Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,816 Members 39,008 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[APPMOD][07.11.10] Brut Google Maps 4.6.0.4686-brut17

Tip us?
 
luxusxda
Old
#2001  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 27
Join Date: Feb 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Ngan View Post
This is what I experience, share this out with you all, hope that it will help.

My Android
Samsung Galaxy S- I9000
Firmware: Froyo XWJPA
Build: Doc_v7.5
Lagfix: No RFS Advance, ext4

What I tried
1. Use Titanium Backup to force remove - Failed
2. Use Terminal Emulator to enter "su", follow by "pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps" - Failed
3. try "adb remount" - Failed

with the help from my friend, I did the following steps and it works

1. Install root explorer (Android Mate I installed, it's also a launcher I believe)
2. Under Android Mate > Apps Manager > System , you will find "Maps" is there
3. Go Android Mate > File Explorer >
a. default level "/mnt/sdcard"
b. go 2 level up to "/"
c. select "system" > " app" , the director will be now "/system/app",
d. remove Maps (make a copy to other folder just in case you need it back and DELETE Maps under "/system")

4. Go to Android Mate > App Manager > System, remove/uninstall Maps

reboot

5. used MarketAccess, selected T-Mobile US, Go to market to install Google Maps (or use the Maps.apk attachment in this post)
6. reboot
7. Go to Android Mate > App Manager > you will now see Maps appear under "Download" instead of "System"
8. Uninstall the Maps from "Download"
9. reboot

10. Install brut maps (the 1st download in option 1)
maps4.6.0.4686-brut.apk
md5sum: 456b3fe71f74bb8b76a443be4075473c

reboot, should work fine now.
Hopes the info above helps.

You can have Android Mate uninstall after the installation successful
Works!!! Thanks mate!
 
Roy Ngan
Old
#2002  
Roy Ngan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 373
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by luxusxda View Post
Works!!! Thanks mate!
glad that solution works for you
Firmware History:
Current Firmware: Doc BUJP8 v9 (Froyo) + voodoo

3.5mm jack video-out test
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgcICE4K0Uw
 
chasepack
Old
#2003  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jul 2010
install Gmaps 4.7
install Brutmaps 4.6

Brutmaps will ANR
-------------------------
remove Gmaps 4.7...
left only Brutmaps 4.6...

Brutmaps no issue
------------------------
reinstall Gmaps 4.7 again...

Gmaps 4.7 will ANR
------------------------

some possible resource sharing issue with the newer Maps versions?
it appears that whichever is the sole version around or the 1st installed version will work fine.
The 'new kid on the block' will ANR...
------------------------

not too many programs support creation of TAR compared to Zip on Windows...
technically we can create ZIP files with 0 compression... its all in the settings.

hmm.. alternatively...
how about playing around with the "Tiles per File" option that can be found in gMapMaker? (the one that creates files with .mgm extensions)

256 tiles per file sounds so much more efficient than 1 tile per file

Did a small test:
1tpf: 4364 Files, 2.18 MB size, 9.30 MB size on disk
256tpf: 32 Files, 2.23 MB size, 2.26 MB size on disk

the higher the clusters the worse the Size on disk gets
Disk formated with 4k clusters
my Desire SD card is formated with 8k clusters (purposely did this for Brutmap )
Default SD Card is 16k clusters (die!)

sounds kinda nice~

(i happen to find mapcacher+gmapmaker easier and less confusing to use than Mobile Atlas Creator... its just me i guess)

forgive me if there was a discussion on this and i missed it...
201 pages of conversation is a bit hard to track~!! (congrats on breaking 2000 posts Brutmaps! )
 
reapur
Old
#2004  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 262
Join Date: Jun 2010
Just wanted to echo your findings, my experience as well.
I just keep gmaps off my phone for now since I really need caching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasepack View Post
install Gmaps 4.7
install Brutmaps 4.6

Brutmaps will ANR
-------------------------
remove Gmaps 4.7...
left only Brutmaps 4.6...

Brutmaps no issue
------------------------
reinstall Gmaps 4.7 again...

Gmaps 4.7 will ANR
------------------------

some possible resource sharing issue with the newer Maps versions?
it appears that whichever is the sole version around or the 1st installed version will work fine.
The 'new kid on the block' will ANR...
------------------------
 
novasst
Old
#2005  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Dec 2010
thank u
 
creage
Old
#2006  
creage's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 181
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Kyiv
Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...
Please, zipalign apps you made

x10i
 
kenkiller
Old
#2007  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 388
Posts: 2,823
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by creage View Post
Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...
It will, given the list of handsets supported has been released.

The only question is if ur handset is powerful enough to support it.
 
reapur
Old
#2008  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 262
Join Date: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by creage View Post
Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...
can you guys link us to the release notes on this? I'd like to know more about how it will do caching.

thanks
 
mayurh
Old
#2009  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 80
Posts: 1,447
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkiller View Post
It will, given the list of handsets supported has been released.

The only question is if ur handset is powerful enough to support it.
yes only a selected few
but i cant understand how the htc desire(classic) cant be on that list if the samsung glaxy s is there and desire z? the htc desire classic surely is up with the best of those devices and i would say even better!
 
vejbymats
Old
#2010  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by reapur View Post
can you guys link us to the release notes on this? I'd like to know more about how it will do caching.

thanks
Just do a Google search on GoogleMaps 5, and there you go...

Tags
brut, buzz, google maps, navigation, offline
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes