Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,761 Members 41,788 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Restore to store for warranty?

Tip us?
 
jellymelly
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney
Default Restore to store for warranty?

Hi guys, just wondering if I unlock bootloader and flash roms on the legend, htcdev says you will void your warranty. But is there a way to restore it to factory conditions (relock bootloader etc) and make it look like it's been stock all along, if it does need a warranty repair/replacement?

Thanks in advance.
 
Asovse1
Old
#2  
Asovse1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 106
Posts: 638
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Edmonton
Yes. By flashing the stock ROM appropriate to the where in the world you are.
04/08/2010-20/08/2012, 22/08/2012-27/03/2013: Bell HTC Legend - HTC Sense 2.1 with Android 2.3
26/12/2011-20/08/2012: TELUS LG Optimus One - CM7.2
14/07/2012: Asus Nexus 7 from Google - Stock Android 4.4 KitKat
20/08/2012-22/08/2012: Rogers Samsung Galaxy Note - Unrooted stock (worst phone ever, of all time)
27/03/2013: AT&T HTC One X(L) - Stock Rooted Sense 5 Android 4.2.2
Twitter | Google+
Proudly Vietnamese-Canadian
 
ranger4740
Old
#3  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 443
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Actually no sorry I don't think that will be the case, once u update to hboot 1.02 you won't be able to downgrade again to any hboot lower unless there's a smart cookie able to hack the flasher to force flash it, besides, when you sent off your unique ID token to HTC so you can get the unlock binary, they will now have it on record you unlocked your phone and agreed to void your warranty.

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
Update: 8th April 2014
Samsung Galaxy S4 👉😆😄Echoe rom v20😄😆👈
Still on old BMG4 Boobloader + FNBH Baseband.👍

semi-retired
HTC Desire HD
(Hboot 2.00.0029 AND S-OFF)
SVHD V 2.1.0

Retired HTC Legend
The Following User Says Thank You to ranger4740 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Stevemotto
Old
#4  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 379
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Nup, once boot loader is unlocked your warranty has been voided and there is no current method to undo it.

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
HTC Legend : CM 7.1 Overclocked 806 MHZ
The Following User Says Thank You to Stevemotto For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
jellymelly
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 119
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sydney
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger4740 View Post
Actually no sorry I don't think that will be the case, once u update to hboot 1.02 you won't be able to downgrade again to any hboot lower unless there's a smart cookie able to hack the flasher to force flash it, besides, when you sent off your unique ID token to HTC so you can get the unlock binary, they will now have it on record you unlocked your phone and agreed to void your warranty.

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
Ok thanks everyone. As it's not my phone I don't know if I should do it anymore just for the trackpad wake feature. Thanks for answering.

Also, ranger, is zeubea's ics beta 0 stable enough for everyday use?
 
cyRq
Old
(Last edited by cyRq; 6th May 2012 at 02:38 PM.)
#6  
cyRq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 169
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ranger4740 View Post
Actually no sorry I don't think that will be the case, once u update to hboot 1.02 you won't be able to downgrade again to any hboot lower unless there's a smart cookie able to hack the flasher to force flash it, besides, when you sent off your unique ID token to HTC so you can get the unlock binary, they will now have it on record you unlocked your phone and agreed to void your warranty.

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
Not true. You can downgrade to1.01 without any trouble. Just use the hack4legend to change the misc version and downgrade all the way to Eclair. After that just download OTAs up to the latest Froyo and your perfectly stock with S-ON, HBOOT 1.01 and no signs of you unlocking anything.

Wysyłane z mojego HTC Desire S za pomocą Tapatalk 2
ROMS: CRQ 1.3 for HTC Legend
DEVICES: HTC Legend (sold), HTC Desire S, GoClever A73
The Following User Says Thank You to cyRq For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ranger4740
Old
#7  
ranger4740's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 443
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by cyRq View Post
Not true. You can downgrade to1.01 without any trouble. Just use the hack4legend to change the misc version and downgrade all the way to Eclair. After that just download OTAs up to the latest Froyo and your perfectly stock with S-ON, HBOOT 1.01 and no signs of you unlocking anything.

Wysyłane z mojego HTC Desire S za pomocą Tapatalk 2
This is good information to know, this the first I've heard of this method that allows hboot downgrade, there are other much more advanced members of xda than me, that also believe hboot downgrade can't be done, excellent news. :thumbup:

sent from my legend, currently using zeubea ics beta0
Update: 8th April 2014
Samsung Galaxy S4 👉😆😄Echoe rom v20😄😆👈
Still on old BMG4 Boobloader + FNBH Baseband.👍

semi-retired
HTC Desire HD
(Hboot 2.00.0029 AND S-OFF)
SVHD V 2.1.0

Retired HTC Legend
 
cyRq
Old
#8  
cyRq's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 169
Join Date: Mar 2011
Well u can't downgrade it to 0.43 to S-OFF with alpharev or something.
It seams like 1.02 is kinda different and can be flushed backwards.

Tested this myself. I've had to restore my Legend before selling it

Wysyłane z mojego HTC Desire S za pomocą Tapatalk 2
ROMS: CRQ 1.3 for HTC Legend
DEVICES: HTC Legend (sold), HTC Desire S, GoClever A73
 
Stevemotto
Old
#9  
Stevemotto's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 53
Posts: 379
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney
Woot, never knew that

Sent from my Legend using xda premium
HTC Legend : CM 7.1 Overclocked 806 MHZ

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes