Post Reply

Anyone build a ROM for me?

OP Chrisruns

12th May 2012, 05:23 AM   |  #21  
prbassplayer's Avatar
Recognized Developer / Retired Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter: 11,855
 
9,582 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Building a rom from source is near impossible to do on windows. Taking a Manufacture's rom and modifying it can be done on windows (mostly).

Note: If thread turns in to flame war I will lock.
13th May 2012, 02:24 PM   |  #22  
mtnlion's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag in the mountains of south east tennessee
Thanks Meter: 313
 
805 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by prbassplayer

Building a rom from source is near impossible to do on windows. Taking a Manufacture's rom and modifying it can be done on windows (mostly).

Note: If thread turns in to flame war I will lock.

Also to compile from gingerbread source you'll need to be running a 64bit os.

Sent from my MB865 using XDA
13th May 2012, 07:51 PM   |  #23  
jimbridgman's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Dallas, TX
Thanks Meter: 3,147
 
2,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by lkrasner

Nice! Glad to see you are getting into this. Get the 32 bit ubuntu for compatibility reasons. Give it a hard drive partition of 20 GB or so if you have enough room. I give 2 GB for swap space. you can do less if you have a ton of ram, or more if you only have a gig or something. linux is essential for rom building. do a search for rom kitchen and also apktool they are both essential to building roms. there is a post in the A2 dev section with a few other things and links to those if you want to check it out. From there open up your favorite custom rom with rom kitchen and build off of that if you want to make your life easier. Make sure you read what it says to do for building a simple rom for the bionic under that post I told you about. (I am to lazy to go find the link, but I am sure you can find it.) Good luck, and as always post questions here if you need help, and always remember that google is your best friend with this kind of thing!


You can actually run 64 bit ubuntu just fine, you just need to install the 32bit libs, and dev libs. I run 64 bit ubuntu as my main desktop, and I have had no issues with working on android stuff at all.

Just my .02 cents.

Jim
13th May 2012, 07:57 PM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Flag Brighton, MI
Thanks Meter: 593
 
1,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbridgman

You can actually run 64 bit ubuntu just fine, you just need to install the 32bit libs, and dev libs. I run 64 bit ubuntu as my main desktop, and I have had no issues with working on android stuff at all.

Just my .02 cents.

Jim

I know, I am not even talking strictly from an android development point of view, simply that you really wont need 64 bit with ubuntu and pretty much everything will work on 32 bit, but may be more difficult with 64 bit. you will not really see a performance increase for the most part, so there is just not much point for a less experienced user.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes