[Q] HTC One X: Stock, stuck in bootloop, need to recover pics please!

Search This thread

jkalbin

Oct 12, 2013
Hello, newb here with a problem...

My girlfriend's phone (HTC One X) randomly reboots today and gets stuck in a bootloop, HTC screen and then black, over and over... seems like it won't load the OS. I do a little research and manage to time it just right to get it into HBOOT and just shut it down so I can try and figure out the problem later.

I have no experience rooting phones, minimal experience with Linux and Java coding. Her phone is new, bought unlocked with GSM carrier bands. She lives in Romania and will be taking the phone home with her in a week, so no SIM card yet, just airplane mode and wifi. This does mean I'm on a timetable to get it fixed though, it needs to work before she leaves as I'm not sure of the support she may get back home.

The boot screen shows the following:

***LOCKED***
EVITA PVT SHIP S-OFF RL
CID-11111111
HBOOT- 1.14.0002
RADIO- 0.19as.32.09.11_2
OpenDSP- v29.1.0.45.0622
eMMC-boot
Jun 11 2012, 14:36:28

HBOOT

<VOL UP>...
<POWER>...

FASTBOOT
RECOVERY
FACTORY RESET
CLEAR STORAGE
SIMLOCK
IMAGE CRC
POWER DOWN

Now, from what I've read, I may be able to fix the problem with a reset, but here is the hiccup... I need to save the pics and video that are on the phone. Is there any way to do this with a phone that is only stable powered on in HBOOT? Normal boot ALWAYS responds with a loop, HBOOT can sit for hours with no issue. I have my GF's laptop with Win 8 Pro and could do cmds if there is a way to get the phone recognizable by the computer.

I have searched for hours this afternoon/evening to try and find a similar problem, but it always seemed to be with rooting the phone. If anyone has ANY ideas how to save the pics and get this phone stable, I would be incredibly grateful. Thanks in advance! :laugh:

Last edited:

ted77usa

Inactive RC / RT
Jan 13, 2010
Fog City