[Q] Dual-booted TF101 optimised for work.

Search This thread

bcd234

Apr 15, 2012
Greetings,

I have looked at information on the internet (including this forum) with regards to loading different a different OS onto the TF101. There is a lot of information on how to do it, but very little explaining how satisfactory the result is.

Here is my situation:

I have ordered a refurbished TF101 + Dock for under $400 delivered. This is covered by a 12-Month warranty.

My plan was to use this device primarily as a work-oriented device. I am studying law and am required to take excessive notes, apply for clerkships, and write fully referenced (NB: footnoted) essays.

I only have 2gb per month of mobile data which means I spend a lot of time at various educational institutions. I also work mobile pretty often (train ride into city, etc). Essentially I'll be using this primarily as a netbook with an awesome battery life

While the TF101 seems like an perfect device for someone with my lifestyle, the lack of any android app which allows for footnoting is unforgivable. The decision to dual-boot ubuntu is a logical solution.

Onto my questions:

1. Is there any issue setting up dualboot on a TF101 from a bootable USB drive on a windows based OS?

2. How does ubuntu run on the TF101 in terms of productivity? I have read about what functions are supported; but I'm wondering how it all works in practice. It doesn't seem like anyone has turned their TF101 into an ultrabook with a killer battery life and tablet functionality.

3. I have read that bricking is always reversible. Is this the case? I don't plan on deviating from instructions from xda. I understand that there is always a risk, I just want to know my chances.

4. Does it matter whether HC or ICS is loaded on this tablet when it arrives? Are there any steps I should take to update the OS before dual-booting

5. Are there any drawbacks to clocking to 1.4Ghz? Does this affect battery life and if so, to what extent?