FORUMS

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more

[FTF] Sony Xperia Z Lollipop Release

Sony rolled out a Lollipop update for Xperia Z just yesterday. If you still haven’t gotten … more

Original Moto G Receives Lollipop, OTA Captured

The original Moto G was released almost two years ago. Motorola still continues to … more

Device Review: No.1 X1 Rugged Smartphone

We are almost at the end of Q2 for 2015, and we have seen most of the flagship phones for the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Possible soluition to fix 60mA: Enable GPS and wait for full sync

2nd December 2010, 09:25 AM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Hi friends.
I found the following coincedence.
When I install new build aparently CurrentWindget shows 60mA in stand by and no way to fix it to 5-7mA as it should be.
The solution which helps me to fix it is the following:
- enable GPS module in settings
- open Maps and wait for it to find where you are located
- go back to homescreen and put phone to stand by
It should be fixed now to 5-7mA current.

Hope it will help everyone.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to hlvl For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
2nd December 2010, 09:29 AM |#2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I can even leave GPS module on all the time after that - standby current stays at 5-7mA level.
2nd December 2010, 09:48 AM |#3  
motoman234's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thanks Meter: 566
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hlvl

I can even leave GPS module on all the time after that - standby current stays at 5-7mA level.

Very strange, but very cool if it works for you! I will give it a shot next time I see high battery drain. Thanks for sharing, it will help at least one other person if it helps you.
2nd December 2010, 11:43 AM |#4  
FerretAD's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lincolnshire
Thanks Meter: 58
 
More
I've also found that switching Bluetooth off, then back on again, fixes this 60mA drain !
2nd December 2010, 11:52 AM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Common misconception: leaving GPS enabled in settings doesn't leave the GPS chip on the whole time. It just means that an app can enable it when it needs to (e.g. when you open Maps). As long as there's no GPS icon in your status bar, it doesn't drain *any* battery.

OT: that trick would be way faster than rebooting! Gonna try if it works for me too.
2nd December 2010, 11:53 AM |#6  
kirchevsky's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Odessa
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Donate to Me
More
Really strange solution for this issue. I have the same problem but for this moment have drain about 5mA after quick boot with dualbootloader (wait time 3sec for Android load). For this moment 5mA in standby mode - with any enabled comm modules (WiFi,Bluetooth,GPS).
2nd December 2010, 12:09 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
My experince of fixing the problem(temporary) is not using taskkiller too often, but it not always works
2nd December 2010, 02:15 PM |#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 59
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Curarpikt

My experince of fixing the problem(temporary) is not using taskkiller too often, but it not always works

Don't ever use your task killer again, it only causes problems.
2nd December 2010, 02:42 PM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
More
Tried the above however no sucess..........please check out my post and tell me what you think

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...t=battery+wifi

I'm getting better battery life with wifi on
2nd December 2010, 02:42 PM |#10  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by StephanV

Don't ever use your task killer again, it only causes problems.

Why? I use it a lot...
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes