[All Carriers]Touch Wiz Themeing Questions

Search This thread

shiftr182

Senior Member
Oct 5, 2010
1,996
1,228
Boise
Google Pixel 8 Pro
Okay, I have a question. I havent themed Touchwiz since the OG Epic, and I imagine ICS is a little different. Where is the image located for the statusbar? I want to change the actual statusbar image. I know with the og epic, there were two locations that you had to edit, but not sure with the S3.
 

shane6374

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2009
2,802
1,261
Minneapolis
Okay, I have a question. I havent themed Touchwiz since the OG Epic, and I imagine ICS is a little different. Where is the image located for the statusbar? I want to change the actual statusbar image. I know with the og epic, there were two locations that you had to edit, but not sure with the S3.
It's called from xml, not an image. It's in the twstatus_bar.xml and redirects to the drawables.xml where it calls out the #ff000000 hex code. You can either change the color there, or in either place change it to @drawable/statusbar_bg then make an image with the same name an put it in the drawable-xhdpi folder.
 

Moh_Jay

Senior Member
Sep 14, 2010
1,091
191
May I ask what programs you guys use to edit the color of pngs?

"All this knowledge is giving me a raging brainer!"
 

Moh_Jay

Senior Member
Sep 14, 2010
1,091
191
Ya I use gimp just wondering

"All this knowledge is giving me a raging brainer!"
 

mrvirginia

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2010
4,403
2,699
39
Charlotte, NC
#F2000000 would be very close.

Think I might have found the location of the carrier id label for those that have it on the status bar.

tw_status_bar.xml
Code:
<com.android.systemui.statusbar.phone.CarrierLabel android:gravity="center_vertical" android:id="@id/carrierLabel" android:background="#ff000000" android:paddingLeft="4.0dip" android:paddingRight="4.0dip" android:layout_width="wrap_content" android:layout_height="fill_parent" android:singleLine="true" />

any idea what i could change this to to get rid of it?
edit: i added android:visibility="gone" and it's still there. decompiled tweaked version and my changes are intact. had a good compile, too. going to try one more thing..
okay, what appears to be happening is as soon as you do a pulldown, the carrier string shows up and sticks in the bar again so there must be another place it's being called in. going to do some more digging and see what i can find.
 

mrvirginia

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2010
4,403
2,699
39
Charlotte, NC
it's showing up in smali as well, as CarrierLabel.smali and CarrierLabel$1.smali
any idea what to do here?
 

Attachments

  • carrierlabelsmali.zip
    3.5 KB · Views: 1

shane6374

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2009
2,802
1,261
Minneapolis
it's showing up in smali as well, as CarrierLabel.smali and CarrierLabel$1.smali
any idea what to do here?

I can look at this later when I get home. Plus doing this blind since we don't have the carrier label in the status bar on the Sprint version. I'm guessing this is only on the GSM phones since your phones like to tell you who's network your on.
 

mrvirginia

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2010
4,403
2,699
39
Charlotte, NC
I can look at this later when I get home. Plus doing this blind since we don't have the carrier label in the status bar on the Sprint version. I'm guessing this is only on the GSM phones since your phones like to tell you who's network your on.

yeah, i'm not at home either. if i were i'd just grab up a Rogers or Sprint dump and decompile their SystemUI and see what's different. i'm guessing they don't even have a carrierlabel smali, though.
i appreciate your help, Shane.
 

Bizdady

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2010
2,353
569
818
I can look at this later when I get home. Plus doing this blind since we don't have the carrier label in the status bar on the Sprint version. I'm guessing this is only on the GSM phones since your phones like to tell you who's network your on.

LOL its bad enough Sprint tells us on the notification pull down but at least they took off the Lockscreen carrier :)
 

sofreshjive

Senior Member
Dec 22, 2010
124
16
LCD Density

Hi, I had changed my LCD Density from 320 to 300 and noticed only one bug. The drag down of the status bar is no longer centered. Was wondering if anyone knew how to fix it? Here is an attached picture:
 

djkinetic

Senior Member
Feb 26, 2011
3,641
1,387
Chicago
any idea what i could change this to to get rid of it?
edit: i added android:visibility="gone" and it's still there. decompiled tweaked version and my changes are intact. had a good compile, too. going to try one more thing..
okay, what appears to be happening is as soon as you do a pulldown, the carrier string shows up and sticks in the bar again so there must be another place it's being called in. going to do some more digging and see what i can find.

Check the tw_tracking xml in res/layout, I noticed if I remove the Carrier label section from that xml then the Carrier label does not display.
 

mrvirginia

Senior Member
Jun 12, 2010
4,403
2,699
39
Charlotte, NC
Check the tw_tracking xml in res/layout, I noticed if I remove the Carrier label section from that xml then the Carrier label does not display.

yes correct. but if you pull the statusbar down, it appears again on your statusbar, right?
edit: if someone could post a stock SystemUI.apk that is deodexed from either a Sprint or Rogers dump, i would greatly appreciate it :)
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 4
    Since the carriers were split up and the most posts in the original thread came from the AT&T themers, I think we should make that the main thread.
    [All Carriers]Touch Wiz Themeing Questions
    Please post in the thread linked above so we can keep all the info in one thread.

    Since themeing Samsung's TouchWiz UI is not quite as simple as AOSP, and sometimes even device specific, I thought it would be nice to have thread for the themers here to help each other, post tips and things like that so we can all learn and get some killer themes going on this thing.

    Also, (if this gets becomes a sticky) we can keep the themeing question threads to a minimum.

    For those of you that don't know me, I've been themeing Android for about a year and a half now. I started on the Epic 4G then moved over to the Nexus S 4G. I'm always willing to help others at time permits.

    Happy Themeing!

    Since the US carriers were combined into one forum, please note the carrier for you device when posting.

    When people are helping you make sure you use the "Thanks" button to show your appreciation!

    Here are some goodies that have been posted so far.

    Remove Carrier ID from status bar on AT&T rom: Thanks to mrvirginia & deserted1 Here

    Guide to remove Carrier ID / Clock from the status bar by deserted1

    How to center the clock by Swiftks

    Some more status bar mods thanks to freeza

    There are many other tips, hints, how to's, and tools in the thread so please search to help keep the thread clean.
    2
    Hmm. The only images I see on the ROM from there are the toggles. I also changed the extended power menu icons at framework-res, but I haven't had any luck finding how to edit the background color of the menus. I've been told it is in res/values/styles.xml but I don't know which line(s) to edit. There are more than 2000 lines in there.

    I was told it's the popup dark pngs in framework res drawable xhdpi. :D

    Thebe@r'$ G@L@XY
    2
    Thanks, I'll check once more.

    Popup dark top, middle, and bottom. There's 3.

    Thebe@r'$ G@L@XY
    2
    Can someone explain why I cant decompile any 4.2 systemui's? I am using apk multitool. I can decompile and recompile framework-res all day long but systemui's always error out saying that the file can not be found? Any help would be appreciated.

    You probably need to add the latest APKTOOL to your system path. There should be three files you can add there.
    2
    does anyone know what controls the color of the text in the header titles that are blocked off so i can change the hex to transparent.
    I'm thinking SecContacts.apk res/values/colors.xml but not sure which one, if anyone could help out it would be much appreciated,


    device20130330004403.png
    In the layout folder, open actionbar_custom_tab.xml

    There is a text view line...add

    android:visibility="gone"


    to that line and you should be good to go.

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317