[HOW TO] Extracting baseband from .tar.md5 ROM

Search This thread

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
Hi all, this is the time for knowledge sharing again~

This is a tutorial about how to extract baseband ONLY from a .tar.md5 ROM zip.

U can download the latest firmware from
http://samsung-updates.com/gt-i8150-galaxy-w/

What u need?

  1. Firmware with desired baseband
  2. Cygwin (get it from http://www.cygwin.com/)

Steps
  1. Install Cygwin and start the Cygwin terminal
  2. Put the .tar.md5 firmware into c:\baseband
  3. In cygwin, type the following command
    Code:
    cd /cygdrive/c/baseband
    tar -xvf firmware_name.tar.md5 amss.mbn
    tar -H ustar -c amss.mbn > baseband.tar


    P/s: If the firmware_name.tar.md5 is I8150DXLM3_I8150OLBLD1_I8150DXLM2_HOME.tar.md5

    Then the code will be:

    Code:
    cd /cygdrive/c/baseband
    tar -xvf I8150DXLM3_I8150OLBLD1_I8150DXLM2_HOME.tar.md5 amss.mbn
    tar -H ustar -c amss.mbn > baseband.tar

    The results u will see should be like this pic
    7214968562_88b4521fc5.jpg

After all the code typing, u will get the desired baseband.tar which can be flashed as one package by using Odin. U can flash the baseband no matter u are using custom ROM or Stock ROM.

:cool:Just a advise, baseband is region-dependent. Although it is still working worldwide, u might have the problem of not receiving sms/call if u are using a baseband from another region.
 
Last edited:

ruggero

Member
Mar 10, 2009
12
3
Sorry, but i think to get the same result in the following way and more simply.

- get the complete firmware file
- make a copy and open it with 7zip or winrar
- delete files you dont need. Keep only amss.mbn

it's correct?

One question guy, what is the file 'adsp.mbn' that is in rom?

thanks and bye!
 
  • Like
Reactions: purek7

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
Sorry, but i think to get the same result in the following way and more simply.

- get the complete firmware file
- make a copy and open it with 7zip or winrar
- delete files you dont need. Keep only amss.mbn

it's correct?

One question guy, what is the file 'adsp.mbn' that is in rom?

thanks and bye!

Yes u can do that. BUT u will get md5 checksum mismatch problem because the md5 is generated for the whole firmware file not the amss.mbn alone.

It is the baseband.
 

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
how about extracting the whole .tar.md5? what's the code for that?

thanks for the tutorial :)

EDIT: I just get the code for the whole rom. thank you :)

What do u mean extracting the whole .tar.md5? u can simply open it via winRAR/7zip. Then extract out the img.ext4 and open it via ext2explore. those .img files can be opened via DiskInternals Linux Reader.;)
 
Last edited:

kamazaki

Member
Sep 11, 2011
42
3
hi I'm a noob

where should i put the md5 file location about c? desktop? or c in a baseband folder:eek: sorry for the stupid question:eek:

---------- Post added at 07:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 PM ----------

$ tar -xvf firmware_name.tar.md5 amss.mbn
tar: firmware_name.tar.md5: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

er why I'm getting this??
 

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
where should i put the md5 file location about c? desktop? or c in a baseband folder:eek: sorry for the stupid question:eek:

---------- Post added at 07:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:21 PM ----------

$ tar -xvf firmware_name.tar.md5 amss.mbn
tar: firmware_name.tar.md5: Cannot open: No such file or directory
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

er why I'm getting this??

if u follow the code i gave, u need to put the .tar.md5 file under c:\baseband.
 

2g11

Senior Member
Nov 24, 2011
375
86
Accra
Just a advise, baseband is region-dependent. Although it is still working worldwide, u might have the problem of not receiving sms/call if u are using a baseband from another region.
I'm not sure if this is the right thread, but I want to know if flashing a baseband from a different region CAN wreck your radio permanently. I was on UK stock and flashed the latest Slovenia stock xxlm8 before flashing CM9, and since then my mobile data(3G) has been sluggish especially with the stock browser. My battery life has also lost between 8-10hrs. I have since reflashed stock XXKL3(UK), installed all apps afresh but my radio and battery haven't returned to normal. Is there a way to fix my radio?

Sent from my Wonder
 

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
thankzz... it mean the baseband will be change?? eg; i use XXLM8 not asian baseband, it will change DXLM3 if i flash DXLM3 baseband.

Yes. ONLY the baseband will be changed.

I'm not sure if this is the right thread, but I want to know if flashing a baseband from a different region CAN wreck your radio permanently. I was on UK stock and flashed the latest Slovenia stock xxlm8 before flashing CM9, and since then my mobile data(3G) has been sluggish especially with the stock browser. My battery life has also lost between 8-10hrs. I have since reflashed stock XXKL3(UK), installed all apps afresh but my radio and battery haven't returned to normal. Is there a way to fix my radio?

Sent from my Wonder

Yup. Radio does affect power consumption but 8-10hr is too much. But in fact, some CM9 users are facing fast battery drainage problem. This is mainly because of the ROM but not the baseband.
 

bengonk

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2012
76
26
Jakarta
Hi there,
Today i'm trying to change my phone baseband, from XXLM8 to DXLM3 (Indonesia).
After i follow this nice tutorial, then i've successfully produce the tar file named "baseband_DXLM3".
Just like the tutorial said, i managed to flash that tar file via odin. Then what i've got after that is my baseband has changed, not to the DXLM3 as i expected, but it change into DXLM2.
Am i miss something?? Or it just supposed to be like that??
I attached the screenshot from my "about phone" section.
And sorry for my bad english

Thanks n regards


Sent from my GT-I8150 using XDA
 

Attachments

  • uploadfromtaptalk1340122090115.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1340122090115.jpg
    12.5 KB · Views: 996

yewsiong

Senior Member
Feb 22, 2012
520
274
Johor
Hi there,
Today i'm trying to change my phone baseband, from XXLM8 to DXLM3 (Indonesia).
After i follow this nice tutorial, then i've successfully produce the tar file named "baseband_DXLM3".
Just like the tutorial said, i managed to flash that tar file via odin. Then what i've got after that is my baseband has changed, not to the DXLM3 as i expected, but it change into DXLM2.
Am i miss something?? Or it just supposed to be like that??
I attached the screenshot from my "about phone" section.
And sorry for my bad english

Thanks n regards


Sent from my GT-I8150 using XDA

Glad to know that. The baseband for DXLM3 firmware is DXLM2. There is nothing wrong.
 
  • Like
Reactions: bengonk

Dwama

Senior Member
May 27, 2012
255
52
thanks for the info, but may i know how to extract the CSC from the firmware?
 

frnt

Senior Member
May 6, 2009
113
11
Hi there,
Today i'm trying to change my phone baseband, from XXLM8 to DXLM3 (Indonesia).
After i follow this nice tutorial, then i've successfully produce the tar file named "baseband_DXLM3".
Just like the tutorial said, i managed to flash that tar file via odin. Then what i've got after that is my baseband has changed, not to the DXLM3 as i expected, but it change into DXLM2.
Am i miss something?? Or it just supposed to be like that??
I attached the screenshot from my "about phone" section.
And sorry for my bad english

Thanks n regards


Sent from my GT-I8150 using XDA
how's the performance & battery life between those baseband? can u upload the DXLM2 baseband only?

i'm using CM9 alpha 8 and still having lag in temple run.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 39
    Hi all, this is the time for knowledge sharing again~

    This is a tutorial about how to extract baseband ONLY from a .tar.md5 ROM zip.

    U can download the latest firmware from
    http://samsung-updates.com/gt-i8150-galaxy-w/

    What u need?

    1. Firmware with desired baseband
    2. Cygwin (get it from http://www.cygwin.com/)

    Steps
    1. Install Cygwin and start the Cygwin terminal
    2. Put the .tar.md5 firmware into c:\baseband
    3. In cygwin, type the following command
      Code:
      cd /cygdrive/c/baseband
      tar -xvf firmware_name.tar.md5 amss.mbn
      tar -H ustar -c amss.mbn > baseband.tar


      P/s: If the firmware_name.tar.md5 is I8150DXLM3_I8150OLBLD1_I8150DXLM2_HOME.tar.md5

      Then the code will be:

      Code:
      cd /cygdrive/c/baseband
      tar -xvf I8150DXLM3_I8150OLBLD1_I8150DXLM2_HOME.tar.md5 amss.mbn
      tar -H ustar -c amss.mbn > baseband.tar

      The results u will see should be like this pic
      7214968562_88b4521fc5.jpg

    After all the code typing, u will get the desired baseband.tar which can be flashed as one package by using Odin. U can flash the baseband no matter u are using custom ROM or Stock ROM.

    :cool:Just a advise, baseband is region-dependent. Although it is still working worldwide, u might have the problem of not receiving sms/call if u are using a baseband from another region.
    16
    Baseband packages for CWM recovery

    I extracted lots of different baseband versions from GT-I8150 stock firmwares and made update.zip packages suitable for installation with CWM recovery.

    These zip packages contain both amss.mbn (the actual baseband/modem code) and adsp.mbn; I combined them just because the SMD_MODEM_* files found in multi-file stock firmware packages also hold them together, so maybe having matching versions of these parts is important. However, for now there are really just two different versions of adsp.mbn for GT-I8150 — one can be found in the I8150ZCLL1 stock firmware, the other is used in all other firmwares.

    If you prefer using ODIN to flash baseband, you can unzip the package to extract amss.mbn, then put amss.mbn into a tar file as described in the first post of this topic, then use the tar file with ODIN.

    Compatibility Note: Currently these zip packages are not compatible with some recovery versions built for 4.4 (KitKat) ROMs (e.g., CyanogenMod 11). If you try to install the package when using an incompatible recovery version, the installation is aborted without performing any changes. See this post for the technical reason of the incompatibility.

    Baseband packages for CWM recovery grouped by region code:
    (names and download links for full firmware packages from which the baseband was taken are also included, with archive passwords if needed)

    MD5 checksums of amss.mbn and adsp.mbn included in these packages:
    AMSS:
    Code:
    df496f236d32f9acbaec4cbdf8198968  I8150DXKL1/amss.mbn
    a0c0ad934dfef101f449ad3eda661dda  I8150DXLC1/amss.mbn
    432077519c7f89d7f4c80bc8ff8828e0  I8150DXLM2/amss.mbn
    c8793f12535217c5c27464424d976ee9  I8150NELB2/amss.mbn
    e04c3d5063d08f2d2f0bf46c333989a2  I8150XXKI7/amss.mbn
    3df9dd8d1c919bf84801093112061663  I8150XXKJ1/amss.mbn
    4fb72de8af76882a37416f8f094b6c49  I8150XXKK1/amss.mbn
    fb76dd82f059409d604bbe52b64953f3  I8150XXKL3/amss.mbn
    6a85ac740570cc1f2981546cb9af56d0  I8150XXLB4/amss.mbn
    7a9cc14299f72ec5a6585d8ea289432e  I8150XXLC1/amss.mbn
    55b3787c7386358987e2ad715d796153  I8150XXLM6/amss.mbn
    b085ed4da1272a86354708e221836e8a  I8150XXLM8/amss.mbn
    f2870223af6dd57e435ec7eb9e9c0315  I8150XXLMB/amss.mbn
    5cc797a2636ce4403930d95b3bba4b37  I8150XXLMD/amss.mbn
    e91c4e52cfa40d580eed41a2d676679c  I8150XXLMG/amss.mbn
    552a25604c590cddea4bcb0dae23bbfe  I8150XXLMI/amss.mbn
    8faf99f9a7a22c04f044314b39616de4  I8150XXLMJ/amss.mbn
    e65d4e32ffa8a1b0bca95bc4f5ecc945  I8150ZCLL1/amss.mbn
    0739885a0fd10485913a36bc41922861  I8150ZSKI3/amss.mbn
    f4c53a6bc0dab601d80e79657b3a32d6  I8150ZSKJ3/amss.mbn
    83e5d9560af36234c876ba30b4a54dba  I8150ZSKK1/amss.mbn
    aa903ddc2719b2bc5c102be2cfcd997b  I8150ZSLA1/amss.mbn
    6d2fe50fa384f82845643029c74f0160  I8150ZSLD1/amss.mbn
    ADSP (grouped by MD5):
    Code:
    04d6ff41d9bae33126bc73a0f7346575  I8150ZCLL1/adsp.mbn
    
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150XXKJ1/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150XXKK1/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150XXLMB/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150XXLMD/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150ZSKI3/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150ZSLA1/adsp.mbn
    801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9  I8150ZSLD1/adsp.mbn
    
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150DXKL1/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150DXLC1/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150DXLM2/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150NELB2/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXKI7/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXKL3/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLB4/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLC1/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLM6/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLM8/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLMG/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLMI/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150XXLMJ/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150ZSKJ3/adsp.mbn
    fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4  I8150ZSKK1/adsp.mbn
    Files with MD5 801ba41cfab60c45a21e01e74c66def9 differ from files with MD5 fac12676329094163202f4cec100f5a4 only by extra 168 trailing zero bytes (apparently for 256- or 512-byte alignment), and probably may be considered identical; only the I8150ZCLL1 firmware has adsp.mbn with some real differences.
    I tested upgrading from I8150XXLM6 to I8150XXLMG and then I8150XXLMI — at least my phone works after doing this (but no immediately apparent differences were found).
    4
    could you share us this baseband? :)

    here you go...

    http://www.mediafire.com/?3w4apfa4y5wt606

    just flash it from odin, ok...
    3
    Well. The correct answer is "it depends", but most likely it will be different as Android bases upon Linux and both are multitasking OS´s that can handle multiple threads better with a dualcore CPU than with a single Core CPU. So not completely sure about a 700Mhz dualcore CPU, but a 1GHz dualcore is way smoother than our device oc´d to 2GHz.

    Let me give you a little example. I once overclocked my SGW to 2GHz by using a GB ROM with the Cow´s OC Kernel to see how much better it will perform against the stock clock. It still was laggy. Especially while the phone was reconnecting to my provider. So there was not much difference, exept in benchmarks.

    Now I´m on CM9 and it´s much smoother and much more laggfree than with GB. Recently I got an other phone for a few days to play with. It has a 1GHz dualcore CPU. And thought it still is using GB and the very laggy Touchwiz Launcher, it was way smoother than my with it´s CM9 on it.

    I didn´t notice when this phone was reconnecting, but with my I do.

    So to sum this up in my opinion it would be better this phone would use a 700MHz dualcore CPU against a 1400MHz singlecore one.

    However I´m not gaming a lot, so it´s not that bad for me, but for ppl who are gaming a lot those lags caused by reconnections can be a real funkiller.
    3
    Baseband has no effect on gaming.

    really? i think baseband has nothing to do besides the radio :confused:

    The Baseband is for radio. It is something like a configuration file with settings for your local phone providers. That´s also why you should use one that is made for your local area. In theory it should have no effect on gaming because it doesn´t change anything related to the CPU or memorymanagement and so on.

    But if a baseband is causing a lot of reconnections between your phone and your provider, they will incrase the CPU load and result in lags. Those lags will have an effect on gaiming. The games will become laggy during the recconections.

    This is of course more related to single Core CPUs like the SGW is having. Dual Core CPUs do have enough horsepower to mask such lags caused by those reconnections.