Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,742,143 Members 52,194 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[App][(W)VGA]MulkeyTouch - A Multi-Touch Keyboard on WinMo Resistive Screens

Tip us?
 
TangoChen
Old
(Last edited by TangoChen; 27th December 2010 at 05:42 PM.) Reason: make it also available for VGA resolution.
#1  
TangoChen's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 47
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Guangzhou

 
DONATE TO ME
Lightbulb [App][(W)VGA]MulkeyTouch - A Multi-Touch Keyboard on WinMo Resistive Screens

It's really truly able to have a multi-touch keyboard on a resistive screen WinMo!!
it may takes some time.but then how many people would still use Windows Phone classic(except HD2)?!

MulkeyTouch = MultiTouch Key(board)
for more introduces pls read the following Notice.
Requirements
  • WVGA/VGA resolution[actually the technology works for all resistive screen-devices]
  • .NET CF 3.5 or higher

How it comes true?
read my first thread:
Multi 2.0 - Show and Explain Dual-Touch Technology On Resistive Screens

Here're some pictures(I've tried making a demo video.but it doesn't seem good.these are the shots of the video)
It's a WP7-style keyboard.It hasn't been finished.it can be used to input letters only..no numbers or symbols but "." and ","
[I used a stylus just to let you see more clearly.]And it proves that the screen is resistive.(It's TP2)



Notice
  1. multi-touch keyboard
    = dual-touch keyboard
    = you can hold Shift key and press any letters' key at the same time to input capital letters
    but you can't press two letters' key at the same time.it doesn't makes sense.
  2. as my limited ability,i'm not able to write a real keyboard (in Native code.)
    this is an 'app-in' keyboard..
    (the keyboard have to run in the app.you can't use it to input texts to any other textboxes outside the app.)
    But it shows the capability of having a multi-touch keyboard on resistive screen.
    and of course it can be developed as a real system keyboard.
  3. it doesn't work very well.the second key it detects may not the key you press especially when the key is far from the Shift key(such as P,O,I,L,K)..
    but it's possible to add a function to modify the position values so that it can detect properly.
    so i make another app called Modifine.(means to "modify" something to make it "fine")
    but the modified result doesn't seem very good yet-.-!!...
    Much better now..

Download
The NEW file MulKeyTouch 1.0 - (W)VGA.7z works for WVGA and VGA resolutions!
It has only one .exe file.but you'd better extract it to any one directory before run it.
cuz it'll create an Modifine.txt file on the directory to enable Modifine mod.

Please read the next post about how to use.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z MulKeyTouch 1.0.7z - [Click for QR Code] (66.7 KB, 6128 views)
File Type: 7z MulKeyTouch 1.0 - (W)VGA.7z - [Click for QR Code] (66.8 KB, 4991 views)
My Works here [Windows Mobile]:If u like my work, just click Thanks and subscribe to my Youtube channel~
__________________
a high school dropout..
www.TangoChen.com
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to TangoChen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
TangoChen
Old
(Last edited by TangoChen; 13th December 2010 at 05:56 PM.)
#2  
TangoChen's Avatar
Retired Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 47
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Guangzhou

 
DONATE TO ME
Default How to use it.

There are 4 ways to input captial letters:
  1. [Normal way]Input 1 captial letters.Just press the "Shift" key then click any letter's key.
  2. [Normal way]Input ≥1 captial letters.Click the "Shift" key twice then you can keep inputing captial letters
  3. [Quick way]Input 1 captial letters.Hold the "Shift" key then move to any letter's key.It's a better way to input letters that near the "Shift" key such as "Z","A","Q","X",etc.
  4. [Quick dual-touch way]Input ≥1 captial letters.Hold the "Shift" key and press any letter's key.

About Modifine
Does the second key it detects is not the key you are pressing on?
In particular the keys far from Shift key such as "P","O","L"
Then you may have to modify the position it gets.

Different screen may has its own dual-touch ability.
So you'll have modified values set by yourself.

1.Click "Modifine" button.
2.Click "Start Modifine!" button.
3.Hold the central of the "Shift" key.
4.Immediately draw follow the green line from lower left corner to top right corner.
5.Click "Back" button.
6.Enable the Modifine mode by click the "Smile" key(it's on the lower left corner of MKT keyboard.NOT the "Modifine" form's keyboard.)
7.Test it by input captial letters in the [Quick dual-touch way]

A much better way to see where the modified position go:
Check the "Show touch points" checkbox on Modifine form.
You can see two points while you input captial letters that are near the top right corner.
Red Point - original detected touch point
Green Point - modified point

I know there's a bug that the new points come but old points were not cleared.as i think you can find out the latest points.and for better running speed.i'm not going to fix it now.

PS.the app's icon(in 32x32 size) writes "没课逃~" which means "No classes to be skipped" in Chinese.
and Chinese pinyin of the three characters is "Mei Ke Tao",whose shortened (is MKT) is the same as MulKeyTouch's.
I use it to commemorate my dropping out of school~
Sorry for my poor English.
My Works here [Windows Mobile]:If u like my work, just click Thanks and subscribe to my Youtube channel~
__________________
a high school dropout..
www.TangoChen.com
The Following User Says Thank You to TangoChen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
the_illuminat
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 24
Join Date: Dec 2009
looks promising. keep up the good work
HTC HD
HTC Magic
The Following User Says Thank You to the_illuminat For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
white-energy
Old
(Last edited by white-energy; 13th December 2010 at 09:53 PM.)
#4  
white-energy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 614
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: L'viv
Woah! this is Awesome.. but i use Android on my HD2...whatever..
YOU GET A COOKIE! (Thanks)
Dude keep up the Awesome work..

now thank me for thanking your a** x'P



"If you cannot find the truth right where you are, where else do you expect to find it?" ~Dogen

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to white-energy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
micmaccc
Old
#5  
micmaccc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 291
Join Date: Apr 2010
nice one bro, keep it up!
The Following User Says Thank You to micmaccc For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
deepv84
Old
#6  
deepv84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 342
Join Date: Feb 2008
plz release for qvga.

thanks!

INDIA FIRST !!!!!

"D"eepak
----------------------------------
Device:LG OPTIMUS ONE P500
Stock 2.3.3 rooted
The Following User Says Thank You to deepv84 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
orb3000
Old
#7  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Thanks Meter 3029
Posts: 22,275
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...

 
DONATE TO ME
I believe many members will stay on WM for a while
Thanks!
orb


HTC One M8 - HTC Butterfly S - HTC Universal

XDA is about developing and is for developers. Any user that recognizes that will gain the most benefit from this site


 
This is and always will be a site for developers, pure and simple. Without them we are nothing, without them there would be no reason for XDA Developers to exist; we should never ever forget that. Without them this place would not be called XDA-Developers but something else, e.g Mobile Phone User Support Services For Ungrateful Nerds.

Previous devices: HTC: Treo 650 - Excalibur - Diamond - Diamond 2 - Maple - HD2 - Rhodium - Desire Z - Desire HD - Vivid - Sensation - One V - One X - Titan II - One X+ - DNA - Butterfly
The Following User Says Thank You to orb3000 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
PaulosCZ
Old
#8  
PaulosCZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 180
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
It seems that you like WP7 keyboard
Gorgeous work. I'll look on it right away!
Windows Mobile 7 fan & dev
Device: Samsung Omnia 7 - Mango
My WP7 Apps: SmartDial | Net Swiss Knife
For older HTC Diamond:
My ROMs: Ahen D6Torture - Build 23699 - Sense 2019 / Titanium with nice icons - available for download, discontinued
 
PaulosCZ
Old
#9  
PaulosCZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 11
Posts: 180
Join Date: Sep 2008

 
DONATE TO ME
So, unfortunately, I cannot test the keyboard properly because I'm running VGA device (Diamond) and the textbox overlays the keyboard from the top. Maybe you can set Anchor property to TextBox? or there maybe is another way to change the textbox size dynamically?

otherwise it looks neat
Windows Mobile 7 fan & dev
Device: Samsung Omnia 7 - Mango
My WP7 Apps: SmartDial | Net Swiss Knife
For older HTC Diamond:
My ROMs: Ahen D6Torture - Build 23699 - Sense 2019 / Titanium with nice icons - available for download, discontinued
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulosCZ For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
scilor
Old
#10  
scilor's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 19
Posts: 1,230
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: @scilor.com

 
DONATE TO ME
If you need any help in implement the Multitouch for the HD2, write me a message

The Following User Says Thank You to scilor For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
app, dual touch, multi-touch, resistive, winmo
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes