Rooting noob needs advice

Search This thread

Sirnick2

Jan 7, 2014
Hi guys, new to the forum and a total noob rooting and custom roms etc. I have a note 3 SM-N9005 which i have just "successfully?" rooted with supersu flashed with clockwork recovery and am now running CM11 I installed the google apps package and it all seems to be running well apart from a few glitches. Does all this sound right? And how does it update? I'm aware that I am not running an official CM version but when that becomes available how do i get that running? Do I have to go through the process again?
Thanks in advance for the first of many stupid questions

Sent from my SM-N9000 using Tapatalk

radicalisto

Nov 13, 2013
York
Cyanogen build is reporting wrong is all. Nothing to worry about. Build.prop just needs changed... Now to answer the question. .

If you stay on the base you're on now you can dirty flash new builds over. But if you are changing cm from different devs you'll need to wipe and install from scratch.

You're better wiping and installing from scratch as it tends to solve 99% of issues.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Sirnick2

Jan 7, 2014
Cyanogen build is reporting wrong is all. Nothing to worry about. Build.prop just needs changed... Now to answer the question. .

If you stay on the base you're on now you can dirty flash new builds over. But if you are changing cm from different devs you'll need to wipe and install from scratch.

You're better wiping and installing from scratch as it tends to solve 99% of issues.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thanks for the response! I followed the instructions outlined in this post

ibtimes.co.uk/android-4-4-2-kitkat-arrives-galaxy-note-3-via-cyanogenmod-11-rom-how-install-1431052

I used the rom in the download link and used the programs they suggested to install it. What is the version of the rom they have listed?

radicalisto

Nov 13, 2013
York