Root 2.3.6 Roms

Search This thread

nicofff

Member
Apr 18, 2011
20
21
Good news everyone!
Here is the rooting method for 2.3.6 ROM's, that I decided to call PreinstalameEsta (roughly translated to PreinstallThis)

This method doesn't change any user data. The sbf that is flashed during the procedure only modifies the /preinstall partition (CG66), in which exists a security problem that I exploited to get the root access.

Files needed:

PreinstalameEsta's Files: https://github.com/downloads/nicofff/preinstalameEsta/nicofff-preinstalameEsta-v0.9-4-gce4da6b.zip

ADB, RSD lite, drivers, etc.

Procedure:

1) Unzip the PreinstalameEsta's Files
2) Plug your phone, and switch on USB debugging
3) Run the rootMM2_en.bat file (or runme_en.sh on linux)
3) When asked to flash the new sbf file, reboot the phone into bootloader mode (turn on while pressing the up arrow on the keyboard)
4) Open RSD lite, select the fixed.sbf file and flash it into the phone. (if on linux, use the sbf_flash app included)
5) When it finishes flashing, and reboots, continue executing the rootMM2.bat file.
6) After a few reboots more, the batch file will finish and the phone should be rooted.

In case you want to contribute code, translations, etc.:
https://github.com/nicofff/preinstalameEsta

For an explanation (in spanish) on how i found the root, check here:
http://nicofff.blogspot.com.ar/2012/06/historia-de-un-rooteo-y-todo-lo-que.html

Original Thread on GA: http://www.grupoandroid.com/topic/49338-root-ginger-de-personal-claro-movistar-vivo-y-tigoretail/

Happy Rooting
Nicofff

Update 05/08/2012:

I got my phone stolen last night (In San Telmo, Buenos Aires). Just in case it ends in the hands of a good soul and they happen to come here, i humbly ask them to return it.
The way to identify it: Under the battery, there is a sticker from AFIP that is slightly burnt.
Thanks
 
Last edited:

Gauzo

Member
Jul 4, 2012
5
1
Sao Paulo
Hello my friend, I made all steps and I couldn't make it :(

I have milestone 2 (brazilian version)
45.2.2710.A953.Latam.en.01 (retail R01)

I think I'll be forever with this rom ! :(

Any idea ?!?!


Thanks !!
 
  • Like
Reactions: criptoinfo

JoseBerga

Senior Member
Sep 26, 2011
237
102
Formosa
Hello my friend, I made all steps and I couldn't make it :(

I have milestone 2 (brazilian version)
45.2.2710.A953.Latam.en.01 (retail R01)

I think I'll be forever with this rom ! :(

Any idea ?!?!


Thanks !!
Try again.. All people in Argentina could do it using this tutorial.. Just look at the original thread ;)

Sorry for my english :D
 

nicofff

Member
Apr 18, 2011
20
21
Hello my friend, I made all steps and I couldn't make it :(

I have milestone 2 (brazilian version)
45.2.2710.A953.Latam.en.01 (retail R01)

I think I'll be forever with this rom ! :(

Any idea ?!?!


Thanks !!

What errors did you get?
Paste the output from the script and from RSDlite
 

Gauzo

Member
Jul 4, 2012
5
1
Sao Paulo
I flashed fixed.sbf with rsdlite, everything was fine... after that when I tried to use the root_mm2_en, it was saying that couldn't change, like other roots (doomlord v4, superoneclick,...)

What can I do ? Later I'll post my error


Thanks a lot !
 

sminatore

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2012
67
4
roma
gb vivo 2.3.6 & windows 7

when i run rootMM2-en.bat it opens a window where there is written " press a button to continue" when i press it, it start to work and appers this message :

0 KB/s (105 bytes in 1.000s)
Without closing this window, shutdown the phone
and restart it in bootloader mode (power + UP key in the keyboard)
Once inside the bootloader mode, flash the fixed.sbf from rsdlite
after it restarts, enable USB debugging and press enter to continue...
Premere un tasto per continuare . . .
Waiting for Phone
Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

than the phone switch off by itself and i had turn it on in bootloader mode, i have flashed the fixed sbf and than the it show me this message

remount failed: Operation not permitted
failed to copy 'su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
link failed Read-only file system
failed to copy 'busybox' to '/system/xbin/busybox': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
/system/xbin/busybox: not found
failed to copy 'Superuser.apk' to '/system/app/Superuser.apk': Read-only file sy
stem
/sbin/hotplug > /sys/kernel/uevent_helper
The End

is it a bug or i had make a mistake ?
 
Last edited:

Caesarivs

Senior Member
Feb 13, 2012
299
98
Medellín
is it a bug or i had make a mistake ?

It's a bug because of the translation... I've found it:

Code:
adb shell "echo 'doing something on adb, otherwise it doesn't work'"

Should change to
Code:
adb shell "echo 'doing something on adb, otherwise it does not work'"

@nicofff the ' in "don't" caused a syntax error ;)
 
Last edited:

nicofff

Member
Apr 18, 2011
20
21
gb vivo 2.3.6 & windows 7

when i run rootMM2-en.bat it opens a window where there is written " press a button to continue" when i press it, it start to work and appers this message :

0 KB/s (105 bytes in 1.000s)
Without closing this window, shutdown the phone
and restart it in bootloader mode (power + UP key in the keyboard)
Once inside the bootloader mode, flash the fixed.sbf from rsdlite
after it restarts, enable USB debugging and press enter to continue...
Premere un tasto per continuare . . .
Waiting for Phone
Syntax error: Unterminated quoted string

than the phone switch off by itself and i had turn it on in bootloader mode, i have flashed the fixed sbf and than the it show me this message

remount failed: Operation not permitted
failed to copy 'su' to '/system/bin/su': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/bin/su: No such file or directory
link failed Read-only file system
failed to copy 'busybox' to '/system/xbin/busybox': Read-only file system
Unable to chmod /system/xbin/busybox: No such file or directory
/system/xbin/busybox: not found
failed to copy 'Superuser.apk' to '/system/app/Superuser.apk': Read-only file sy
stem
/sbin/hotplug > /sys/kernel/uevent_helper
The End

is it a bug or i had make a mistake ?

do this:
adb shell "rm /data/preinstall_md5/*"
and then run the script again, but when instead of rebooting into bootloader mode and flashing, just reboot it normally
 

sminatore

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2012
67
4
roma
thx for answer

but....i'm a noob... where i should type this : adb shell "rm /data/preinstall_md5/*" ??
 
Last edited:

sminatore

Senior Member
Feb 16, 2012
67
4
roma
still doesnt work, i have downloaded the last version and than follow again the instructions written in firts post, but if i turn on the device on bootmode it give me always the same error, and if i turn on the phone normally i cant flash the sbf file ....
 

Top Liked Posts