Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,035 Members 41,789 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

not signed with a trusted certificate error - sense fails to load

Tip us?
 
hgalanos
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 231
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney
Default not signed with a trusted certificate error - sense fails to load

Hey guys,

I have a HD2 with the following stats:
WM: 6.5
Manilla: 2.5.19211619.0
ROM: 1.66.405.2
Radio: 2.06.51.07

My phone works perfectly. Out of nowhere, without having installed any new apps, without a soft reset, nothing at all.

When I click on any quicklink, or any app under the start menu, I get the following error:

"The file ?????? cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of it's components cannot be found. If the problem persists try reinstalling or restorig the file"

??????? = the app or program I am trying to run.

This stops sense from loading. Only WM6.5 will run - without HTC sense.

I get this error for no reason. I have not installed any new software, I have not done a soft reset, nothing. Was using the phone all day and it was perfect. Then bang, I got this.

It has happened before and a hardware reset fixed it.

Does anyone know what on earth is causing it? I have SKcert and Cert2015 installed as I am using some custom icons. Do you think this might be causing it?

I do not want to have to do a hard reset every could of weeks.

This is a joke. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
 
conantroutman
Old
#2  
conantroutman's Avatar
Moderator Committee / XDA Portal Team - Title Under Construction. Please Pardon Our Dust
Thanks Meter 7,129
Posts: 14,074
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by hgalanos View Post
Hey guys,

I have a HD2 with the following stats:
WM: 6.5
Manilla: 2.5.19211619.0
ROM: 1.66.405.2
Radio: 2.06.51.07

My phone works perfectly. Out of nowhere, without having installed any new apps, without a soft reset, nothing at all.

When I click on any quicklink, or any app under the start menu, I get the following error:

"The file ?????? cannot be opened. Either it is not signed with a trusted certificate, or one of it's components cannot be found. If the problem persists try reinstalling or restorig the file"

??????? = the app or program I am trying to run.

This stops sense from loading. Only WM6.5 will run - without HTC sense.

I get this error for no reason. I have not installed any new software, I have not done a soft reset, nothing. Was using the phone all day and it was perfect. Then bang, I got this.

It has happened before and a hardware reset fixed it.

Does anyone know what on earth is causing it? I have SKcert and Cert2015 installed as I am using some custom icons. Do you think this might be causing it?

I do not want to have to do a hard reset every could of weeks.

This is a joke. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.
Could be something to do with your SD card....
Have you got a link to something installed on your internal memory you can test...

I had somekind of sense failure once when I took the sd card while the phone was on and no matter what I tried I couldnt get it running....

I might be way off but Its all I can think of Im afraid.....

"If Diane Young won't change your mind......"

HTC HD2, Samsung Galaxy SII, Note II, Nexus 7 2012 & Motorola Xoom
 
acerulzall
Old
#3  
acerulzall's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Delhi
Default Re-install framework 3.5...

Had the same issue. first on a kaiser, and recently on my hd2....... what i did was reinstall the .net framework, ie first un install, then re install, and soft reset..... workd perfect.



i see this is an old post, but might come in handy any way.
Life's A Lesson, You Learn IT when Your Through.

Samsung R220---> Nokia 8250----> Nokia 6600---> SE P900----> HTC Wizard----> HTC TyTN II -----> HTC HD2

Amateur Video Showcasing My CAB Modded TyTN II:-
http://http://in.youtube.com/watch?v=DyEPo-5Cvqs
 
uta77
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by acerulzall View Post
Had the same issue. first on a kaiser, and recently on my hd2....... what i did was reinstall the .net framework, ie first un install, then re install, and soft reset..... workd perfect.



i see this is an old post, but might come in handy any way.
I have the same problem. can not reinstall anything - "not signed" any other solutions??

Regarding sdcard - it do the same with non stock programs, which are running on internal storage, when there is no SD card inside.

It happened after unsuccessful run of android from SD card

any solutions??
 
uta77
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77 View Post
I have the same problem. can not reinstall anything - "not signed" any other solutions??

