FORUMS

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Use terminal to root

177 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By rllong1, Senior Member on 11th December 2010, 03:54 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I seen the post on how to root the Droid Pro but I didn't see anything about doing it through the terminal emulator. Is this possible?
 
 
11th December 2010, 04:03 PM |#2  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schenectady, NY
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1

I seen the post on how to root the Droid Pro but I didn't see anything about doing it through the terminal emulator. Is this possible?

Not sure. But why wouldn't you want to use Z4Root? It's one-click and quick.
11th December 2010, 04:11 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhammy

Not sure. But why wouldn't you want to use Z4Root? It's one-click and quick.

I wish I could. I have a school laptop that does not give us admin rights, so I do not have access to adb.
11th December 2010, 04:45 PM |#4  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schenectady, NY
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1

I wish I could. I have a school laptop that does not give us admin rights, so I do not have access to adb.

You don't need a laptop for Z4Root. It's an app you download on your device. It's no longer available in the Market (Google removed it), but you can find it on the internet.

Here's a site to get you started: http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...ndroid-phones/
Last edited by jayhammy; 11th December 2010 at 04:49 PM.
11th December 2010, 05:01 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhammy

You don't need a laptop for Z4Root. It's an app you download on your device. It's no longer available in the Market (Google removed it), but you can find it on the internet.

Here's a site to get you started: http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...ndroid-phones/

OK, In the instructions. It says you have to run adb commands.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=842074. I went to your link though and read those. I will try that and get back to you. Thanks a lot.
11th December 2010, 10:33 PM |#6  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schenectady, NY
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1

OK, In the instructions. It says you have to run adb commands.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=842074. I went to your link though and read those. I will try that and get back to you. Thanks a lot.

You only need to do adb if you're doing theming. To just root, you only need the Z4Root app. IN fact, you'll see my question answered in that forum on that very same thing.
Let me know!
The Following User Says Thank You to jayhammy For This Useful Post: [ View ]
12th December 2010, 02:16 PM |#7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
z4 worked. Once I found the link. Thanks a lot man.
12th December 2010, 02:29 PM |#8  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Schenectady, NY
Thanks Meter: 16
 
More
Glad it worked for you. I'd recommend the following apps as "must-haves":

Titanium backup
Root explorer
Wireless tether
12th December 2010, 05:04 PM |#9  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Ok so I downloaded titanium. I did the back up to all user and system alps. Is the root explorer the same as like su? Also, do you have to pay for wireless tether?

Sent from my DROID PRO using XDA App
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes