[Think Tank] Modifying G1 to enable Navigation - THUNK!

Search This thread

tee aiy emm

Senior Member
Feb 27, 2009
203
4
Washington D.C.
Maybe you need to push directly to the /system/app folder an install from there rather than just copying to SD, since the install process would still need to copy the apk to /system/app. You have to remount as r/w in order to push to /system/app, so maybe that's what missing. I'm sure there are much more knowledgeable people to could say whether I'm way off base, just wanted to point out the difference between what I did and what you did.

Okay,
So I went ahead and just pushed Maps.apk to /system/app and it seems like it installed fine.
But I don't get a "Navigate" option after I try getting directions :/
I even checked in the About tab of Maps and it does says Platform: android:Motorola-sholes-Droid

Update: Got it to work! pushing it to /system/app doesn't work. You have to edit the packages.xml like a couple people said if you get an install error :)
 
Last edited:

bhilgeman

Senior Member
Apr 21, 2009
613
37
South Cackalacky
Here guys, all wrapped up.

Make sure you have CyanogenMod 4.2.3.1, by the way.

1) Unzip zip to desktop
2) Run Part 1.bat
3) When prompted to press any key, do so; the phone will reboot
4) When your phone is running again, run Part 2.bat
5) When prompted to press any key, the installation process is done.
6) Make sure GPS is enabled
7) Open Maps and press OK
8) Press Menu
9) Press Directions
10) Enter an end point
11) Click Go
12) Just under "Show on map", click Navigate.
13) When prompted to install the voice codec, do so.
14) Enjoy. :)

http://www.mediafire.com/?lioyoy2ydzu

I did all of this and after Part2 it said success, but I have no option to navigate.
 

kieshari

Member
Oct 1, 2009
37
0
I can't get past this step

terminal (have each file inside the zip on root of your sd)-
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cp /sdcard/build.prop /system
cp /sdcard/build.trout.prop /system
reboot


for the mount -o part it tells me permission is denied and asks if I have root. I do have root. What can I do to fix this or get permission?
 

bengrulz

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2008
196
3
I can't get past this step

terminal (have each file inside the zip on root of your sd)-
mount -o rw,remount -t yaffs2 /dev/block/mtdblock3 /system
cp /sdcard/build.prop /system
cp /sdcard/build.trout.prop /system
reboot


for the mount -o part it tells me permission is denied and asks if I have root. I do have root. What can I do to fix this or get permission?

type su and hit enter first
 

xidominicanoix

Senior Member
Oct 9, 2006
1,080
4
FL
just to be certain, if we push back our original build.prop and build.trout.prop and reboot, we should still have navigation right :D
 

oldsk00lz

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2008
233
14
Hmmm... I don't have the Navigate option either after doing a successful adb install. I didn't delete pre-existing map data, could that be a problem? It seems others didn't either.

Does anyone who still hasn't gotten it to work want to try simply pushing NavigationParameters.data to /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps/files/

Can someone post this NavigationParamters.data file???? I tried creating a blank file, but no go.

so i wonder if cyanogen will be putting this into his builds anytime soon

He doesn't put Google closed-source proprietary builds into his builds since I got warned from Google.

-oldsk00lz
(cyanogen 4.2.3.1)
 

kieshari

Member
Oct 1, 2009
37
0
ok the su worked

now for this step it is telling me in adb that there is no such file
adb-
adb remount
adb shell
rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*Maps*
rm /system/app/*Maps*

for rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
it says there's no file

should I still continue with the rest of the steps and ignore this? Because rm /system dalvik-cache line and the line after that worked
 
Last edited:

dwang

Senior Member
Nov 23, 2008
2,453
318
Can somebody whose got this working upload the contents of /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps.

I can't get it to work either on my rom on cyanogens. And I tried it on 2 different phones and I'm certain I have the build.prop* files installed correctly and the rest of the directions.

Thanks,
Dave
 

nolageek

Senior Member
Oct 24, 2007
851
60
Washington, DC
queerandloathing.com
1) Unzip zip to desktop
2) Run Part 1.bat
3) When prompted to press any key, do so; the phone will reboot
4) When your phone is running again, run Part 2.bat
5) When prompted to press any key, the installation process is done.
6) Make sure GPS is enabled
7) Open Maps and press OK
8) Press Menu
9) Press Directions
10) Enter an end point
11) Click Go
12) Just under "Show on map", click Navigate.
13) When prompted to install the voice codec, do so.
14) Enjoy.

http://www.mediafire.com/?lioyoy2ydzu

I followed these directions but I got the error:


So I push Maps.apk to /sdcard:

adb push Maps.apk /sdcard


and then went into terminal on the phone and did:

install /sdcard/Maps.apk /system/app

and it worked just fine.
 

tee aiy emm

Senior Member
Feb 27, 2009
203
4
Washington D.C.
ok the su worked

now for this step it is telling me in adb that there is no such file
adb-
adb remount
adb shell
rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*Maps*
rm /system/app/*Maps*

for rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
it says there's no file

should I still continue with the rest of the steps and ignore this? Because rm /system dalvik-cache line and the line after that worked

Yes, continue :)
You just needed to remove these files if they were there.
 

bengrulz

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2008
196
3
ok the su worked

now for this step it is telling me in adb that there is no such file
adb-
adb remount
adb shell
rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
rm /system/sd/dalvik-cache/*Maps*
rm /system/app/*Maps*

for rm /system/sd/app/*Maps*
it says there's no file

should I still continue with the rest of the steps and ignore this? Because rm /system dalvik-cache line and the line after that worked

yes, ignore it. if you're trying to remove a file that doesn't exist, it'd seem your work is already done for you :p
 

kieshari

Member
Oct 1, 2009
37
0
Ok now I get the installed failed incompatible error in adb for the final step.

Oh boy...not sure what do to now
 

oldsk00lz

Senior Member
Nov 14, 2008
233
14
Someone mentioned grabbing the Voice Codecs. Is this something Maps will prompt you for, or do you need to install separately?

I am wondering if Navigation needs this to work?

** Can someone please upload:
a) NavigationParameters.data in /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps/files/

b) a directory listing of /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps/files/

Thanks!

-oldsk00lz
(cyanogen 4.2.3.1)
 

JAguirre1231

Senior Member
Someone mentioned grabbing the Voice Codecs. Is this something Maps will prompt you for, or do you need to install separately?

I am wondering if Navigation needs this to work?

** Can someone please upload:
a) NavigationParameters.data in /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps/files/

b) a directory listing of /data/data/com.google.android.apps.maps/files/

Thanks!

-oldsk00lz
(cyanogen 4.2.3.1)

Maps will prompt you to download from the market
 

Pinesal

Senior Member
Jan 28, 2009
512
19
Hey all,

If you are still getting the "INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE" then you will need to do this extra step:

Originally Posted by olearyp

<snip>
Finally, remove the <package></package> section for com.google.android.apps.maps by editing /data/system/packages.xml.

That will clear up the INSTALL_FAILED_UPDATE_INCOMPATIBLE.
<snip>

You will need to reboot after this update to packages.xml.

After I did this step, I was able to install successfully! Not sure why only some people need to do this.

-oldsk00lz
(cyanogen 4.2.3.1)

How do we do that?
 

Top Liked Posts