5,598,086 Members 42,920 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Use terminal to root

Tip us?
 
rllong1
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 177
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Use terminal to root

I seen the post on how to root the Droid Pro but I didn't see anything about doing it through the terminal emulator. Is this possible?
 
jayhammy
Old
#2  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 435
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1 View Post
I seen the post on how to root the Droid Pro but I didn't see anything about doing it through the terminal emulator. Is this possible?
Not sure. But why wouldn't you want to use Z4Root? It's one-click and quick.
Current devices:

Nexus 5 on Bell Canada (unlocked, rooted)
Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon (rooted)
Nexus 7 8gig with JB 4.1.2 CNA ROM.
Nexus 7 32 gig 3G/HSPA+ with rooted JB 4.2.1
Motorola Wifi Xoom with JB 4.2.1 CNA ROM.

Past devices:
Blackberry 8703e > Blackberry 8830 > Blackberry Tour > Blackberry Storm > HTC Incredible > Droid Pro > HTC Thunderbolt > Samsung Galaxy SII > Galaxy Nexus on Bell Canada & Verizon>Nexus 4
 
rllong1
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 177
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhammy View Post
Not sure. But why wouldn't you want to use Z4Root? It's one-click and quick.
I wish I could. I have a school laptop that does not give us admin rights, so I do not have access to adb.
 
jayhammy
Old
(Last edited by jayhammy; 11th December 2010 at 04:49 PM.)
#4  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 435
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1 View Post
I wish I could. I have a school laptop that does not give us admin rights, so I do not have access to adb.
You don't need a laptop for Z4Root. It's an app you download on your device. It's no longer available in the Market (Google removed it), but you can find it on the internet.

Here's a site to get you started: http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...ndroid-phones/
Current devices:

Nexus 5 on Bell Canada (unlocked, rooted)
Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon (rooted)
Nexus 7 8gig with JB 4.1.2 CNA ROM.
Nexus 7 32 gig 3G/HSPA+ with rooted JB 4.2.1
Motorola Wifi Xoom with JB 4.2.1 CNA ROM.

Past devices:
Blackberry 8703e > Blackberry 8830 > Blackberry Tour > Blackberry Storm > HTC Incredible > Droid Pro > HTC Thunderbolt > Samsung Galaxy SII > Galaxy Nexus on Bell Canada & Verizon>Nexus 4
 
rllong1
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 177
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jayhammy View Post
You don't need a laptop for Z4Root. It's an app you download on your device. It's no longer available in the Market (Google removed it), but you can find it on the internet.

Here's a site to get you started: http://www.addictivetips.com/mobile/...ndroid-phones/
OK, In the instructions. It says you have to run adb commands.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=842074. I went to your link though and read those. I will try that and get back to you. Thanks a lot.
 
jayhammy
Old
#6  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 435
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by rllong1 View Post
OK, In the instructions. It says you have to run adb commands.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=842074. I went to your link though and read those. I will try that and get back to you. Thanks a lot.
You only need to do adb if you're doing theming. To just root, you only need the Z4Root app. IN fact, you'll see my question answered in that forum on that very same thing.
Let me know!
Current devices:

Nexus 5 on Bell Canada (unlocked, rooted)
Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon (rooted)
Nexus 7 8gig with JB 4.1.2 CNA ROM.
Nexus 7 32 gig 3G/HSPA+ with rooted JB 4.2.1
Motorola Wifi Xoom with JB 4.2.1 CNA ROM.

Past devices:
Blackberry 8703e > Blackberry 8830 > Blackberry Tour > Blackberry Storm > HTC Incredible > Droid Pro > HTC Thunderbolt > Samsung Galaxy SII > Galaxy Nexus on Bell Canada & Verizon>Nexus 4
The Following User Says Thank You to jayhammy For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rllong1
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 177
Join Date: Feb 2010
z4 worked. Once I found the link. Thanks a lot man.
 
jayhammy
Old
#8  
jayhammy's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 435
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Schenectady, NY
Glad it worked for you. I'd recommend the following apps as "must-haves":

Titanium backup
Root explorer
Wireless tether
Current devices:

Nexus 5 on Bell Canada (unlocked, rooted)
Galaxy Note 3 on Verizon (rooted)
Nexus 7 8gig with JB 4.1.2 CNA ROM.
Nexus 7 32 gig 3G/HSPA+ with rooted JB 4.2.1
Motorola Wifi Xoom with JB 4.2.1 CNA ROM.

Past devices:
Blackberry 8703e > Blackberry 8830 > Blackberry Tour > Blackberry Storm > HTC Incredible > Droid Pro > HTC Thunderbolt > Samsung Galaxy SII > Galaxy Nexus on Bell Canada & Verizon>Nexus 4
 
rllong1
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 177
Join Date: Feb 2010
Ok so I downloaded titanium. I did the back up to all user and system alps. Is the root explorer the same as like su? Also, do you have to pay for wireless tether?

Sent from my DROID PRO using XDA App

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Android Control Center Becomes Quick Control Panel, Brings Host of New Features

You may recall that back in August of last year, we talked … more

Polish Your Custom Themes with Theme Debugger

Creating a custom Android theme from scratch can be quite the laborious task. In addition to … more

Clean Up Your Logcat Code with Lib Cleaner

Some of you may think that writing code is the hardest part of development. It’s not, as the … more

Tweak Your Xperia Device’s Camera App Yourself

We’ve come to expect nearly perfect cameraperformancein our modern day … more