[APP] OblyTile - Tile Creator for all programs.

Search This thread

Bonom Denej

Member
Feb 4, 2010
31
3
Saint-Étienne
youtube.com
Hi
Try this:

Program Path:
<Your chrome.exe file path>
(Default path is: C:\Users\<your user name>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe)

Program Argument:
<website you want to show on the new tab>
(Example: www.google.com)

Everytime you click on this tile and Google Chrome is already running, it will open a new tab on chrome with the website you wrote on Program Argument.

Hope this helps

Argony
Thanks a lot, works fine like this, even tho I don't know what "adress" I could put to only have a blank new page.
 

Elerador

Member
Jan 13, 2011
43
5
My knowledge about the ARM architecture is really poor, i can't help about this.

Hmmmm ...

After a reboot the tiles do show up on my Surface RT - but they still don't work. So far I deleted everything which is not necessary to run the program:

Set objShell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")

strApp = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\winword.exe\"

objShell.CurrentDirectory = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\"

objShell.Run """C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\winword.exe\""" & ""

If I try to run the script directly I get the following error:

v6qae8.png


As far as I know this is the end, because this means that Windows RT is not able to run the ActiveX-component.
 
Last edited:

Argony-OT

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2012
263
551
How to add tile for reboot and shutdown?
Hello
Try type this on OblyTile:

Program Path:
Code:
C:\windows\system32\shutdown.exe

To shutdown
Program Arguments:
Code:
-s -t 00

To restart
Program Arguments:
Code:
-r -t 00

Hope this helps

If I try to run the script directly I get the following error
Delete the red "\"
Code:
Set objShell = CreateObject("Wscript.Shell")
strApp = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\winword.exe[COLOR="Red"]\[/COLOR]"
objShell.CurrentDirectory = "C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\"
objShell.Run """C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\Office15\winword.exe[COLOR="Red"]\[/COLOR]""" & ""

I don't think RT is able to launch Arm softwares from desktop environment, so, seems you can't launch Office from a vbs file.

Argony.
 
G

GuestK0065

Guest
I'd like to report a small bug, that it would be great if you could fix:

I'm trying to create a tile for a dosbox shortcut (game from GOG.com) but the arguments are either unrecognized or just don't work (they work on a normal shortcut, and even for scummVM games).

Path: D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe
Arg: -conf dosboxGK.conf -noconsole -c "exit"

Also OblyTile make always doubles the " before and after the exit command.

P.S. I just found out the root of the issue too. For this kind of shortcut, you need to tell the shortcut that the program isn't going to start on the folder D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight\DOSBOX, but rather D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight because that's where the .conf file is. Is there anyway you could add an option to change that same option like it is possible when editing a normal shortcut?
 
Last edited:

Argony-OT

Senior Member
Sep 22, 2012
263
551
I'd like to report a small bug, that it would be great if you could fix:
I'm trying to create a tile for a dosbox shortcut (game from GOG.com) but the arguments are either unrecognized or just don't work (they work on a normal shortcut, and even for scummVM games).
Path: D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight\DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe
Arg: -conf dosboxGK.conf -noconsole -c "exit"
Also OblyTile make always doubles the " before and after the exit command.

P.S. I just found out the root of the issue too. For this kind of shortcut, you need to tell the shortcut that the program isn't going to start on the folder D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight\DOSBOX, but rather D:\GoG\Gabriel Knight because that's where the .conf file is. Is there anyway you could add an option to change that same option like it is possible when editing a normal shortcut?

Hello

This is a very specific case, i suggest to create a "mini-launcher" for DosBox.

Here's a little .Bat example:
Code:
@echo off
Title Gabriel Knight
cd /d %~dp0
start "" "DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf dosboxGK.conf -noconsole -c "exit"

Place it on the same folder of the .conf file and it must work.

I may add an option to change the Working Dir, but in my opinion it would create just confusion, nowadays there's no programs that require a manual changing of the working dir.

Hope this helps

Argony
 
Last edited:
G

GuestK0065

Guest
Hello

This is a very specific case, i suggest to create a "mini-launcher" for DosBox.

Here's a little .Bat example:
Code:
@echo off
Title Gabriel Knight
cd /d %~dp0
start "" "DOSBOX\DOSBox.exe" -conf dosboxGK.conf -noconsole -c "exit"

Place it on the same folder of the .conf file and it must work.

I may add an option to change the Working Dir, but in my opinion it would create just confusion, nowadays there's no programs that require a manual changing of the working dir.

Hope this helps

Argony

That actually sounds like a pretty good idea Argony thanks! :D

So I wager that OblyTile would have no problem making a tile out of a bat file then? Pretty ingenious :p

Again, thanks :p
 

kyawswaraung

Senior Member
Oct 10, 2011
112
22
Thanks for the great application Argony.

Here's what I have so far.
iRQILUhtbJHid.jpg
Hey bro, how to add power options to Start. Could you please guide me?

Thanks in advance.

---------- Post added at 07:36 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:19 AM ----------

First of all, I kindly would like to thank you for your program. It's really great.

For more desire on this software,
can you make this software for shortcut of folder also?
Now, software can only available for application. I want to create a shortcut of Data D:\, My Work Folder, etc., on Start screen with my selected tile icon.

Thanks for your works.
 

depths

Senior Member
Dec 5, 2011
76
44
Perth
Hey bro, how to add power options to Start. Could you please guide me?

Shutdown Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -s /hybrid -t 00

Restart Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -r -t 00

Log off Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -l

Hibernate Computer:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: powrProf.dll,SetSuspendState

Sleep Computer:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0

Lock Workstation:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: User32.dll,LockWorkStation
 

kyawswaraung

Senior Member
Oct 10, 2011
112
22
Shutdown Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -s /hybrid -t 00

Restart Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -r -t 00

Log off Computer:
Program Path: shutdown.exe
Program Argument: -l

Hibernate Computer:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: powrProf.dll,SetSuspendState

Sleep Computer:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: powrprof.dll,SetSuspendState 0,1,0

Lock Workstation:
Program Path: C:\Windows\System32\rundll32.exe
Program Argument: User32.dll,LockWorkStation
Thanks for your quick response, But can you explain me what is Program Argument? What can that do and how you can find out program argument's data for application?
I am a noob.
 
Last edited:

Clever_Name_Here

Senior Member
Mar 24, 2012
60
142
Sydney
Hi,
I'm getting an issue where all the OblyTiles appear as the Run icon.

I restarted OblyTiles as instructed, and pressed the refresh cache button, but this did not fix the issue.

I have also tried re downloading the software.

All icons used are correct.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 317
    This program is meant to create tiles to the Windows 8/8.1 start screen.

    I created it in vb.net using SharpDevelop, it works for all programs/folder/files/websites.

    The program will store the image files inside the folder "C:\Program Files\OblyTile" and create the Shortcut .LNK file inside the StartMenu folder.

    If you want to remove a Tile, right click it on the start screen/menu and select "Remove From Start" or select a tile on the OblyTile Created Tile list and press the recycle bin button located on bottom right of OblyTile.

    OblyTile has support for command line, you can check the list of available commands by running OblyTile with the "/?" as argument.

    To remove OblyTile and revert to default windows settings you have to run OblyTile as administrator and click the Remove button located in the settings menu [Click the Wrench icon on top of OblyTile to access the settings menu]

    Note: Do not expect a Windows 10 version anytime soon. Why?

    Old Versions:
    OblyTile v0.5 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.7/0.7.1 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.8 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.8.2 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.8.6 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.8.8 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.9 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.9.1 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.9.5 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.9.7 (ChangeLog)
    OblyTile v0.9.8 (ChangeLog)

    Latest Version:
    OblyTile v0.9.9

    ChangeLog:
    • [Win 8.1] Added ability to pin the Tiles at different Sizes when created/edited. [Via UI or Command Line Arguments]
    • [Win 8.1] OblyTile will now export and import tiles in correct order and size. [No groups]
    • Added "Desktop" in the QuickList.
    • New tiles will be shown with proper name and icon on Classic Shell. [32px icon only]
    • Enhanced the OblyTile "Remove" function. [You can find it in the Settings menu]
    • Tile exporter will create a new backup folder just in case you want to keep old backups.
    • Possible fix for the Browser/Home keyboard button not opening the correct web browser.
    • Possible fix for the loop issue that causes OblyTile to open itself multiple times. (Thanks to Steel Froggy)
    • Fixed issue with the tile preview showing double borders.
    • Fixed issue with the Windows Store Apps list not being able to create desktop/taskbar shortcuts for certain apps.
    • Fixed other minor stuffs.
    • Small changes to the UI. [Dpi, Transitions, Context Menu]
    Known Issues:
    • Make a backup of your tiles before upgrading from Windows 8 to Windows 8.1, you might lose your custom tiles during the process of upgrade. (Thanks to LLJKRevol)
    • Tiles which contain accented letters in the tile name can be edited only by OblyTile v0.9.8 and above.
    • In order to launch the Immersive mode of your web browser by using a tile made with OblyTile, be sure to close the desktop version of it.
    • If the Browser/Home button doesn't work properly, open OblyTile and press the second button on top of OblyTile. (Rebuild cache)
    • If the tiles are not showed properly (a normal icon is showed) open OblyTile and press the second button on top of OblyTile. (Rebuild cache)
    • If the tiles are visible only on the "App" side of the start screen (Windows 8.1) open OblyTile and press the second button on top of OblyTile. (Rebuild cache)
    • Changing web browser will show multiple entry of Internet Explorer, Use "Set Default Programs" in Control Panel to change your default web browser and then press the Rebuild Cache button on OblyTile.
    • If "Rebuild cache" does not work, try >> this <<
    • In case of the error Microsoft.Win32.RegistryKey.ValidateKeyName or similar, try >> this <<
    • If the tile will not react when you click it (the program or file will not be opened) follow those steps VBScript - Fix
    • OblyTile does not work on some WinPE/WimBoot installations
    Tested on:
    Windows 8.1 Professional Build 9600 - 32/64 Bit
    Windows 8.1 Core Build 9600 - 64 Bit (Thanks to Timo)
    Windows 8 Professional Build 9200 - 32/64 Bit
    Windows 8 Enterprise Build 9200 - 32/64 Bit
    Microsoft Surface RT 32GB /w Jailbreak (Thanks to netham45)

    Use this program at your own risk.

    md5 Hash:
    f54db82cdf8b1cf13430db43b743ad22

    Download from:

    Firedrive:
    OblyTile v0.9.9.exe

    OneDrive:
    OblyTile v0.9.9.exe

    Mega:
    OblyTile v0.9.9.exe

    Dropbox:
    OblyTile v0.9.9.exe

    App Images:
    View attachment 2877100 View attachment 2362073 View attachment 1837929 View attachment 1505786 View attachment 1404991 View attachment 1358506
    21
    Current State of OblyTile on Windows 10

    Hey all,

    To start; I'd like to thank all of you over the past 3 years for the support you've given me and the appreciation towards the work I've done. I really can't tell you how much it means and the confidence it has given me to explore what I do and continue improving.

    I am trying my best to find a way for OblyTile to work on Windows 10, however I have stumbled in to some compatibility issues and so far I haven't figured out a way around these and just wanted to make you all aware that it may not be possible for OblyTile to work on Windows 10.

    I'll keep trying.

    With that being said, any progression I make will be updated right here. Along with any news or other possible avenues for me to explore. But don't expect anything in the immediate future as MS have changed the OS from their first builds and these issues aren't small as what was possible, is no longer.

    Thank you once again,
    Argony.
    16
    Tile Set

    Here is the set of tiles i have been creating.

    This is what i call my over sized plain high contrast pack. +-70 Icons



    Windows Tile Set

    I am starting to work on a High Resolution Realism set. If you are going to use the set and you have some specific programs you wish to have done please just pm me.

    Please Thank me if you like them.
    9
    Hi, I've posted some screenshot of the evolution of my start page using OblyTile HERE, feel free to have a look if you'd like :)

    Also, I've done a model for GIMP for creating tiles (including the right dimension of the image and the correct font and size of it) and a ZIP archives with the tiles i've created.

    Some of them comes from a FANTASTIC metro UI tiles set that Devianart user ~dAKirby309 created. You can find the whole set HERE, check it out! The other ones are made by images of the games and the applications I own, searching 'em on Google Images.

    Hope this helps the community! :)
    6
    Great app! Makes Windows 8 worth while. One small suggestion though, It would be nice if it made a 30x30 image automatically from the 120x120 image (or just have it as an option).

    New version released! (v0.8.8)

    The function you request is included on this new version.

    Infos and Download on main page