Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,757 Members 36,625 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE] Galaxy Tab Network Unlock

Tip us?
 
smithdc
Old
(Last edited by smithdc; 27th November 2010 at 10:10 AM.)
#1  
smithdc's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne
Default [GUIDE] Galaxy Tab Network Unlock

**UPDATE**
This method causes your serial number to change to 00000000 (which isn't a problem as such as this isn't currently used for anything) but there is a new method which involves directly hex editing the nv_data.bin file, which may be faster and does not change your serial number. You can find the details here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=843323.
**UPDATE**

First up I'll say that I'm not incredibly familiar with Galaxy S firmware changes/modding, and this mostly builds on work done in these areas, so not all these steps may be necessary but they worked for me. If someone can suggest a faster way to do this/unnecessary steps then please go ahead and reply with them!

This unlocked my Network Locked Australian Galaxy Tab and so I assume should work for others.

You should back up your /efs/ folder before you proceed as you may need this to undo if something goes wrong.

*I take no responsibility if something goes wrong!*

Requirements:
(If you have US firmware with no Phone software, you may need to flash European firmware as described here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=838250 ).

Firstly, on your phone dial *#7465625# and check if the Network Lock is set to [ON], if so then your phone is locked (duh), so continue.

1. Use Superoneclick (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=812367) to root your phone (the other z4root method may work as well, but this isn't what I used).

2. Either use ADB or some other method to rename or delete (backup first):

/efs/nv_data.bin.md5
/efs/.nv_data.bak
/efs/.nv_data.bak.md5

(I just used Root Explorer to rename them to something else).

3. Restart your phone and then go into the /efs/ directory and see if the 'nv_data.bin.md5' file has been re-created by your phone, as long as it has been created then you can proceed.

4. Go to http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9&postcount=94 and download the repair_nv_data.zip file (the credit for all of this mostly goes to that thread and helroz).

5. Install 'busybox' from the Market. Once you install it, you actually have to run it and properly install it (the Market app is basically an installer) - the files in the above zip have a dependency on this.

6. Extract the above zip to your PC, plug in your Tab in USB debugging mode. Run the Step 2.bat from the extracted file. You may need to allow the script super user access several times. This should copy the /efs/ and a bunch of files into a directory with a french name.

7. Run the Reparation_nv_data.jar file. (You will need Java for this step.) It will prompt you to enter two numbers, which are your pseudo-unlock codes. I entered '11111111' and '11111111' (eight 1's) both times. This rewrites the nv_data.bin file to be simunlocked with these details.

8. Run the Step 4.bat. Your superuser app (the one installed when you rooted using SuperOneClick) will need you to allow each command to have root access so keep an eye on your Tab. You may need to press y/n a few times if you encounter errors. This is uploading the edited nv_data.bin onto your Tab.

This batch file will stop several times and need you to hit a key when it pauses. My Tab rebooted halfway through this batch file - when it did this I waited for it to fully reboot back to the lock screen before pressing a key to make the script continued while the Tab was actually able to respond to its commands.

9. Towards the end of its execution it rebooted a second time. It paused during loading up and had some yellow writing on the screen saying it was updating media (I assume it was rebuilding the nv_data.bin). Leave it for a minute and it will prompt you to reboot/some other options. Just press whatever it wants (home I think) to reboot the phone - you don't want any of the other recovery options.

10. Go into your dialer and put in *#7465625# again and (hopefully) voila! Your phone should no longer be network locked. Try a SIM from a different provider to make sure.

Enjoy!

Edit: I had to go out and actually buy a prepaid SIM to confirm that all was working with a different provider. Attached are screen caps of my Tab on two different networks, as well as the network status screen, making/receiving calls etc. all works on both.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20101113-104655.jpg
Views:	1657
Size:	25.7 KB
ID:	440238   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20101113-212648.jpg
Views:	2067
Size:	12.3 KB
ID:	440239   Click image for larger version

Name:	SC20101113-212729.jpg
Views:	1350
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	440240  
 
Croak
Old
#2  
Croak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 1,556
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Msida, Malta
Awesome man, thanks.

This is much better than the 2 month wait we had for Galaxy S unlocking.
 
mbp17p
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Hello, I'm french and i use your post to unlock my Galaxy TAB SFR ''réunion island'' and she is unlock thanks for your AMAZING post for unlock TAB

Ps: For unlock my TAB by SFR REUNION, he tell me 150 Euros.... Vive smithdc & helroz
 
tacoda
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Works well! I had little trouble running java on windows7. But changing compatibility mode to windowsxp sp3 and check run this program as an administrator solved the problem.

Thanks for easy guide!
 
smithdc
Old
#5  
smithdc's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne
tacoda, you mean for running the .jar file? or for installing Java itself? (I assume the former).
 
jay_jay_n
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 227
Join Date: Mar 2006
Sweeet thx , curious if unlocking the AT&T version has hardware only set to AT&Ts 3G frequencies, so 3g wont work on tmobile or is it capable of running 3g on tmobile with a unlocked AT&T tab?
 
tacoda
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 19
Join Date: Aug 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by smithdc View Post
tacoda, you mean for running the .jar file? or for installing Java itself? (I assume the former).
Running the jar file. I didnt know how to run it.

Sent from my SGH-T959 using XDA App
 
Zeron.Wong
Old
#8  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 33
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Shanghai
Does the sim card and/or sd card should or should not be plugged in during the unlocking progress?
 
smithdc
Old
#9  
smithdc's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 16
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Melbourne
It shouldn't make a difference Zeron.Wong.
 
Croak
Old
#10  
Croak's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 229
Posts: 1,556
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Msida, Malta
Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_jay_n View Post
Sweeet thx , curious if unlocking the AT&T version has hardware only set to AT&Ts 3G frequencies, so 3g wont work on tmobile or is it capable of running 3g on tmobile with a unlocked AT&T tab?
Traditionally, AT&T and T-Mobile hardware used different radios, it was more than just firmware. That's also true on the little brother Galaxy S series, the Vibrant has a different radio than the Captivate (though the Vibrant radio DOES have 1900 band in the hardware, for some reason).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes