Idea for alternative charger connector (updated 3/7)

Search This thread

funnycreature

There have been a lot of complaints about the flimsy connector for the Xoom charger. I also think that it is a very poor design at most. The metal pin is too long, the plastic part is poking out too much etc.

I am no engineer and also bad at drawing but I attached something that I think might work. If anyone feels like they could produce a prototype that would be awesome!

The small magnet might or might not work. If you look at the area where all the connectors are you will see a small metal plate that could probably be used to anchor the connector magnetically.

Any feedback is appreciated (even just to say that I am full of sh!t!)

UPDATE: I added an alternative design using the two metal connectors for charging and a silicone plug to keep the connectors in place. A magnet will give additional stability.

Attachments

• Xoom_connector.jpg
    Xoom_connector.jpg
    28 KB · Views: 1,976
Last edited:

keitht

Dec 21, 2005
Delray Beach, FL
There have been a lot of complaints about the flimsy connector for the Xoom charger. I also think that it is a very poor design at most. The metal pin is too long, the plastic part is poking out too much etc.

I am no engineer and also bad at drawing but I attached something that I think might work. If anyone feels like they could produce a prototype that would be awesome!

The small magnet might or might not work. If you look at the area where all the connectors are you will see a small metal plate that could probably be used to anchor the connector magnetically.

It charges my Xoom very fast. It is still working and has not caused me any issues. If it breaks, I will come back here to *****.

RonnieFoxxx

Sep 18, 2009
Los Angeles