Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[App][(W)VGA]MulkeyTouch - A Multi-Touch Keyboard on WinMo Resistive Screens

OP TangoChen

9th December 2010, 06:50 PM   |  #1  
TangoChen's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Guangzhou
Thanks Meter: 21
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
It's really truly able to have a multi-touch keyboard on a resistive screen WinMo!!
it may takes some time.but then how many people would still use Windows Phone classic(except HD2)?!

MulkeyTouch = MultiTouch Key(board)
for more introduces pls read the following Notice.
Requirements
  • WVGA/VGA resolution[actually the technology works for all resistive screen-devices]
  • .NET CF 3.5 or higher

How it comes true?
read my first thread:
Multi 2.0 - Show and Explain Dual-Touch Technology On Resistive Screens

Here're some pictures(I've tried making a demo video.but it doesn't seem good.these are the shots of the video)
It's a WP7-style keyboard.It hasn't been finished.it can be used to input letters only..no numbers or symbols but "." and ","
[I used a stylus just to let you see more clearly.]And it proves that the screen is resistive.(It's TP2)



Notice
  1. multi-touch keyboard
    = dual-touch keyboard
    = you can hold Shift key and press any letters' key at the same time to input capital letters
    but you can't press two letters' key at the same time.it doesn't makes sense.
  2. as my limited ability,i'm not able to write a real keyboard (in Native code.)
    this is an 'app-in' keyboard..
    (the keyboard have to run in the app.you can't use it to input texts to any other textboxes outside the app.)
    But it shows the capability of having a multi-touch keyboard on resistive screen.
    and of course it can be developed as a real system keyboard.
  3. it doesn't work very well.the second key it detects may not the key you press especially when the key is far from the Shift key(such as P,O,I,L,K)..
    but it's possible to add a function to modify the position values so that it can detect properly.
    so i make another app called Modifine.(means to "modify" something to make it "fine")
    but the modified result doesn't seem very good yet-.-!!...
    Much better now..

Download
The NEW file MulKeyTouch 1.0 - (W)VGA.7z works for WVGA and VGA resolutions!
It has only one .exe file.but you'd better extract it to any one directory before run it.
cuz it'll create an Modifine.txt file on the directory to enable Modifine mod.

Please read the next post about how to use.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z MulKeyTouch 1.0.7z - [Click for QR Code] (66.7 KB, 6183 views)
File Type: 7z MulKeyTouch 1.0 - (W)VGA.7z - [Click for QR Code] (66.8 KB, 5039 views)
Last edited by TangoChen; 27th December 2010 at 06:42 PM. Reason: make it also available for VGA resolution.
The Following 9 Users Say Thank You to TangoChen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
9th December 2010, 06:51 PM   |  #2  
TangoChen's Avatar
OP Retired Recognized Developer
Flag Guangzhou
Thanks Meter: 21
 
47 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
How to use it.
There are 4 ways to input captial letters:
  1. [Normal way]Input 1 captial letters.Just press the "Shift" key then click any letter's key.
  2. [Normal way]Input ≥1 captial letters.Click the "Shift" key twice then you can keep inputing captial letters
  3. [Quick way]Input 1 captial letters.Hold the "Shift" key then move to any letter's key.It's a better way to input letters that near the "Shift" key such as "Z","A","Q","X",etc.
  4. [Quick dual-touch way]Input ≥1 captial letters.Hold the "Shift" key and press any letter's key.

About Modifine
Does the second key it detects is not the key you are pressing on?
In particular the keys far from Shift key such as "P","O","L"
Then you may have to modify the position it gets.

Different screen may has its own dual-touch ability.
So you'll have modified values set by yourself.

1.Click "Modifine" button.
2.Click "Start Modifine!" button.
3.Hold the central of the "Shift" key.
4.Immediately draw follow the green line from lower left corner to top right corner.
5.Click "Back" button.
6.Enable the Modifine mode by click the "Smile" key(it's on the lower left corner of MKT keyboard.NOT the "Modifine" form's keyboard.)
7.Test it by input captial letters in the [Quick dual-touch way]

A much better way to see where the modified position go:
Check the "Show touch points" checkbox on Modifine form.
You can see two points while you input captial letters that are near the top right corner.
Red Point - original detected touch point
Green Point - modified point

I know there's a bug that the new points come but old points were not cleared.as i think you can find out the latest points.and for better running speed.i'm not going to fix it now.

PS.the app's icon(in 32x32 size) writes "没课逃~" which means "No classes to be skipped" in Chinese.
and Chinese pinyin of the three characters is "Mei Ke Tao",whose shortened (is MKT) is the same as MulKeyTouch's.
I use it to commemorate my dropping out of school~
Sorry for my poor English.
Last edited by TangoChen; 13th December 2010 at 06:56 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to TangoChen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2010, 12:06 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
24 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
looks promising. keep up the good work
The Following User Says Thank You to the_illuminat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th December 2010, 10:49 PM   |  #4  
white-energy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag L'viv
Thanks Meter: 217
 
616 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
More
Woah! this is Awesome.. but i use Android on my HD2...whatever..
YOU GET A COOKIE! (Thanks)
Dude keep up the Awesome work..

now thank me for thanking your a** x'P
Last edited by white-energy; 13th December 2010 at 10:53 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to white-energy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th December 2010, 10:02 AM   |  #5  
micmaccc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
nice one bro, keep it up!
The Following User Says Thank You to micmaccc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th December 2010, 05:59 AM   |  #6  
deepv84's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
More
plz release for qvga.

thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to deepv84 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th December 2010, 08:40 AM   |  #7  
orb3000's Avatar
XDA Portal Team / Senior Moderator
Flag T r a v e l i n g Likes: HTC & XDA Dislikes: apples...
Thanks Meter: 3,045
 
22,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Donate to Me
Thumbs up
I believe many members will stay on WM for a while
Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to orb3000 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2010, 07:30 PM   |  #8  
PaulosCZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
It seems that you like WP7 keyboard
Gorgeous work. I'll look on it right away!
25th December 2010, 08:03 PM   |  #9  
PaulosCZ's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
180 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
Donate to Me
More
So, unfortunately, I cannot test the keyboard properly because I'm running VGA device (Diamond) and the textbox overlays the keyboard from the top. Maybe you can set Anchor property to TextBox? or there maybe is another way to change the textbox size dynamically?

otherwise it looks neat
The Following User Says Thank You to PaulosCZ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th December 2010, 08:11 PM   |  #10  
scilor's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag @scilor.com
Thanks Meter: 19
 
1,230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
Donate to Me
If you need any help in implement the Multitouch for the HD2, write me a message

The Following User Says Thank You to scilor For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
app, dual touch, multi-touch, resistive, winmo
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes