DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Mozilla Ditches Google, Makes Yahoo Default Search Engine

Mozilla and Google have had a long-standing relationship of about 10 years. Google … more

Learn More About Linux with Linux Man Pages

Linux is quite a powerful and very configurable operating system. Thanks to some user-friendly … more

Detect, Avoid IMSI-Catcher Attacks with Android IMSI-Catcher Detector

Privacy is always an important topic, as well as a delicate one to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Wireless Tether

OP wheelerr

24th November 2010, 03:04 PM   |  #11  
iamsavedme30's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbus
Thanks Meter: 34
 
1,262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Hey there need help. I have a friend that just rooted his phone and is using wireless tether, but His computer won't recognise the phone as WiFi. What should he check for or fix?

Sent from my PC36100 using XDA App
25th November 2010, 12:17 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmracing

I have searched these forums and the net but can not find an easy solution to get the adhoc wifi of the Droid 1 to be seen by the Gtablet. In my searching I found where file wpa_supplicant.conf was to be edited and it fixed the problem (it was very involved).

I have tried everything I have read, and I still can not get my G Tablet to see my Droid 1. I have tried both Barnacle WiFi Tether and Wireless Tether. Both my G Tablet and my Droid 1 are rooted. My iPod Touch works with my Droid 1, so I don't think the Droid is the problem.
25th November 2010, 01:38 AM   |  #13  
mmracing's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DoDa
Thanks Meter: 3
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tnt2gamer

I have tried everything I have read, and I still can not get my G Tablet to see my Droid 1. I have tried both Barnacle WiFi Tether and Wireless Tether. Both my G Tablet and my Droid 1 are rooted. My iPod Touch works with my Droid 1, so I don't think the Droid is the problem.

There has to be a way to do it. I thought I read somewhere how to do it but I just can't find it. I have had my Gtablet from the day they went on sale at Sears and have looked at 1000's of post then I decided it was time to root both devices to use the wifi... only to find out the adhoc from the Droid 1 wouldn't work. BAH!
25th November 2010, 02:38 AM   |  #14  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmracing

There has to be a way to do it. I thought I read somewhere how to do it but I just can't find it. I have had my Gtablet from the day they went on sale at Sears and have looked at 1000's of post then I decided it was time to root both devices to use the wifi... only to find out the adhoc from the Droid 1 wouldn't work. BAH!

It does work, but not sure it does on all flavors of firmware as I had it set up just not sure which firmware I was testing on at the time... I did have problems with Original TNT stock firmware... same files I was trying worked on not sure whether early CM or Ztab... but on original TNT it looked like a wpa_supplicant bug as was definitiely seeing the conf file but wouldn't find anything with the scan... so came back with error like the original tablet I had to return did for any Infrastructure scan... I'm bouncing between both my Gtabs running diff firmware on each so easy to get confused at times... What version are you running and I'll try to give it a go tomorrow...
25th November 2010, 03:06 AM   |  #15  
tcrews's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 177
 
729 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Stock GTab, rooted with market....

Flashed with clockworkmod from one of the threads here a file called wpa_adhoc-signed.zip and it worked.
Tethered to my Droid 1 to test...

I see my infrastructure AP and my adhoc "AP" but with a (*) in front of the name.


added the file I used..

Sent from my UPC300-2.2 using Tapatalk
Attached Files
File Type: zip wpa_adhoc-signed.zip - [Click for QR Code] (131.0 KB, 810 views)
Last edited by tcrews; 25th November 2010 at 03:34 PM. Reason: added file
The Following User Says Thank You to tcrews For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th November 2010, 04:46 AM   |  #16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jtbnet

What version are you running and I'll try to give it a go tomorrow...

I am also running the original G Tablet firmware, with the TNT 2967 update that was pushed to it on 22-Nov-2010.

UPDATE: I realized last night that my files were not being overwritten with the modified ones, even though I was telling Root Explorer to replace the existing ones. I will delete the old wpa_supplicant.conf file before copying the modified version next time, to see if it makes a difference. Right now I am restoring everything that I had on the GTab little by little after frying my wifi settings last night. I couldn't get it working, so I did a factory reset and lost everything.

ANOTHER UPDATE: Yep. That was my problem. My modified wpa_supplicant.conf file was not replacing the original one. Once I deleted the old one manually, and copied the modified one in its place, it worked. I can now tether to my original Motorola Droid. I am using a program called AdhocAble to switch easily between two different wpa_supplicant.conf files (one for adhoc, and another for infrastructure).

MORE INFO: The problem I am having now is that my wireless quits working after each reboot. I have to change the file permissions on wpa_supplicant.conf to allow read-write for Other. Once I do this, the wireless starts working again. I even tried changing onwership of the wpa_supplicant.conf file to system.wifi, but that stopped AdhocAble from being able to change between adhoc and normal modes. I will probably try that patched supplicant binary soon.

FINAL UPDATE: Wow. wpa_adhoc-signed.zip worked for me, too. My Droid 1 is showing up with an asterisk beside it in my wifi list. This is the best fix yet. Yahoo! Thanks tcrews for posting this one.
Last edited by tnt2gamer; 28th November 2010 at 07:39 AM. Reason: Successfully tested wpa_adhoc-signed.zip
25th November 2010, 05:54 AM   |  #17  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrews

Stock GTab, rooted with market....

Flashed with clockworkmod from one of the threads here a file called wpa_adhoc-signed.zip and it worked.
Tethered to my Droid 1 to test...

I see my infrastructure AP and my adhoc "AP" but with a (*) in front of the name.

Sent from my UPC300-2.2 using Tapatalk

THANX... I'll give this a try as after having gone through this on multiple tablets multiple times this smelled of a wpa_supplicant bug on TNT!
25th November 2010, 05:59 AM   |  #18  
mmracing's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag DoDa
Thanks Meter: 3
 
135 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Rooted stock Gtablet firmware, with the TNT 2967 update that was pushed to it on 22-Nov-2010.

I have not tried any different ROMs.
25th November 2010, 06:15 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 58
 
562 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmracing

Rooted stock Gtablet firmware, with the TNT 2967 update that was pushed to it on 22-Nov-2010.

I have not tried any different ROMs.

Well basic TNT is what I originally had problems with... I'll try the supplicant patch hopefully tomorrow...
26th November 2010, 06:05 AM   |  #20  
rodzero's Avatar
Member
Flag South Louisiana
Thanks Meter: 58
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tcrews

Stock GTab, rooted with market....

Flashed with clockworkmod from one of the threads here a file called wpa_adhoc-signed.zip and it worked.
Tethered to my Droid 1 to test...

I see my infrastructure AP and my adhoc "AP" but with a (*) in front of the name.


added the file I used..

Sent from my UPC300-2.2 using Tapatalk

+1 for this post. major thanks to the poster. i was having problems with my gtab seeing my droid1 when running wireless tether, and this did the trick. for reference, currently using tnt 2.0.2 (supplemental applied to tnt 2.0.0). now ill be able to take this thing with me on the road this weekend and enjoy it. thanks again!

ps, the file flashed will not show in this quote, so scroll up to that post and grab it if you are in the same boat i was in.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes