New AOSP Branch Details Potential Build System Upgrades?

While there are frequent unexplained changes and pushes to Google’s AOSP … more

Root Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet Without Losing DRM Keys

XDA Junior MemberCubicU07compiled this guide to root your Xperia Z3 Compact Tablet … more

Android Update Adoption Explained

This article explains how Android differs from iOS on update adoption and how it can affect … more

Xiaomi’s Maps Cause Internet Drama

At the launch of Xiaomi’s latest Mi4 phone in Delhi, Xiaomi CEO Hugo Barra presented a map of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S-Voice APK leak?

OP xplus93

4th May 2012, 08:34 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Anybody know if there's a leak of the S-Voice app yet? Also any idea if when we do get it on our phones it will work?
4th May 2012, 02:37 PM   |  #2  
jbadboy2007's Avatar
Senior Member
Lansing MI
Thanks Meter: 257
 
1,896 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
I'm guessing it will only work with the newer twiz framework but could just be an app we could get.
4th May 2012, 02:39 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
It just got announced yesterday...
4th May 2012, 06:32 PM   |  #4  
rocket321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 490
 
757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbadboy2007

I'm guessing it will only work with the newer twiz framework but could just be an app we could get.

This is my guess as well. The challanges would be:
  • Need ICS
  • Probably need TouchWiz framework (ICS version)
  • Very likely not enough RAM in Epic to run ICS + TW + voice app

CM9 dev's are working hard to free up 1-2mb RAM at a time, throwing TW on there would likely bring things to a standstill. I think we are reaching the limit of what our phone can handle with AOSP ICS/CM9.
8th May 2012, 09:39 PM   |  #5  
Ceelos09's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,008 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Wouldn't we be able to just modify the S-Voice.apk to make it independent from the TW framework? Kinda like what Tortel did with the stock Sammy Task Manager/Calender/Calculator/etc.?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
9th May 2012, 01:53 AM   |  #6  
xboxfanj's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Saint Louis, Mizzou
Thanks Meter: 6,686
 
7,095 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ceelos09

Wouldn't we be able to just modify the S-Voice.apk to make it independent from the TW framework? Kinda like what Tortel did with the stock Sammy Task Manager/Calender/Calculator/etc.?

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium

Potentially yes, but that's a better question for Tortel2120 than me.
10th May 2012, 05:01 AM   |  #7  
eyecon82's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,654
 
2,242 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket321

This is my guess as well. The challanges would be:

  • Need ICS
  • Probably need TouchWiz framework (ICS version)
  • Very likely not enough RAM in Epic to run ICS + TW + voice app

CM9 dev's are working hard to free up 1-2mb RAM at a time, throwing TW on there would likely bring things to a standstill. I think we are reaching the limit of what our phone can handle with AOSP ICS/CM9.

the SIII has the same ram as SII though?
11th May 2012, 07:29 AM   |  #8  
carm0033's Avatar
Member
Flag Minneapolis, MN
Thanks Meter: 7
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2009
More
Is this supposed to be something like Samsung's version of Siri?
12th May 2012, 09:08 AM   |  #9  
Ceelos09's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 285
 
1,008 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carm0033

Is this supposed to be something like Samsung's version of Siri?

Yes, Samsung created the S-Voice to basically compete with Apple's Siri. Whether its up to par with Siri, we'll have to see

Sent from my SPH-D700 using xda premium
14th May 2012, 12:31 AM   |  #10  
rocket321's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 490
 
757 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyecon82

the SIII has the same ram as SII though?

Right, hopefully many of the S3's features can be back ported to the S2. However I don't see ports for the og S getting this love. Hopefully some cleaver devs will prove me wrong though.

Sent from my SPH-D700 using XDA

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes