Lets save some bricks...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Search This thread

js22

Feb 12, 2011
I've been reading up on SGS hardware and bootloaders, and I feel like there's a very good chance that there's a way (within reach? ??) to to fix a totally bricked phone.

NOTE: I'm no expert on this stuff. If I'm missing something totally stupid, please forgive me. Anyways, here goes...

The user manual for the s5pc110 chip describes the booting process; it has 3 levels. On hw reset the cpu begins executing code that lives in ROM. The ROM code loads the primary bootloader from a source selected by external pin inputs. The PBL pretty much just loads the SBL, which does the major setup and loads the kernel.

The important thing, which I haven't seen anyone discuss, is that the initial ROM code includes the ability (poorly documented, of course) to load the PBL from UART or USB.

Repeat : non-eraseable code in our phones which is executed on hw reset can load a bootloader over serial or USB into memory and then execute it.

From other threads, we know that Samsung is able to restore a bricked phone without opening it up. Why should they have all the fun?

The first step is asserting the proper pins. This is done by connecting the proper resistance betw pins 4 & 5. The 'jig' thread describes using 301k to get into download mode, but this is happening in the SBL. Many other R values are desribed in the 'fun with resistors' thread and in the fsaXXXX-i2c.c kernel source. One of them does a reboot and connects a (3.3V) UART to the D+/D- pins.

One thing that is described in the docs is that the ROM code tries UART first and then fails over to USB. Since UART is so much simpler, I'd say that's where to begin.

We already learned in that thread that connecting at 115200 baud and banging on RETURN brings up a "SBL>" prompt with lots of cool commands available. But as TheBeano pointed out, that's not much use if the SBL is toast.