SGH-T889 Rooting & Wifi Tether For Newbies on JB 4.3

Search This thread

jinimini1026

Mar 12, 2014
After many tries of failure from ROM flashing, reprogramming and trying to understand the alien language to me, I finally figured out how to get wifi tether working for your galaxy note 2. There are links in this thread and make sure that you follow the instruction I have for you here as well.

*** Disclosure ***
I am not an expert or a someone who can give you an advice. Directions hereafter are what worked for me and I am only sharing how I got it worked. However, it is not a definite way to get wifi tether working for T-Mobile Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (SGH-T889). Please do this for US model only.

This direction is for people who have never done rooting and programming phones, and upgraded to JB 4.3 via OTA with KNOX enabled bootloader. By the end of this direction, your GN2 will be rooted on T-Mobile stock ROM with wifi tether enabled. Please be aware that this direction will void your phone's warranty by tripping KNOX counter. So do this at your own will. Also, back up your most recent ROM and personal files just in case.

So, enough disclosure.....and here it is.

(For this part of instruction, I would like to give a big thanks to mrRobinson for providing pre-rooted stock T-Mobile ROM.)
1. Download ODIN (version does not matter, but 3.07 or 3.09 should work fine)
2. Find Tmobile ROM and download JellyBean Release 4.3 (December 2013) from this link http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1975560
3. Unzip downloaded ROM in your PC and run ODIN (Leave Auto Reboot and F. Reset Time checked in ODIN)
4. Find and click PDA or AP in ODIN and load downloaded ROM (root66_TMO_T889UVUCMK7_2.tar.md5)
5. Turn T889 off, then put the phone to download mode by pressing and holding Volume Down, Home and Power. Then plug USB cable to the phone
6. Click START to flash your phone

Once the phone reboots, your phone will be rooted. Easy so far, right?
Now the next step...