Regarding sdcard - it do the same with non stock programs, which are running on internal storage, when there is no SD card inside.

It happened after unsuccessful run of android from SD card

any solutions??
I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

1) Download following file: http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip

From archive we need only SDA_ApplicationUnlock.exe

It allows Registry to be edited from PC.

Run it with working Activesync connection

2) Download Mobile Registry Editor: http://www.zipsoft.ru/catalog/mobile...tor-v1_11.html

Also run with working Activesync connection

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

FYI, here are some other useful software packages that relax the security.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=285344
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...tegory/mobile/
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip
http://sedacka.saman-cz.com/ppc/inde...unlocking.html
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=338433 --- the first file in this article.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort
The Following User Says Thank You to uta77 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
huggs
Old
(Last edited by huggs; 2nd December 2010 at 09:37 PM.)
#6  
huggs's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 207
Posts: 1,489
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: the internet
Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77 View Post
I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Could you please explain to me what each of these policies values do, or maybe point me to the thread where I could find out?
I am able to install apps ok, but every time I install a cab, it gives me the
"This application is not from a certified/trusted source, yada yada yada"
message, and I have to choose 'yes' to confirm it and go ahead with the install, not a huge deal but it'd be nice to get around it if some of these will do it.
And when I reboot, especially from Android to WM, alot of the time I get an error from gAlarmReload.exe , even though it doesn't affect gAlarm at all, the alarms still work fine. I just wanna make the s/w security as lax as possible on my phone.

I guess I'm already app unlocked, because I can make registry changes no problem. I have installed sdkcerts and netcf3.5, and have done the reg change to ensure the phone is using 3.5 and not 2.whatever_it_is, among many other reg changes.
But I don't like to go changing reg values if I don't understand what they do, because I'm one of those set-everything-up-manually types, I don't like the backup prog's and I've done a bunch of tweaks already so a HR would kill me...

Thanks for reading my unneccessarily long post, I have Asperger's so I tend to overexplain everything to death, but I guess at least I'm thorough
 
globalgpj
Old
#7  
globalgpj's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 58
Posts: 893
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Australia
Thanks, worked perfect on my wife's HD2, as she needs to run stock rom 3.14.

This saved me heaps of figuring out how to do this.

Once again,thanks to all those who try and help on this forum.

Where would be all be without such great contributions !

Thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by uta77 View Post
I found the solution Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort

Following simple steps:

1) Download following file: http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip

From archive we need only SDA_ApplicationUnlock.exe

It allows Registry to be edited from PC.

Run it with working Activesync connection

2) Download Mobile Registry Editor: http://www.zipsoft.ru/catalog/mobile...tor-v1_11.html

Also run with working Activesync connection

3) and modify the following keys to the values listed.

("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101b" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001005" ,"4 0")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","0000101a" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001001" ,"1 ")
("HKLM","Security\Policies\Policies","00001017" ,"2 4")

It perfectly worked with HD2, but I guess it should work with all WM devices.

FYI, here are some other useful software packages that relax the security.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=285344
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...tegory/mobile/
http://www.internet-tools.co.uk/blog...sda_unlock.zip
http://sedacka.saman-cz.com/ppc/inde...unlocking.html
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=338433 --- the first file in this article.

4) Restart

P.S. Special THANKS to JZ SmartMort
HTC M8 - GOLD DEV EDITION - Revolution HD v11.1
FW: 2.22.401.5
S-OFF, SUPERCID, TWRP
 
magf1
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 9
Join Date: Dec 2010
after using sec config manager...i cannot sync with outlook by USB also wifi account exhange not working any help?
 
AZain
Old
(Last edited by AZain; 23rd April 2012 at 07:58 AM.)
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Feb 2012
Unhappy set back the original registry values

i have same problem with certification. And i have done with the registry values. but after a week, my phone goes slowly than ever.
I want change my registry value to normal. if any, would you please help me to write the original values of registry? i am using HTC touch pro 2 Rod 400 from US Cellular. Thank you.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes