contacts or any other shortcut on the screen:
1) Contacts, ActiveSync, Programs, etc...

- Tips & Tricks:
Important
: Backup following files before do anything:
\program files\spb mobile shell\qa_layouts.dat
\program files\spb mobile shell\ql_bkg_now.dat
\program files\spb mobile shell\qp_bkg_now.dat
Quote:
Screenshots:
v1.00
v1.01

v1.02
Quote:
Predefined Screens:
<<Reserved for later>>
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kazablanka For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Thekn
Old
(Last edited by Thekn; 12th November 2010 at 11:51 AM.)
#2  
Thekn's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 640
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default Feedback

Working Devices:

Code:
Device Name			Win. Version (ROM)		Res.		96dpi	WORKS
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

* HTC s620 (Excalibur/Dash)	6.1				320x240		Yes	Yes
* HTC S620 (Excalibur/Dash)	6.5 3VO 3.50			320x240 	No	Yes
* Samsung GT-C6625		6.1 				320x240		Yes	Yes
* Samsung GT-C6625		6.5.X				320x240 	Yes	Yes
* Samsung Omnia Pro B7320	6.5				320x240 	Yes	Yes
* Moto Q8 GSM			6.5				320x240 	Yes	Yes
The Following User Says Thank You to Thekn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Thekn
Old
(Last edited by Thekn; 12th November 2010 at 11:56 AM.)
#3  
Thekn's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 640
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How to move the Widgets:

To move the Widgets:
Quote:
My Mobiler:
  • Connect your Device through Active Sync
  • Auto Connect: When Activesync is connected, MyMobiler try to connect your Device automatically.
  • Control your Mobile by using Desktop Keyboard and Mouse.


OR
Quote:
Fake Cursor:
  • "Control + F" to search for: "Cursor"
  • Download the Fake Cursor
  • Copy the FakeCursor.exe to your Device
  • Click on the .exe file
  • Click on Install
  • You can Change the Movement Speed (necessary to speed the movement up)
  • Click on the .exe file again (you'll see the mouse)
  • Go to Start Menu and open SPB (you can use the Softkeys when using the Mouse)
  • Add Widgets
  • Place the Mouse on a Widget
  • Hold the Middle D-Pad and the left/right/up/down D-pad at the same time to move it around! (Press and hold them as quick as possible)
The Following User Says Thank You to Thekn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
zenlord77
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Singaraja
i'll try it on my Q..
 
Thekn
Old
#5  
Thekn's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 640
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenlord77 View Post
i'll try it on my Q..
Great, we will wait for your Feedback!
The Following User Says Thank You to Thekn For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
bgtvfr
Old
#6  
bgtvfr's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 202
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Santa Fe NM
whats the reason to use 96dpi.cab works great wit out it
T-Mobile Samsung Vibrant
TEAMPASSION
ROM: CM11

------------------------
 
Thekn
Old
#7  
Thekn's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 75
Posts: 640
Join Date: Apr 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgtvfr View Post
whats the reason to use 96dpi.cab works great wit out it
You mean you can use it without the 96dpi .cab? Be more specific please!(A)

Which Device do you have, and which ROM, and your screen resolution?

Thanks in advance!
 
zenlord77
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 51
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Singaraja
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thekn View Post
Great, we will wait for your Feedback!
It was nice..everything work fine.

The only thing i don't understand, why i cannot change the background? And also how to re-arrange the widget position on homescreen?

For example i want to put the weather widget on today screen..but it always appear above the other widgets and i cannot move it..is there any suggestion?

Thanks in advance
 
kazablanka
Old
(Last edited by kazablanka; 11th November 2010 at 02:09 PM.)
#9  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Moving the widgets (REGISTRY)

1) Right soft key \ Add new widget


2) Start Registry Editor and pont to HKLM\Software\SPB Mobile Shell\Widgets


3) Determine the name of the current panel (in my case Weather Panel). Choose folder based on these rules:
Lifestyle Panel - HomeScreen
Application Panel - HomeScreen2
Music Panel - HomeScreen3
Weather Panel - HomeScreen4
Internet Panel - HomeScreen5

So my choice is Homescreen4.

4) Choose the folder with the maximum integer value, since tha newly added widget should be the last one.
(in my case 35)

5) So now in the Name field I got Analog Clock - so that's my widget.


6) Edit the _tl_320_240 field - that's the position field.


7) Value inside is HEX value (make sure you check the HEX check box) in the following format:
yyyxxx - where yyy are y values and xxx are x values
Bare in mind that 10 in HEX is 16 in decimal, so you don't get all confused.
 
kazablanka
Old
#10  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 40
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by zenlord77 View Post
It was nice..everything work fine.

The only thing i don't understand, why i cannot change the background? And also how to re-arrange the widget position on homescreen?

For example i want to put the weather widget on today screen..but it always appear above the other widgets and i cannot move it..is there any suggestion?

Thanks in advance
you can't change the background 'cause the option's not working right now. i hope that someone will make it work and share. that was original point of this thread. positioning and rearanging is described and illustrated in the first post, you should read that, or try with the fake cursor. you can't do it easier 'cause you don't have touch screen:), but changing the registry keys is not as hard as it seems, trust me... btw which device and rom do you use?

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes