[ROM][RADIO]UCLA3 2.3.6 STOCK ROM(NOciq)/UCLA3 Modem/FEB 24

Search This thread

rjohnstone

Senior Member
Does updater-script have an error?

package_extract_file("boot/.img", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p08");

should that be /boot.img?

I'm a hack, just guessing.
It has several actually.

The boot.img is one and the other part is calling system.img, which doesn't exist.

Here is the script the file is using.
Code:
show_progress(1.000000, 0);
set_progress(0.300000);
package_extract_file("[B]boot/.img[/B]", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p08");
set_progress(0.650000);
package_extract_file("[B]/system.img[/B]", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p24");
set_progress(1.000000);
assert(package_extract_file("boot.img", "/tmp/boot.img"),
       write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8"),
       delete("/tmp/boot.img"));
My scripting skills for CWM packages suck, but I know this will never work as written.

It should look something like this...
This is the script for StockMOD install, DO NOT ATTEMPT TO USE IT FOR UCLA3. It is for reference only.
Code:
# StockM0D M0D1441
#

ui_print("");
ui_print("");
ui_print("");
ui_print("             StockM0D              ");
ui_print("            Version 1.0            ");
ui_print("                by                 ");
ui_print("              M0D1441              ");
ui_print("");
ui_print("");
ui_print("Welcome to StockM0D!");

sleep(2);

ui_print("Initializing Installation...");
ui_print("Please Stand By...");


show_progress(0.1, 0);
run_program("/sbin/mount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p24", "/system");
delete_recursive("/system");
run_program("/sbin/mount", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p25", "/data");
delete_recursive("/data");
run_program("/sbin/busybox", "mkdir", "/data/system");
set_perm(1000, 1000, 0777, "/data/system");
set_progress(0.500000);
package_extract_file("check_data_app", "/tmp/check_data_app");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/check_data_app");
run_program("/tmp/check_data_app");
mount("ext4", "EMMC", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p25", "/data");
package_extract_dir("data", "/data");
set_perm_recursive(1000, 1000, 0771, 0644, "/data/app");
package_extract_dir("system", "/system");
symlink("dumpstate", "/system/bin/dumpcrash");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/cat");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/chmod");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/chown");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/cmp");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/date");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/dd");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/df");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/dmesg");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/getevent");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/getprop");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/hd");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/id");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ifconfig");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/iftop");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/insmod");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ioctl");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ionice");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/kill");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ln");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/log");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ls");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/lsmod");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/lsof");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/mkdir");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/mount");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/mv");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/nandread");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/netstat");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/newfs_msdos");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/notify");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/printenv");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/ps");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/reboot");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/renice");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/rm");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/rmdir");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/rmmod");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/route");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/schedtop");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/sendevent");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/setconsole");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/setprop");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/sleep");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/smd");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/start");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/stop");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/sync");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/top");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/umount");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/uptime");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/vmstat");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/watchprops");
symlink("toolbox", "/system/bin/wipe");
set_perm_recursive(0, 0, 0755, 0644, "/system");
set_perm_recursive(0, 2000, 0755, 0755, "/system/etc/init.d");
set_perm_recursive(0, 2000, 0755, 0755, "/system/bin");
set_perm(0, 3003, 06755, "/system/bin/ip");
set_perm(0, 3003, 02750, "/system/bin/netcfg");
set_perm(0, 3004, 02755, "/system/bin/ping");
set_perm(0, 2000, 06750, "/system/bin/run-as");
set_perm_recursive(1002, 1002, 0755, 0440, "/system/etc/bluetooth");
set_perm(0, 0, 0755, "/system/etc/bluetooth");
set_perm(1000, 1000, 0640, "/system/etc/bluetooth/auto_pairing.conf");
set_perm(3002, 3002, 0444, "/system/etc/bluetooth/blacklist.conf");
set_perm(1002, 1002, 0440, "/system/etc/dbus.conf");
set_perm(1014, 2000, 0550, "/system/etc/dhcpcd/dhcpcd-run-hooks");
set_perm(0, 2000, 0550, "/system/etc/init.goldfish.sh");
set_perm(0, 0, 04755, "/system/bin/bash");
symlink("/system/bin/bash", "/system/bin/sh");
set_perm(0, 0, 06755, "/system/bin/su");
symlink("/system/bin/su", "/system/xbin/su");
set_perm(0, 0, 04755, "/system/xbin/nano");
set_perm(0, 0, 04755, "/system/xbin/sysrw");
set_perm(0, 0, 04755, "/system/xbin/sysro");
set_perm_recursive(0, 0, 0755, 0555, "/system/etc/ppp");
set_perm_recursive(0, 2000, 0755, 0755, "/system/xbin");
set_perm(0, 1000, 0755, "/system/xbin/busybox");
symlink("/system/xbin/busybox", "/system/bin/busybox");
package_extract_file("installbusybox", "/tmp/installbusybox");
set_perm(0, 0, 0777, "/tmp/installbusybox");
run_program("/tmp/installbusybox");
show_progress(0.1, 10);
assert(package_extract_file("boot.img", "/tmp/boot.img"),
       write_raw_image("/tmp/boot.img", "/dev/block/mmcblk0p8"),
       delete("/tmp/boot.img"));
show_progress(0.2, 0);
run_program("/sbin/umount", "/data");
run_program("/sbin/umount", "/system");
 
Last edited:

scott14719

Senior Member
Dec 24, 2011
2,221
832
I flashed the modem zip only and everything seems to work fine. I think it has a little bit better connectivity than the previous radio but not by much. LTE works fine. I have not flashed the other zip (ROM update) yet. I'm going to wait until the bugs are worked out of the install before I consider it. I was on 2.3.6 to begin with (from the first update months ago).

My phone now shows:

Android Version: 2.3.6

Baseband Version: I727UCLA3

Kernel Version: 2.6.35.11

Build number: Gingerbread.UCKK1
 

jslanger

Senior Member
Dec 26, 2007
121
11
Overland Park, KS
I was having a issue with hotspots. I unfroze tether manager with TB and wipe data then refroze now working

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium

When you say "wipe data" what do you mean? All data on the phone? Just curious, b/c I have the same issue. I'd love to have the tethering (I use it only once in a blue moon, but its nice to have) but I don't want to have to resetup the phone and reinstall apps, etc.
 

cdshepherd

Senior Member
May 16, 2011
1,903
1,140
I have to say, I think this is a prime example of how our skyrocket community is so supportive. There has been a few people that have been working and helping. And with all the input and help it'll slowly all come together I suppose. But remember noob here. Thanks everyone. Its going to be interesting to see what happens to a rom that the whole community pitches in on.

Silver, it'll be a little while before I can test. If you send me the link. InstigatorX will host for us. If someone is willing to test speak up. Preferably flash the zip coming from another rom. Wipe everything as usual.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
 

phillybits

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2009
277
40
A little insight...

I had the UCLA ROM & Modem installed from the file from yesterday.

Today, while backing up, somehow I deleted the backup so I restored a 2.3.5 ROM.

I downloaded the non-Fruity ROM (sghI727_UCLA3.zip) and the UCLA Modem (UCLA3modem.zip) and loaded ROM manager and it couldn't run the ROM due to what it perceived as spaces in the file name. It told me to go into CWM.

I went into CWM and selected the sghI727_UCLA3.zip ROM from a folder I put it in on my card (like I've always done with no problems), it installs "an update" (how it's worded), it goes very quickly, reboots and I'm back on the ROM I started on.

I've tried this a few times and it's not installing. So I'm currently back to 2.3.5 with I727UCLA3 Baseband on a Melvin-Stock-Rom. There's no inherent problem with this but I seemed to have a snappier experience on the 2.3.6 ROM.

I'm wondering if I downloaded the wrong files? The post has been updated since I last downloaded it the other day.
 
Yeah awesome. Im geting it uploaded now. Comcast is giving me crap upload speeds today but its geting there. Like cd said need a tester coming from another rom

---------- Post added at 10:35 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:34 AM ----------

I had the UCLA ROM & Modem installed from the file from yesterday.

Today, while backing up, somehow I deleted the backup so I restored a 2.3.5 ROM.

I downloaded the non-Fruity ROM (sghI727_UCLA3.zip) and the UCLA Modem (UCLA3modem.zip) and loaded ROM manager and it couldn't run the ROM due to what it perceived as spaces in the file name. It told me to go into CWM.

I went into CWM and selected the sghI727_UCLA3.zip ROM from a folder I put it in on my card (like I've always done with no problems), it installs "an update" (how it's worded), it goes very quickly, reboots and I'm back on the ROM I started on.

I've tried this a few times and it's not installing. So I'm currently back to 2.3.5 with I727UCLA3 Baseband on a Melvin-Stock-Rom. There's no inherent problem with this but I seemed to have a snappier experience on the 2.3.6 ROM.

I'm wondering if I downloaded the wrong files? The post has been updated since I last downloaded it the other day.


No you didnt its a problem with the script.its being re uploaded for testing now
 
  • Like
Reactions: phillybits

phillybits

Senior Member
Jun 14, 2009
277
40
Thanks for the snappy response. Yeah, it was working great, actually! Here in Philly, unless I'm on the outskirts, I usually can expect 1-2Mpbs and last night on the South Street Bridge, I was pulling almost 9 down. It's snappy, clean, no hiccups and then I went and deleted the backup.

No worries. I'll hang out and delete the .zip's on my sd card now. If you could, sometimes it gets a little confusing with determining which files are which. Is there a way when updating your post, to clearly identify just...straight 2.3.6 UCLA ROM & modem separate from the fruity files?

That'd be awesome. And thanks for the work. Really appreciate it.
 
yes as soon as its verified working properly. im sure cd will remove the fruitcake all togther

---------- Post added at 10:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:46 AM ----------

I wouldn't think you'd be in that kind of danger but I honestly can't say. You know how it goes. :)

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium



yeah its just for saftey.. really up to you. nandroid im sure is more then sufficent
 
  • Like
Reactions: phillybits

DoctorQMM

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2011
1,105
658
No you didnt its a problem with the script.its being re uploaded for testing now


Compadres... I downloaded/flashed these 2 files (yesterday):
* fcm-15-18-2012-02-21.zip
* UCLA3modem.zip

And everything seemed to have worked. Are you saying that the script in the "fcm" file did not load the new boot.img? My Kernel is still "2.6.35.11" (and kernel info references "2.6.35.11-I727UCKJ2-CL626051 Sat Oct 15 2011"). Will the new script allow for a new boot.img?
 
yes as soon as its verified working properly. im sure cd will remove the fruitcake all togther

---------- Post added at 10:47 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:46 AM ----------





yeah its just for saftey.. really up to you. nandroid im sure is more then sufficent

cool then im in for testing. im around for the next 4 hours or so.
 

jslanger

Senior Member
Dec 26, 2007
121
11
Overland Park, KS
I too could test it out. I actually have my laptop with me at work, so I can flash away. I'm a little paranoid about breaking my phone, since I'm still learning about all this stuff still, but so far the last 2 iterations of the ROM have been fine, and seem to work ok. I will admit that my abilities are still limited to flashing via CWM, but I have access to ODIN, and I'd need just a little instruction on how to proceed.

Let me know if you need a tester...I'll keep an eye out on this thread as well.
 
