[Q] New to custom ROMs

Search This thread

mikecico

Mar 16, 2010
I want to flash a custom ROM onto my DX, but I'm pretty new to the game. I've rooted, and have installed ROM Manager, and Titanium backup, etc, but am a bit gun-shy about going the custom ROM route, mostly due to inexperience.

I see that CMx and Liberty are the popular ROMs for DX, but I'm not sure which is the better one to go with. It seems that CMx is feature-packed, but has battery issues. Is this true? Is there a stock Android ROM for DX out there?

Also, it seems like in some cases, like with CMx, that you have to downgrade to an earlier firmware version first. Is this still the case with DX, and is it common for flashing any DX custom ROM?

Thanks,
Mike

infazzdar

Dec 20, 2010
I want to flash a custom ROM onto my DX, but I'm pretty new to the game. I've rooted, and have installed ROM Manager, and Titanium backup, etc, but am a bit gun-shy about going the custom ROM route, mostly due to inexperience.

I see that CMx and Liberty are the popular ROMs for DX, but I'm not sure which is the better one to go with. It seems that CMx is feature-packed, but has battery issues. Is this true? Is there a stock Android ROM for DX out there?

Also, it seems like in some cases, like with CMx, that you have to downgrade to an earlier firmware version first. Is this still the case with DX, and is it common for flashing any DX custom ROM?

Thanks,
Mike

Rom flashing is a completely safe and reversible process. Before you begin flashing roms though, familiarize yourself with the SBFing process.

Cm7 doesn't necessarily have battery issues, it just doesn't get as much batter life as roms such as Vortex and Liberty. Cm7 is probably as close to AOSP as you will want to get.

You DO NOT have to downgrade for Cm7. You can, but it is not recommended unless you want to run the official nightlies (which aren't as good as the unofficial nightlies).