Videotron/Mobilicity Panache thread

Search This thread

imsuperduper

Member
Jan 14, 2011
32
1
Hi,

I read through the guide to root the phone and flash a new rom, and was wondering if there is a step in there that does a backup of the current rom (in case I need to revert to revert back to mobilicity splash screen and rom). I didn't see it in the instructions anywhere, but I'm also a newb, so I might have read it and not realized it. If someone could point me to where in the instructions it says it, or explain how/when I can do a backup before flashing the froyo onto my phone.

Thanks,
Andy
 

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
Hi Andy,

To restore to Mobilicity stock ROM, there is a RUU file you can use. It won't return you to S-ON however.

I don't know what is the safest way to revert to S-ON plus Mobilicity firmware. I don't want to be doing any flashing I don't need to do, since I have the bad EMMC chip.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk
 

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
Extra tip: if you want to change that horrid T-Mobile splash screen back to the understated HTC splash screen, I've extracted the splash1.nb0 file from the Mobilicity ROM (this does NOT include the even more horrid Mobilicity startup sound).

I flashed it over ADB shell based on what was given in this thread:
http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=866474

Code:
dd if=/mnt/sdcard/mobisplash1.nb0 of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p19

Rebooted and presto, the startup screen is now just plain HTC again.
 

Attachments

  • mobisplash1.zip
    2.3 KB · Views: 31

_android_

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2011
217
38
Toronto
cmslist, do you have a complete list of mmc partition numbers and their corresponding names?

So far, I have like

7 = radio
18 = hboot
19 = splash (thanks)
21 = recovery
25 = system
26 = data
27 = cache

I have dd backup images for partition 2 thru 28. I am thinking of restoring the necessary backup images to restore. Is that possible or advisable?

Edit: The backups were made after I gained temp-root.
 
Last edited:

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
cmslist, do you have a complete list of mmc partition numbers and their corresponding names?

So far, I have like

7 = radio
18 = hboot
19 = splash (thanks)
21 = recovery
25 = system
26 = data
27 = cache

I have dd backup images for partition 2 thru 28. I am thinking of restoring the necessary backup images to restore. Is that possible or advisable?

Edit: The backups were made after I gained temp-root.

Interesting idea. Really, all you need is to dd the data partition. Everything else can be restored from the RUU. So:
- Take the dd backup of data.img
- Go through the entire S-OFF procedure
- Install the exact RUU of the Panache firmware you started with
- Install the engineering bootloader and Clockwork recovery using the custom PD15IMG.ZIP
- Boot into Clockwork recovery, and adb into the phone from there, and restore data.img using dd.
- Also from Clockwork, install the superuser zip that roots your stock ROM.

Don't attempt to restore any other partitions with dd. Too risky. But keep the backups that Gfree makes in a safe place.

There's still a chance your data backup will be corrupted, as it's taken at the same time as data is being modified during runtime.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

speed4134

Member
Nov 20, 2010
43
4
hi guys, i just have a quick questiob for you.
I rooted my phone thanks to your instructions, but it seems i only get 4g when i use the videotron rom. I tried a few different roms ( presently on virtuous, loving it) but my phone displays 3g on every rom i tried.
Is that normal?
is it only realy using videotron's older 3g network, or is it just the skins that dont display 4g properly?
thanks for any input
 

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
hi guys, i just have a quick questiob for you.
I rooted my phone thanks to your instructions, but it seems i only get 4g when i use the videotron rom. I tried a few different roms ( presently on virtuous, loving it) but my phone displays 3g on every rom i tried.
Is that normal?
is it only realy using videotron's older 3g network, or is it just the skins that dont display 4g properly?
thanks for any input

Videotron has no "older 3G network" than the one they launched. It's all marketing. They have a high-speed 3G network which they have chosen to brand as "4G".

Depending on how a ROM is designed/marketed/branded, it may display HSPA as "3G", or "H", or "H+", or "4G". The Android OS can tell the difference between lower-speed UMTS 3G mode and HSPA mode, but it doesn't actually seem to
be able to display the difference between the various revisions of HSPA (the higher ones being what T-Mobile, AT&T, Robelus, Videotron etc would like to call "4G").
 

_android_

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2011
217
38
Toronto
Interesting idea. Really, all you need is to dd the data partition. Everything else can be restored from the RUU. So:
- Take the dd backup of data.img
- Go through the entire S-OFF procedure
- Install the exact RUU of the Panache firmware you started with
- Install the engineering bootloader and Clockwork recovery using the custom PD15IMG.ZIP
- Boot into Clockwork recovery, and adb into the phone from there, and restore data.img using dd.
- Also from Clockwork, install the superuser zip that roots your stock ROM.

Don't attempt to restore any other partitions with dd. Too risky. But keep the backups that Gfree makes in a safe place.

There's still a chance your data backup will be corrupted, as it's taken at the same time as data is being modified during runtime.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk
I am more interested in restoring original system partition. Would it work with the rooted hboot/radio/boot/recovery partitions?

Also, any idea which is the factory reset partition? If there was one, it is possibly still intact?
 

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
The RUU contains EXACTLY the firmware that ships with the Mobilicity phone. The system.img inside the RUU is identical. I double checked the version numbers before flash. You have no need to back it up yourself.

There is no such thing as a factory reset partition. When you "factory reset" Android on-device, it just wipes data and cache. Flashing a firmware overwrites what it shipped with.

The stock firmware works just fine with engineering bootloader, custom recovery and root.

Sent from my HTC Glacier using Tapatalk
 

AggNA

Member
Jul 28, 2011
38
5
FL
cmslist, do you have a complete list of mmc partition numbers and their corresponding names?

So far, I have like

7 = radio
18 = hboot
19 = splash (thanks)
21 = recovery
25 = system
26 = data
27 = cache

I have dd backup images for partition 2 thru 28. I am thinking of restoring the necessary backup images to restore. Is that possible or advisable?

Edit: The backups were made after I gained temp-root.

Do a search on my old name you will find our PD15000 partition table as I posted it since not a lot of extended research has been done MT4G since its similar to G2. When I go home ill PM you it.

Sent from my HTC Glacier
 

AggNA

Member
Jul 28, 2011
38
5
FL
http://pastebin.com/AWEX0UzT

PD1510000 (HTC Glacier|T-mobile myTouch 4G)
eMMC capacity: 2.17GiB SanDisk SEM04G
2.17GiB = 2332033024 Bytes (4554752sectors)

eMMc partitions: mmcblk0 (extended)

01 - mmcblk0p1 - dbl "device boot loader" (raw)
02 - mmcblk0p2 - oemsbl "radio bootloader" (raw)
03 - mmcblk0p3 - osbl "operating system boot loader" (raw)
04 - mmcblk0p4 - rex/amss "real time executive/advanced mobile subscriber software" (elf)
05 - mmcblk0p5 - modem dsp "modem digital signal processing" (raw)
06 - mmcblk0p6 - unknown (raw)
07 - mmcblk0p7 - unknown (raw)
08 - mmcblk0p8 - unknown (raw)
09 - mmcblk0p9 - unknown (raw)
10 - mmcblk0p10 - unknown (raw)
11 - mmcblk0p11 - unknown (raw)
12 - mmcblk0p12 - unknown (raw)
13 - mmcblk0p13 - unknown (efs)
14 - mmcblk0p14 - unknown (efs)
15 - mmcblk0p15 - unknown (raw)
16 - mmcblk0p16 - unknown (raw)
17 - mmcblk0p17 - misc (raw)
18 - mmcblk0p18 - hboot "bootloader" (raw)
19 - mmcblk0p19 - sp1 "splash1" (raw)
20 - mmcblk0p20 - wifi (raw)
21 - mmcblk0p21 - recovery (raw)
22 - mmcblk0p22 - boot (raw)
23 - mmcblk0p23 - mfg "mfg diag" (raw)
24 - mmcblk0p24 - sp2 "splash2" (raw)
25 - mmcblk0p25 - system (ext)
26 - mmcblk0p26 - data "userdata" (ext)
27 - mmcblk0p27 - cache (ext)
28 - mmcblk0p28 - devlog (ext)
29 - mmcblk0p29 - pdata (raw)
 
  • Like
Reactions: _android_

_android_

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2011
217
38
Toronto
The RUU contains EXACTLY the firmware that ships with the Mobilicity phone. The system.img inside the RUU is identical. I double checked the version numbers before flash. You have no need to back it up yourself.
Does the Panache RUU contains more than just the system partition? eg. it includes boot / hboot / radio / recovery?
 

_android_

Senior Member
Jan 15, 2011
217
38
Toronto
http://pastebin.com/AWEX0UzT

PD1510000 (HTC Glacier|T-mobile myTouch 4G)
eMMC capacity: 2.17GiB SanDisk SEM04G
2.17GiB = 2332033024 Bytes (4554752sectors)

eMMc partitions: mmcblk0 (extended)

01 - mmcblk0p1 - dbl "device boot loader" (raw)
02 - mmcblk0p2 - oemsbl "radio bootloader" (raw)
03 - mmcblk0p3 - osbl "operating system boot loader" (raw)
04 - mmcblk0p4 - rex/amss "real time executive/advanced mobile subscriber software" (elf)
05 - mmcblk0p5 - modem dsp "modem digital signal processing" (raw)
06 - mmcblk0p6 - unknown (raw)
07 - mmcblk0p7 - unknown (raw)
08 - mmcblk0p8 - unknown (raw)
09 - mmcblk0p9 - unknown (raw)
10 - mmcblk0p10 - unknown (raw)
11 - mmcblk0p11 - unknown (raw)
12 - mmcblk0p12 - unknown (raw)
13 - mmcblk0p13 - unknown (efs)
14 - mmcblk0p14 - unknown (efs)
15 - mmcblk0p15 - unknown (raw)
16 - mmcblk0p16 - unknown (raw)
17 - mmcblk0p17 - misc (raw)
18 - mmcblk0p18 - hboot "bootloader" (raw)
19 - mmcblk0p19 - sp1 "splash1" (raw)
20 - mmcblk0p20 - wifi (raw)
21 - mmcblk0p21 - recovery (raw)
22 - mmcblk0p22 - boot (raw)
23 - mmcblk0p23 - mfg "mfg diag" (raw)
24 - mmcblk0p24 - sp2 "splash2" (raw)
25 - mmcblk0p25 - system (ext)
26 - mmcblk0p26 - data "userdata" (ext)
27 - mmcblk0p27 - cache (ext)
28 - mmcblk0p28 - devlog (ext)
29 - mmcblk0p29 - pdata (raw)

Thanks. Partition 7 should be "radio". Not sure why I didn't have partition 1 and 29 backed up.

I'll probably try restoring just the system partition, wipe data/cache and see how it goes.
 

erdelyt

Member
May 2, 2011
30
4
I'm running the Panache RUU rooted on T-mobile because I hate MySense. Is there a way to change the reported model so the T-Mobile MyAccount app will work?

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium
 

cmstlist

Senior Member
Jan 11, 2010
3,349
522
Toronto
Google Pixel 4a
I'm running the Panache RUU rooted on T-mobile because I hate MySense. Is there a way to change the reported model so the T-Mobile MyAccount app will work?

Sent from my HTC Glacier using xda premium

You could try stealing the build.prop from the Gingerbread MySense RUU, and replacing the one on the Panache. I can't promise it won't break anything, but it's worth a shot.
 
  • Like
Reactions: erdelyt

Jack_R1

Senior Member
Aug 9, 2009
4,362
964
Or you could modify the line that reports the phone model to the one from MT4G original build.prop.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 30
    Step-by-step guide to root the Videotron HTC Panache

    REVISIONS:
    • 11.12.18 - Section 1.b. revised to allow for changes in the Android SDK Guide.
    • 11.12.06 - Section 4.d. revised to remove reference to "Paragraph B" which was leading to errors.
    • 11.08.27 - ADB section (1.) revised to explain USB debugging mode and USB Connected.
    • 11.08.25 - Gold Card section (2.) revised to explain what a Gold Card is and to transfer PD15IMG.zip.

    Here's the usual.... Do this at your own risk. This guide describes to the best of my memory what I did to MY phone - YOURS may be different ! You are using this guide at your own risk and I am not responsible for any damage that may occur from you modifying your phone.

    This guide would not have been possible without the help of these people: special thanks to Jack_R1 who has spent substantial time and efforts to help me understand and to walk me through the process, cmstlist, olivil and mark manning, The writers of the guides I refer to must also be mentioned: CyanogenMod Wiki, Setherio, nelify, halfcalf and TrueBlue_Drew. Many thanks to all of you!

    Please be forgiving with my English as it is not my mother tongue.

    Newer/upgraded (Gingerbread) HTC MyTouch 4G and the HTC Panache comes with a ROM that is not compatible with the gfree tool. Simply put, it means that these ROMs cannot be perm-rooted with gfree, so we must change the ROM to an older HTC MyTouch 4G ROM in order to allow the root to "stick". It's what makes the process so complicated.

    The good news is that it can be done and that it is not that difficult. You just have to follow the guide; read everything before starting - make sure you understand - don't skip any steps and do exactly as written.

    It is important to understand that, in addition to permanent root, changes will be made to your phone:
    • The original ROM that came with your HTC Panache will be replaced with a ROM of your choice. It may be possible to flash back the original ROM of your phone but I have not done it and it is not explained here. The original Videotron Panache ROM is included in the list of the available ROMs.

    • Your carrier splash screen that comes up when you boot up your phone will be replaced by the T-Mobile one. This splash screen can be changed easily and the procedure is explained below.

    Here is the 8 step procedure to root your HTC Panache:

    1. Install ADB

    2. Make a Gold Card

    3. Note the APN parameters of your phone

    4. Get temporary root and downgrade to the Stock Froyo ROM

    5. Root with S-OFF, the Engineering HBoot & the ClockworkMod Recovery

    6. Install the ROM of your choice

    7. Set the APN parameters

    8. Remove the T-Mobile splash screen or install your own (optional)

    Now, let's do it !



    1. Install ADB

      Follow this guide: How to install the Android SDK
      http://wiki.cyanogenmod.com/wiki/Howto:_Install_the_Android_SDK

      Notes:
      • You don't need Eclipse.

      • Unfortunately, this guide seems to change from time to time as do the folder names. You will need to adjust to it. Download the SDK and install it. When you get to the Android SDK Manager window, you only need the Tools part - so select the Tools box and install it.

        What you want to achieve is this folder structure:
        android-sdk-windows (folder)
        ...platform tools (and other folders)
        ......adb.exe (and other files)

        The folder android-sdk-window may have another name: android-sdk_r12-windows or android-sdk or some other name. I suggest you rename it to android-sdk-windows as soon as it is created because some ADB commands refer to this folder.

      • ADB commands are executed from the Command Prompt (DOS Window). To access the Command Prompt in Windows, click the Start menu button, type cmd and press enter.

      • When using ADB, your phone must have USB debugging mode enabled and must be USB connected.
        1. You enable USB debugging by using the Settings App on your phone:
          Go to Settings / Applications / Development / USB debugging and check that option. Keep it on at all times through this guide.

        2. When you connect the USB cable from your PC to the phone, a screen with the green Android and USB Connected will appear on your phone. The default state is Charging Only and this is what we want. Do not push the button Turn on USB storage because ADB will not work in that mode..

    2. Make a Gold Card using SimpleGoldCard

      A GoldCard is a special SD card which, when inserted into your device, allows you to flash RUU files with a different CID to your own device - in other words, it allows you to flash files that were not made for your phone.

      If you don't have a spare microSD card, you can purchase an inexpensive 4GB card. Even better, you can purchase a bigger and faster one and use the one that came with your phone as the Gold Card.
      • Follow this guide: Make a Gold Card using SimpleGoldCard
        http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=970157
        IMPORTANT ! Make sure you select the "MMC2 (HTC Inspire) option.

      • Now, we need to download he file PD15IMG.zip and transfer it to the Gold Card:
        1. Get the file here:
          http://www.megaupload.com/?d=V4NAODYZ
          and put it in the c:\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools folder.

        2. The Gold Card should be in your phone. Make sure you have checked the USB Debugging option in Settings/Applications/Development.

        3. We will now push PD15IMG.zip to the Gold Card (later, we will also transfer it to the regular SD card). Open a Command prompt window if it is not already done and execute the following commands:

          cd \android-sdk-windows\platform-tools
          adb push PD15IMG.zip /sdcard/PD15IMG.zip


          Give it time to transfer the file. The command should answer:
          xxxx KB/s (327263801 bytes in xxx.xxxs)
      • Replace the Gold Card with the regular SD Card.

    3. Note the APN parameters of your phone
      • On your phone, do:
        Settings / Wireless & networks / Mobile networks / Access Point Names

      • There should be a line with the name of your carrier: select it

      • There are several parameters, Name, APN, Proxy, etc. Copy their names and values and keep for future reference. Many are blank - that's OK.

    4. Get temp-root and downgrade to the Stock Froyo ROM

      Follow this guide: Downgrade G2 (2.3.3) & DZ (2.3.3) & mT4g (2.3.4) w/ S-ON to Stock Froyo
      http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=1178912

      Notes:
      • Execute with your regular SD card in the phone, not the Gold Card.


        [*]Make sure Applications / Development / USB debugging is checked.


        [*]Always choose the option For MyTouch 4G Users.


        [*]Follow the guide until you reach the Downgrading section. Execute the Manual Downgrade procedure. You are now done with this Get temp-root and downgrade to the Stock Froyo ROM guide.


        [*]BE VERY CAREFUL HERE !


        [*]YOU ARE NOW DONE WITH THE TEMPROOT AND DOWNGRADE GUIDE.

        Follow the steps below:

        1. Your phone should now reboot into the bootloader. The first option should say BOOTLOADER highlighted in blue, select that by pressing the power button.

        2. It will now scan the sdcard for PD15IMG.zip, load it and check it. Be patient, it takes a while to load and check. It will report CID Incorrect ! Update failed ! Don't worry, that is expected. In fact, this step doesn't work because your phone is a HTC Panache and not a HTC MyTouch 4G. That's OK and this step must be executed.

        3. Turn off the phone by removing the battery, install the Gold Card and reboot in the bootloader by pushing Volume Down and Power simultaneously (alternatively - pressing Volume Down and keeping it pressed, pressing Power button, and releasing Volume Down once the bootloader screen shows up).

        4. The phone will load PD15IMG.zip, check it and ask if you want to flash using Volume Up. Do that and it will come back to the bootloader rather quickly, automatically load PD15IMG.zip a second time, check it, and start uploading without asking. Let it do its thing for a few minutes; it will do a long series of unzipping and updating. You will finally get the message that the upload is complete.

        5. Power down and reboot. You will get the T-Mobile splash screen and then the Zebra background image. Congradulations ! You have downgraded successfully.

        [*]Remove the Gold Card from your phone and install your regular SD card.


    5. Root with S-OFF, the Engineering HBoot & the ClockworkMod Recovery

    6. Install the ROM of your choice

    7. Set APN parameters

      Most likely, as it is now, your phone can't access mobile internet. You need to set the APN parameters:
      • On your phone, do:
        Settings / Wireless & networks / Mobile networks / Access Point Names
        This page is probably empty.

      • Click the Menu button and select New APN.

      • Enter the parameters from the values you have saved in step 3 above.


    8. Remove the T-Mobile splash screen or install your own

      Use this tool: EZ Splash Screen Flasher and Image Converter
      http://xdaforums.com/showthread.php?t=956434

      Make your own splash screen or use an already made one and flash it to your phone. Enjoy !

    Job done... Enjoy !!!


    If this guide has been helpful, please click the Thanks button at the bottom right of this post. This is how I get paid...

    2
    I don't own an MT4G or Panache, but I started this thread for the inevitable arrival of Mobilicity & Videotron customers who would like to mod an HTC Panache. Once the MyTouch 4G Gingerbread update came out, it was found that the Fre3vo root exploit (originally found for the Sensation/Evo 3D) will also temp-root this phone. To get S-OFF you have to roll back to an old Froyo MT4G firmware - from there you can roll back forward to anything you want.

    Differences between MT4G Gingerbread and Panache for the purpose of this thread:
    - Panache requires a gold card because the ROM you roll back to comes from a different carrier.
    - Your preferences in terms of what ROM to put on your phone after S-OFF may be different from T-Mobile customers - ergo, discuss here if this is an issue.

    Thanks to jgobeil for posting the guide in post #98:
    http://xdaforums.com/showpost.php?p=16858971&postcount=98

    Jgobeil said:
    Hi,

    Now that the rooting guide for the Panache is completed and posted, may I suggest that you update the first post of the Panache thread to refer newcomers to this thread to post #98 where the guide is.

    This will make it easy for these people and maybe avoid costly mistakes.

    Best regards and thanks for your help.
    2
    That's hilarious - that's the SAME reason that motivated me to do this. :D



    Ok, if I were to update the guide, it would be this:

    In section 2, "Make a Gold Card using SimpleGoldCard", as a new last step, it would be
    - "Copy PD15IMG.zip to the root of the sdcard (via Windows or whatever machine you're using, no need to "push" it via adb or anything like that"

    With that step done, section 4 "Get temp-root and downgrade to the Stock Froyo ROM" step f - 4 will find the PD15IMG.zip and you're on your way. So put the Goldcard in as described in f - 3.

    The next stumbling block in running root_psn referred to in the step 5 guide.
    - Before running root_psn, as root (# sign), do

    cp /data/local/tmp/Superuser.apk /sdcard/Superuser.apk
    cp /data/local/tmp/su /sdcard/su

    If you get a permission error doing those, make sure to double check that the USB connection is set to "charge only", not "disk". Froyo defaulted to "disk" for me.

    Now running root_psn should run and not return any errors (it does not print any message if it ran ok).

    After that, continue with the guide - if your md5 values check out properly, you're done with the downgrade and you can reboot and install a new ROM !

    Hope that helps!

    The guide has been revised. As I wrote earlier, if you replace the Gold Card with your regular SD card after getting temp-root and downgrading as specified in the guide (Step 4.g), su and Superuser.apk should be available.
    1
    I don't own an MT4G or Panache, but I thought I'd start this thread for the inevitable arrival of Mobilicity & Videotron customers who would like to mod an HTC Panache.

    Since it has launched with Gingerbread, I am guessing the initial root steps will be a little different. If any MT4G devs have any idea what Panache users should try differently, post it here.

    Dude then why the hell did you start this if you don't own one? Stick to your own forum!

    Sent from my HTC Glacier using XDA Premium App
    1
    For USB-OTG to work you need a compatible kernel and a phone that can give power via the USB port.
    Some phones like the Nexus 4 require some kind of "Y cord" to power the USB stick wile it's connected to the phone.
    It's possible that the Glacier don't have this power requirement and since the Y Cord is rare, maybe no one tried to develop the kernel.

    Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4 Beta