Post Reply

[APPMOD][07.11.10] Brut Google Maps 4.6.0.4686-brut17

OP Brut.all

1st December 2010, 06:48 PM   |  #2001  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Talking
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roy Ngan

This is what I experience, share this out with you all, hope that it will help.

My Android
Samsung Galaxy S- I9000
Firmware: Froyo XWJPA
Build: Doc_v7.5
Lagfix: No RFS Advance, ext4

What I tried
1. Use Titanium Backup to force remove - Failed
2. Use Terminal Emulator to enter "su", follow by "pm uninstall com.google.android.apps.maps" - Failed
3. try "adb remount" - Failed

with the help from my friend, I did the following steps and it works

1. Install root explorer (Android Mate I installed, it's also a launcher I believe)
2. Under Android Mate > Apps Manager > System , you will find "Maps" is there
3. Go Android Mate > File Explorer >
a. default level "/mnt/sdcard"
b. go 2 level up to "/"
c. select "system" > " app" , the director will be now "/system/app",
d. remove Maps (make a copy to other folder just in case you need it back and DELETE Maps under "/system")

4. Go to Android Mate > App Manager > System, remove/uninstall Maps

reboot

5. used MarketAccess, selected T-Mobile US, Go to market to install Google Maps (or use the Maps.apk attachment in this post)
6. reboot
7. Go to Android Mate > App Manager > you will now see Maps appear under "Download" instead of "System"
8. Uninstall the Maps from "Download"
9. reboot

10. Install brut maps (the 1st download in option 1)
maps4.6.0.4686-brut.apk
md5sum: 456b3fe71f74bb8b76a443be4075473c

reboot, should work fine now.
Hopes the info above helps.

You can have Android Mate uninstall after the installation successful

Works!!! Thanks mate!
2nd December 2010, 03:39 PM   |  #2002  
Roy Ngan's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
373 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by luxusxda

Works!!! Thanks mate!

glad that solution works for you
4th December 2010, 05:02 PM   |  #2003  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
22 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
install Gmaps 4.7
install Brutmaps 4.6

Brutmaps will ANR
-------------------------
remove Gmaps 4.7...
left only Brutmaps 4.6...

Brutmaps no issue
------------------------
reinstall Gmaps 4.7 again...

Gmaps 4.7 will ANR
------------------------

some possible resource sharing issue with the newer Maps versions?
it appears that whichever is the sole version around or the 1st installed version will work fine.
The 'new kid on the block' will ANR...
------------------------

not too many programs support creation of TAR compared to Zip on Windows...
technically we can create ZIP files with 0 compression... its all in the settings.

hmm.. alternatively...
how about playing around with the "Tiles per File" option that can be found in gMapMaker? (the one that creates files with .mgm extensions)

256 tiles per file sounds so much more efficient than 1 tile per file

Did a small test:
1tpf: 4364 Files, 2.18 MB size, 9.30 MB size on disk
256tpf: 32 Files, 2.23 MB size, 2.26 MB size on disk

the higher the clusters the worse the Size on disk gets
Disk formated with 4k clusters
my Desire SD card is formated with 8k clusters (purposely did this for Brutmap )
Default SD Card is 16k clusters (die!)

sounds kinda nice~

(i happen to find mapcacher+gmapmaker easier and less confusing to use than Mobile Atlas Creator... its just me i guess)

forgive me if there was a discussion on this and i missed it...
201 pages of conversation is a bit hard to track~!! (congrats on breaking 2000 posts Brutmaps! )
4th December 2010, 05:05 PM   |  #2004  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Just wanted to echo your findings, my experience as well.
I just keep gmaps off my phone for now since I really need caching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chasepack

install Gmaps 4.7
install Brutmaps 4.6

Brutmaps will ANR
-------------------------
remove Gmaps 4.7...
left only Brutmaps 4.6...

Brutmaps no issue
------------------------
reinstall Gmaps 4.7 again...

Gmaps 4.7 will ANR
------------------------

some possible resource sharing issue with the newer Maps versions?
it appears that whichever is the sole version around or the 1st installed version will work fine.
The 'new kid on the block' will ANR...
------------------------

4th December 2010, 10:46 PM   |  #2005  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
thank u
7th December 2010, 01:34 PM   |  #2006  
creage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kyiv
Thanks Meter: 30
 
181 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...
7th December 2010, 01:58 PM   |  #2007  
kenkiller's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 446
 
2,984 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by creage

Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...

It will, given the list of handsets supported has been released.

The only question is if ur handset is powerful enough to support it.
7th December 2010, 02:03 PM   |  #2008  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
262 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by creage

Hey guys, the GoogleMaps 5.0 is gonna to roll out, with caching ability, and 3D buildings!

The only quiestion is would it run on pre-2.3 devices...

can you guys link us to the release notes on this? I'd like to know more about how it will do caching.

thanks
7th December 2010, 02:04 PM   |  #2009  
Senior Member
Flag Johannesburg
Thanks Meter: 80
 
1,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kenkiller

It will, given the list of handsets supported has been released.

The only question is if ur handset is powerful enough to support it.

yes only a selected few
but i cant understand how the htc desire(classic) cant be on that list if the samsung glaxy s is there and desire z? the htc desire classic surely is up with the best of those devices and i would say even better!
7th December 2010, 02:31 PM   |  #2010  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by reapur

can you guys link us to the release notes on this? I'd like to know more about how it will do caching.

thanks

Just do a Google search on GoogleMaps 5, and there you go...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brut, buzz, google maps, navigation, offline
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes