Using power banks to charge your phone

Search This thread

soumen.sam

May 14, 2014
Hi Guys,

I’ve no experience of using Power Banks ever so here is my queries and doubts. As far as I know as much the mAh the power bank have, it can hold more current and charges other device for long. Is that correct?

# My primary question is it safe to Power Bank to Charge your phone?
# Also is it safe to use a higher mAh external charger like 10400mAh? The stock charger shows 2amp output.
# Could it damage the battery for longer use? (I love my phone very much and I scare to use non branded after market stuffs)

I found this product Xiaomi Brand Power Bank 10400MAH (please google it and see the description) and it has 10400 mAh, and looks like best for Note 3’s giant 3200mAh battery. So is it safe to go for this product?

My purpose of using this, like once in every two full charge. Please advice, thanks

Reactions: dash REZA

RemyL75

Oct 2, 2007
Chicago
a "power bank" is nothing more than an external battery. Almost every cellphone manufacturer makes one. The bigger the mAh, the more power it holds and the more devices it can charge..

In my experience, it is safe to use them. I have a few that i have used over the years. I would recommend getting one where the mAh is more than the battery in the device you want to charge.

I have a Motorola external battery that is rated at 4000 mAh. I use it for my Note 3, but it will not change the Note 3 t0 100% if it's starting from 0%. Even thought the Note 3's battery is 3200 mAh. But other external batteries I have used have been able to. I assume it's because their mAh is higher (9000 mAh and 10400mAh).

As for the specific one you are looking to get, all I can tell you to do is read the reviews, and if possible, search the reviews for any references to Note 3.

soumen.sam

May 14, 2014