[MOD] Fix Protected Apps not Showing on FroYo

Search This thread

trinode

Senior Member
Jul 13, 2007
356
2
I'm confused. Why does the froyo fingerprint not get access to protected apps?

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
 

frankic

Member
Mar 26, 2008
39
9
Ok guys i really need help here.
Im quite a noob with terminal for mac.
I followed the instuctions till adb shell reboot. The phone rebooted but was at a black screen.
I now can boot into bootloader mode using the usb cable.
What next? Can I have a noob friendly step by step guide pls? Assuming I totally do not know anything?
I think i may have screwed it up while pushing the froyo.prop.
Can I do it with the sd card or anything?
Pls help bros. THks......


Hey buddy i feel u. I just went thru this myself. What i did was copied the froyo.prop file to the adb tools folder. In terminal when you run the commands for adb you must use ./ before the commands. I did not know this. I also am a noob. This worked for me and apps are now showing up for me. I hope this helps
 

ruvanist

Member
Oct 12, 2009
27
0
Singapore
Hey buddy i feel u. I just went thru this myself. What i did was copied the froyo.prop file to the adb tools folder. In terminal when you run the commands for adb you must use ./ before the commands. I did not know this. I also am a noob. This worked for me and apps are now showing up for me. I hope this helps

Hi buddy, could you pls point me to where the adb tools folder is? I know i have to use ./, but where is this folder?

I have copied the file to /system in my sd card, and also the android-sdk-mac_86 folder, under tools.

I tried to ./adb reboot but it goes back to the black screen with the key lights still on...
 

taker888

Senior Member
Sep 20, 2007
128
8
OK, Um.. How do you install this file. I need directions. Codes is not going to do enough.
 

at314

Senior Member
Aug 24, 2008
127
0
Dubai
I have a small question. Does this Fingerprint will stop me from seeing Froyo specified apps?

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
 

shafty023

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2007
1,130
98
Austin,TX
I have a small question. Does this Fingerprint will stop me from seeing Froyo specified apps?

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App

yes, but when Google activates the Froyo market fingerprint then just switch back. What I did was copy the existing build.prop to new.build.prop and then copy the froyo.prop to /system as build.prop. So when I need to revert it's just a matter of renaming build.prop to old.build.prop and renaming new.build.prop to build.prop, rebooting, and running the check-in code in Dialer
 

at314

Senior Member
Aug 24, 2008
127
0
Dubai
What about flash player? Its made for froyo. Can u see it after this mod

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App
 

shafty023

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2007
1,130
98
Austin,TX
Guys for everyone having issues it is this simple.

ADB METHOD


UNZIP froyo.zip and inside you have froyo.prop
Code:
adb remount
adb shell mv /system/build.prop /system/new.build.prop
adb push froyo.prop /system/build.prop
adb shell reboot

Upon booting back up, open Dialer and type in the following code
Code:
*#*#2432546#*#*

Once you see a notification in the notification bar that says checkin succeeded you can now open Market and are done.


LINUX SHELL METHOD



Copy froyo.zip to /sdcard, then open a Terminal shell on your phone
Code:
su
mount -o remount,rw /system
cd /system
mv build.prop new.build.prop
unzip /sdcard/froyo.zip
mv froyo.prop build.prop
rm /sdcard/froyo.zip
reboot

Upon booting back up, open Dialer and type in the following code
Code:
*#*#2432546#*#*

Once you see a notification in the notification bar that says checkin succeeded you can now open Market and are done.
 

Attachments

  • froyo.zip
    1.3 KB · Views: 124
Last edited:

shafty023

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2007
1,130
98
Austin,TX
What about flash player? Its made for froyo. Can u see it after this mod

-------------------------------------
Sent via the XDA Tapatalk App

Yes but only if you already installed it, if you haven't already installed it you shouldn't be able to. I haven't verified but seems logical since Adobe verified against your fingerprint to allow you to see the download link in the first place.
 

stavasebff

Member
May 24, 2010
9
0
I am new to this rooting stuff. I downloaded the zip file but I am not sure what to do with the code at the top of the page. Where do I type this in and where do I put the zip file?
 

SS2006

Senior Member
Aug 23, 2008
1,641
105
London, Ontario
When froyo is more official and protected apps actually do show up
is there anything not advantageous in having the ere27 file, how do you go back eventually
 

JasjarMan

Senior Member
Oct 14, 2006
364
4
I am new to this rooting stuff. I downloaded the zip file but I am not sure what to do with the code at the top of the page. Where do I type this in and where do I put the zip file?

Just do this (if your rooted)

- Download the file
- unzip it to your desktop
- copy the file to your sd card
- rename the file to build.prop than copy it
- delete the old build.prop
- now paste it in the same system folder
- restart your phone
- dial *#*#2432546#*#*
- You see a message on top after a little while.
- when you see the mesaage your set!
 

ebernie

Member
Jun 28, 2009
23
1
Thanks to the OP. This, combined with the paid apps tab by editing vending_preferences.xml and MarketEnabler, I'm all good.

To those are are interested, do backup your original file. Just keep a copy around by another name (build.prop.bak works). Once the Froyo is release to the mass public, you can restore the original, just to be safe.
 

stavasebff

Member
May 24, 2010
9
0
newbie to rooting and I know I need to chage the fingerprint of my phone so I can see protected apps. Although I downloaded the file I am not understanding how to run it and use the code given can anyone help me?