Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

not signed with a trusted certificate error - sense fails to load

OP hgalanos

8th July 2010, 03:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 1
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Hey guys,

I have a HD2 with the following stats:
WM: 6.5
Manilla: 2.5.19211619.0
ROM: 1.66.405.2
Radio: 2.06.51.07

My phone works perfectly. Out of nowhere, without having installed any new apps, without a soft reset, nothing at all.

When I click on any quicklink, or any app under the start menu, I get the following error:

"The file ?????? cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of it's components cannot be found. If the problem persists try reinstalling or restorig the file"

??????? = the app or program I am trying to run.

This stops sense from loading. Only WM6.5 will run - without HTC sense.

I get this error for no reason. I have not installed any new software, I have not done a soft reset, nothing. Was using the phone all day and it was perfect. Then bang, I got this.

It has happened before and a hardware reset fixed it.

Does anyone know what on earth is causing it? I have SKcert and Cert2015 installed as I am using some custom icons. Do you think this might be causing it?

I do not want to have to do a hard reset every could of weeks.

This is a joke. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
8th July 2010, 04:17 PM   |  #2  
conantroutman's Avatar
Moderator Committee / XDA Portal Team - Title Under Construction. Please Pardon Our Dust
Thanks Meter: 7,232
 
14,148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgalanos

Hey guys,

I have a HD2 with the following stats:
WM: 6.5
Manilla: 2.5.19211619.0
ROM: 1.66.405.2
Radio: 2.06.51.07

My phone works perfectly. Out of nowhere, without having installed any new apps, without a soft reset, nothing at all.

When I click on any quicklink, or any app under the start menu, I get the following error:

"The file ?????? cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of it's components cannot be found. If the problem persists try reinstalling or restorig the file"

??????? = the app or program I am trying to run.

This stops sense from loading. Only WM6.5 will run - without HTC sense.

I get this error for no reason. I have not installed any new software, I have not done a soft reset, nothing. Was using the phone all day and it was perfect. Then bang, I got this.

It has happened before and a hardware reset fixed it.

Does anyone know what on earth is causing it? I have SKcert and Cert2015 installed as I am using some custom icons. Do you think this might be causing it?

I do not want to have to do a hard reset every could of weeks.

This is a joke. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Could be something to do with your SD card....
Have you got a link to something installed on your internal memory you can test...

I had somekind of sense failure once when I took the sd card while the phone was on and no matter what I tried I couldnt get it running....

I might be way off but Its all I can think of Im afraid.....
5th October 2010, 11:48 PM   |  #3  
acerulzall's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag New Delhi
Thanks Meter: 0
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
More
Re-install framework 3.5...
Had the same issue. first on a kaiser, and recently on my hd2....... what i did was reinstall the .net framework, ie first un install, then re install, and soft reset..... workd perfect.



i see this is an old post, but might come in handy any way.
2nd December 2010, 05:38 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by acerulzall

Had the same issue. first on a kaiser, and recently on my hd2....... what i did was reinstall the .net framework, ie first un install, then re install, and soft reset..... workd perfect.



i see this is an old post, but might come in handy any way.

I have the same problem. can not reinstall anything - "not signed" any other solutions??

Regarding sdcard - it do the same with non stock programs, which are running on internal storage, when there is no SD card inside.

It happened after unsuccessful run of android from SD card

any solutions??
2nd December 2010, 09:35 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77

I have the same problem. can not reinstall anything - "not signed" any other solutions??

Regarding sdcard - it do the same with non stock programs, which are running on internal storage, when there is no SD card inside.

It happened after unsuccessful run of android from SD card

any solutions??

I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

1) Download following file: http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip

From archive we need only SDA_ApplicationUnlock.exe

It allows Registry to be edited from PC.

Run it with working Activesync connection

2) Download Mobile Registry Editor: http://www.zipsoft.ru/catalog/mobile...tor-v1_11.html

Also run with working Activesync connection

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

FYI, here are some other useful software packages that relax the security.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=285344
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...tegory/mobile/
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip
http://sedacka.saman-cz.com/ppc/inde...unlocking.html
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=338433 --- the first file in this article.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort
The Following User Says Thank You to uta77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd December 2010, 10:25 PM   |  #6  
huggs's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag the internet
Thanks Meter: 211
 
1,520 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77

I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort


Could you please explain to me what each of these policies values do, or maybe point me to the thread where I could find out?
I am able to install apps ok, but every time I install a cab, it gives me the
"This application is not from a certified/trusted source, yada yada yada"
message, and I have to choose 'yes' to confirm it and go ahead with the install, not a huge deal but it'd be nice to get around it if some of these will do it.
And when I reboot, especially from Android to WM, alot of the time I get an error from gAlarmReload.exe , even though it doesn't affect gAlarm at all, the alarms still work fine. I just wanna make the s/w security as lax as possible on my phone.

I guess I'm already app unlocked, because I can make registry changes no problem. I have installed sdkcerts and netcf3.5, and have done the reg change to ensure the phone is using 3.5 and not 2.whatever_it_is, among many other reg changes.
But I don't like to go changing reg values if I don't understand what they do, because I'm one of those set-everything-up-manually types, I don't like the backup prog's and I've done a bunch of tweaks already so a HR would kill me...

Thanks for reading my unneccessarily long post, I have Asperger's so I tend to overexplain everything to death, but I guess at least I'm thorough
Last edited by huggs; 2nd December 2010 at 10:37 PM.
25th December 2010, 12:31 PM   |  #7  
globalgpj's Avatar
Senior Member
Australia
Thanks Meter: 58
 
896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2006
Thanks, worked perfect on my wife's HD2, as she needs to run stock rom 3.14.

This saved me heaps of figuring out how to do this.

Once again,thanks to all those who try and help on this forum.

Where would be all be without such great contributions !

Thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77

I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

1) Download following file: http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip

From archive we need only SDA_ApplicationUnlock.exe

It allows Registry to be edited from PC.

Run it with working Activesync connection

2) Download Mobile Registry Editor: http://www.zipsoft.ru/catalog/mobile...tor-v1_11.html

Also run with working Activesync connection

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

FYI, here are some other useful software packages that relax the security.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=285344
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...tegory/mobile/
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip
http://sedacka.saman-cz.com/ppc/inde...unlocking.html
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=338433 --- the first file in this article.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

6th January 2011, 06:18 AM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
after using sec config manager...i cannot sync with outlook by USB also wifi account exhange not working any help?
23rd April 2012, 08:49 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Unhappy set back the original registry values
i have same problem with certification. And i have done with the registry values. but after a week, my phone goes slowly than ever.
I want change my registry value to normal. if any, would you please help me to write the original values of registry? i am using HTC touch pro 2 Rod 400 from US Cellular. Thank you.
Last edited by AZain; 23rd April 2012 at 08:58 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes