{Mod }Display, gestures & buttons *updated 2.16.13* for 2.04.605.2 710RD

Search This thread

nitsuj17

Inactive Recognized Developer
Aug 24, 2010
10,154
17,211
PA
As promised in my ukb thread, here is an independent zip flash for the mod to activate the ability to change the mapping of the "recents" button

  • changes settings.apk
  • turns verizon specific flag to on that otherwise excludes the mod
  • works on stock deodex
  • should work on odex replacing settings.apk and settings.odex with deodexed apk only (reported as working)

****this will not give you a menu on rosie homescreen....that is a different mod, though it requires this mod to work***


Download

***Feel free to include this in your rom/project, just properly credit, thanks!

For 2.04 Verizon 2/15 OTA
button_mod_2.04.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658474820
md5: 10ebdf27969415d6a90e8591b33024e0

For 1.15 Verizon Release Software:
button_mod_1.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390225151984926744
mirror: http://d-h.st/9N5
MD5sum: 525215760058b1941d5a3bd5469fccf6

***if you found the mod useful, just click the thanks button :p
 
Last edited:

nitsuj17

Inactive Recognized Developer
Aug 24, 2010
10,154
17,211
PA
Code Changes for Developers:

decompile the settings.apk (if deodexed) the changes are in the classes.dex (smali) so if you are trying to do it on the odexed version, you ll need to baksmali the settings.odex file....im not gonna hold your hand and explain that to you

navigate to:

com/android/settings/framework/flag/feature/HtcDisplayFeatureFlags.smali

find this method:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton

wholesale change the method to this:

Code:
.method public static supportRecentAppsButton(Landroid/content/Context;)Z
    .locals 1

    const/4 v0, 0x1

    return v0
.end method

(i did this differently in the 1.15 version, but this is simpler)


Screenshots

attachment.php
attachment.php

attachment.php
 

Attachments

  • device-2012-12-12-073712.jpg
    device-2012-12-12-073712.jpg
    24.2 KB · Views: 6,574
  • device-2012-12-12-073735.jpg
    device-2012-12-12-073735.jpg
    33.2 KB · Views: 6,577
  • device-2012-12-12-073747.jpg
    device-2012-12-12-073747.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 6,601
Last edited:

Apex i ITR

Senior Member
May 26, 2006
252
16
Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS
 

jonah1234

Senior Member
May 29, 2012
1,762
1,089
im outta thanks for the day , but thanks for the report :p

Tapatalk give you unlimited thanks :D

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA

---------- Post added at 04:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 04:21 PM ----------

Flashed this in recovery and now I don't have settings. When I try to select settings from the notification field it does nothing. I'm rooted on CODIS

Codis already had it.

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA
 

earthrocker

Senior Member
Dec 3, 2012
169
17
damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.
 

nitsuj17

Inactive Recognized Developer
Aug 24, 2010
10,154
17,211
PA
damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.

There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why
 
  • Like
Reactions: gepaut85

jonah1234

Senior Member
May 29, 2012
1,762
1,089
There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why

I wonder why Verizon didn't want that. Why does Verizon care so much about what we do to our device. We purchase the device so we should be allowed to use it to its full potential, right?

Sent from my Team 420 themed HTC Droid DNA
 

jinx01

Senior Member
Dec 25, 2007
120
21
Just flashed. Amazing! So nice to see fewer three dot menus around this phone. Nits, thanks a million.

Sent from my HTC6435LVW using xda app-developers app
 

usopen

Senior Member
Jun 19, 2010
408
216
So for stock rooted odex do I extract the .zip and get the .apk and replace in system/apps or just flash like I would if I were on a deodexed rom?

Never mind I got it, tried it both ways. Got it by flashing!! Thanks for the mod, works perfectly!!!!
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: -4ndr01d-

bakemcbride21

Senior Member
Sep 15, 2009
671
159
Great Mod! Worked like a charm...rooted, stock, odex with cubed 1.4.9 kernel

The genius of this is it makes the DNA an even more one handed phone for me...as it was annoying that on most apps the on screen menu button was top right, especially web browsing

With the hard button remapped to menu, the right thumb can do all!! (especially with swipe to wake/off with the 1.4.9 cubed kernel).
 

earthrocker

Senior Member
Dec 3, 2012
169
17
There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why

it's just crazy, man. i don't understand why they do this crap. typical verizon, though. just a way for them to show us that they own us lol
 

scottyh73

Senior Member
Jun 7, 2011
64
7
Well I am rooted on codis and of course now I have no settings either. Didn't think it was already in my settings. Is there any easy way to get this back?
 

nitsuj17

Inactive Recognized Developer
Aug 24, 2010
10,154
17,211
PA
Stock, rooted, odex.

Cannot get menu regardless of setting in "Settings."

Flashed mod and pushed the apk.

Any thoughts?

you will *not* get a rosie menu regardless of this mod or not

you will get it in apps however

htc removed the code for menu from Rosie...you ll need to be on a rom that has that mod
 

androg421

Senior Member
Aug 25, 2011
92
11
Albuquerque
you will *not* get a rosie menu regardless of this mod or not

you will get it in apps however

htc removed the code for menu from Rosie...you ll need to be on a rom that has that mod


Thanks for the mod and the explanation!

I seem to recall reading about the "code removed from Rosie." I should say "duh" here, but it would clearly be redundant. :laugh:
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 46
    As promised in my ukb thread, here is an independent zip flash for the mod to activate the ability to change the mapping of the "recents" button

    • changes settings.apk
    • turns verizon specific flag to on that otherwise excludes the mod
    • works on stock deodex
    • should work on odex replacing settings.apk and settings.odex with deodexed apk only (reported as working)

    ****this will not give you a menu on rosie homescreen....that is a different mod, though it requires this mod to work***


    Download

    ***Feel free to include this in your rom/project, just properly credit, thanks!

    For 2.04 Verizon 2/15 OTA
    button_mod_2.04.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390288116658474820
    md5: 10ebdf27969415d6a90e8591b33024e0

    For 1.15 Verizon Release Software:
    button_mod_1.zip: http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=9390225151984926744
    mirror: http://d-h.st/9N5
    MD5sum: 525215760058b1941d5a3bd5469fccf6

    ***if you found the mod useful, just click the thanks button :p
    15
    Code Changes for Developers:

    decompile the settings.apk (if deodexed) the changes are in the classes.dex (smali) so if you are trying to do it on the odexed version, you ll need to baksmali the settings.odex file....im not gonna hold your hand and explain that to you

    navigate to:

    com/android/settings/framework/flag/feature/HtcDisplayFeatureFlags.smali

    find this method:

    Code:
    .method public static supportRecentAppsButton

    wholesale change the method to this:

    Code:
    .method public static supportRecentAppsButton(Landroid/content/Context;)Z
        .locals 1
    
        const/4 v0, 0x1
    
        return v0
    .end method

    (i did this differently in the 1.15 version, but this is simpler)


    Screenshots

    attachment.php
    attachment.php

    attachment.php
    2
    Running stock rooted odex ... works fine! Thanks :D :good:
    2
    @.torrented did you ever get this working? I just updated to 4.4.2 and lost the menu/recents capability. I NEED to get it back! Thanks!

    its different for sense5 and sense6.....instead of just being able to change supportrecent (or whatever the exact method is) to basically a yes, you have to enable isdeviceforrecentkey (again just paraphrasing the method cuz i dont have anything in front of me atm)

    for some people, for some reason on the exact same software, the phone is detecting it is a the correct device id and enabling the option (actually could be dependent on what your CID is, for those of us who unlocked or got soff by different methods at different times)

    if i ever flash the stock update, ill post the correct changes
    1
    damnit, now i HAVE to root! so lazy though..lol.. why couldn't HTC have put this in stock?!!?? ugh.

    There's actually an exclusion made for verizon phones coded in, which is why it doesn't shoe up stock
    HTC/vzw went out of their way to remove it for us lol

    I just activated it after digging around to understand why it was happening and found why