Compadres... I downloaded/flashed these 2 files (yesterday):
* fcm-15-18-2012-02-21.zip
* UCLA3modem.zip

And everything seemed to have worked. Are you saying that the script in the "fcm" file did not load the new boot.img? My Kernel is still "2.6.35.11" (and kernel info references "2.6.35.11-I727UCKJ2-CL626051 Sat Oct 15 2011"). Will the new script allow for a new boot.img?

Yes sir. Not using the script from the fruitcake.

---------- Post added at 11:42 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:35 AM ----------

I too could test it out. I actually have my laptop with me at work, so I can flash away. I'm a little paranoid about breaking my phone, since I'm still learning about all this stuff still, but so far the last 2 iterations of the ROM have been fine, and seem to work ok. I will admit that my abilities are still limited to flashing via CWM, but I have access to ODIN, and I'd need just a little instruction on how to proceed.

Let me know if you need a tester...I'll keep an eye out on this thread as well.

Check your pm's
 

DoctorQMM

Senior Member
Feb 24, 2011
1,105
658
Yes sir. Not using the script from the fruitcake.

Thanks Silver. Can the new kernel boot.img be packaged separately in a flashable zip so we can just add kernel instead of doing a complete wipe and setup again? Or is it bezt to flash rom, kernel, and modem again?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using XDA App
 

bacheezy

Senior Member
Dec 17, 2010
244
37
Lake Jackson
Currently on successful ota stock ROM if that helps at all. I'm at home near computer if needed I can test.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 49
    ok folks we finally made it. silver has been busting his butt for the past three days, mucho thanks to him.:D



    STOCK ZIPALIGNED UCLA3 2.3.6 ROM---https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7693548_2736667_990900
    Rom mirror---http://hotfile.com/dl/147732791/c4551c4/UCLA3_2.3.6_rom.zip.html
    Wipe data/factory reset
    Wipe cache/dalvik
    Format /system(under mounts and storage in cwm)
    Flash rom
    Reboot
    Enjoy

    Carrier IQ is not present in the stock rom:p
    2.3.6 UCLA3 Stock kernal included in zip





    STOCK UCLA3 MODEM --- http://www.mediafire.com/?h7bnu7kvpw7dqtg
    Modem mirror https://www.sugarsync.com/pf/D7693548_2736667_990795
    Wipe cache partition
    Wipe dalvik cache
    Reboot
    Enjoy




    NOTE: Many people have already experienced better signal/data speeds with the stock 2.3.6 UCLA3 Modem/kernal combo. Personally my data speeds went from 3-4mbs up to 8-9mbs after flashing UCLA3 Modem/Kernal combo. The more feedback on this the better.

    Good Luck! Look forward to hearing your feedback












    Credit goes to
    Silver03wrx-for all the help
    Pirate Ghost--for clearing up adb commands
    Superfire71--for dumping the necessary files
    GeezyFLadies--for testing
    Gr8danes--testing new zip
    InstigatorX--file mirror's
    Hit their thanks button when you see these fine folks
    6
    uploading rom again with fixed script.......

    3
    Thanks zip worked great

    Just in case others can benefit - confirmed retained root after flashing modem and zip

    nandroid and titanium BU in case:
    STARTED ON STOCK ROOTED Skyrocket 2.3.5 AT&T (with CWM recovery)
    1. wiped cache and dalvik
    2.flashed modem zip
    3. rebooted checked that it worked without issues
    4. wiped cache /dalvik
    5. flashed fruitcake zip
    6. rebooted
    7. all stuck - all update -still have root and all data and all

    Thanks!!! modem for me made big difference in Chicago subs - used to get 3-5 mb on LTE out here and now 8-10mb with pretty solid connectivity cant wait to go into the city to see the ridiculous LTE speeds.

    :)
    3
    My brotha from anotha! Good work mah man!

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I727 using xda premium
    3
    Make sure you haven't updated Java Jdk beyond 6_30

    Java 7 is what was breaking redsonja.

    Just saying.......
    Took a while to see that.