TechTalk Compiles All the Android News You Need in One App

If you’re as obsessed with mobile devices as the vast majority of our forum … more

Android App Review: Google Inbox to Improve Your Life – XDA TV

Recently, Google+ exploded with the announcement of Google Inbox, as … more

Damp the LG G3 Thermal Throttling

As our mobile devices grow thinner and more powerfulwith each passing generation, it’s inevitable … more

Google Play Developer Distribution Agreement Due Tomorrow

Every once in a while, Google updates theGoogle PlayDeveloper Distribution … more
Post Reply

[Q] Can't Turn On?

OP Dvicens

11th April 2012, 04:31 AM   |  #1  
Dvicens's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Atlanta
Thanks Meter: 3
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
I cant get this thing to boot back up. I have tried everything there is. I tried pin reset, hard reset, nv flash restore, and i opened up the streak and pulled the battery out and still couldnt get it to power up. Is there ANY kind of fix for this that any of you might know of. YES I SEARCHED EXTENSIVELY.
11th April 2012, 05:15 AM   |  #2  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,546
 
3,456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Firstly the reset button is the equiv of pulling the batt, it's pretty much a hardware level button and not software level.

Have you tried charging it for a few hours, if it still doesnt enter any boot mode (normal, fastboot, APX, recovery) then it's likely dead at the hardware level.
11th April 2012, 11:04 AM   |  #3  
giveen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Caldwell, ID
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
2,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
By the fact that you said pulled battery out, I am assuming you are talking about something else or are just clueless.
11th April 2012, 01:23 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by giveen

By the fact that you said pulled battery out, I am assuming you are talking about something else or are just clueless.

Maybe a Dell Streak 5 which I believe has a removable battery?
11th April 2012, 08:16 PM   |  #5  
giveen's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Caldwell, ID
Thanks Meter: 1,538
 
2,147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by wptski

Maybe a Dell Streak 5 which I believe has a removable battery?

exactly, but then he was talking about using NVFlash, but the Streak5 doesn't have a nvidia chip.
11th April 2012, 08:21 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by giveen

exactly, but then he was talking about using NVFlash, but the Streak5 doesn't have a nvidia chip.

Hmm, I didn't know that. I'm with you now, what are they talking about?
13th April 2012, 12:34 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 242
 
3,305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by giveen

exactly, but then he was talking about using NVFlash, but the Streak5 doesn't have a nvidia chip.

I thought that NVFlash was Non-Volatile Flash memory? EDIT: It comes up on our Linux machines here at work during the boot.
13th April 2012, 12:44 AM   |  #8  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,546
 
3,456 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
the NV in nvflash stands (likely) for nvidia, NV is what they use if they need to prefix something,

one example are opengl extensions, any nvidia specific extenstion is:
gl_nv_* and the nv is removed when it become fully standardized.

It could stand for non voliatile, but that term isnt really used anymore as nv memory is rather vague now, as it could be anything from e/p/p/rom to flash memory
13th April 2012, 01:24 PM   |  #9  
Lookin4Trouble's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 39
 
333 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
More
Power LED?
First, are you using an original Dell charger? Most phone/tablet chargers on the market don't supply the necessary voltage/amperage to force begin-charging. If you're using a different charger, that may be your problem (battery totally dead) - I can't find a source for a 5.35v@2.0A charger, but I did find that I can charge my Streak with an iPad charger (5.0v@2.1A)

If you're using the stock charger or an iPad charger, does the Power LED turn on when you plug it in?
If it comes up solid red, you need to let it charge.
If it comes up solid orange or green, you're charged, and it may be the video cable's come loose/undone, so there's just no further indications when you power it on.
If it comes up flashing red, leave your streak plugged in and push the reset pin button. From that point, it should come up solid red (let it charge before trying to boot)
If it doesn't turn on at all, you may have a damaged charging port (VERY common issue) or a shorted motherboard (not as common but too common for my taste).

Try the above and let us know.

L4T

---------- Post added at 08:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:20 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheManii

the NV in nvflash stands (likely) for nvidia, NV is what they use if they need to prefix something,

one example are opengl extensions, any nvidia specific extenstion is:
gl_nv_* and the nv is removed when it become fully standardized.

It could stand for non voliatile, but that term isnt really used anymore as nv memory is rather vague now, as it could be anything from e/p/p/rom to flash memory

Yes, the NV in NVFlash stands for NVidia - NVFlash is only used for download mode flashing of boards with NVidia chipsets - for comparison, ODIN is applicable to other chipsets flashing download mode...

L4T
13th April 2012, 02:25 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Warren, MI
Thanks Meter: 157
 
1,360 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lookin4Trouble

First, are you using an original Dell charger? Most phone/tablet chargers on the market don't supply the necessary voltage/amperage to force begin-charging. If you're using a different charger, that may be your problem (battery totally dead) - I can't find a source for a 5.35v@2.0A charger, but I did find that I can charge my Streak with an iPad charger (5.0v@2.1A)

If you're using the stock charger or an iPad charger, does the Power LED turn on when you plug it in?
If it comes up solid red, you need to let it charge.
If it comes up solid orange or green, you're charged, and it may be the video cable's come loose/undone, so there's just no further indications when you power it on.
If it comes up flashing red, leave your streak plugged in and push the reset pin button. From that point, it should come up solid red (let it charge before trying to boot)
If it doesn't turn on at all, you may have a damaged charging port (VERY common issue) or a shorted motherboard (not as common but too common for my taste).

Try the above and let us know.

L4T

---------- Post added at 08:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:20 AM ----------



Yes, the NV in NVFlash stands for NVidia - NVFlash is only used for download mode flashing of boards with NVidia chipsets - for comparison, ODIN is applicable to other chipsets flashing download mode...

L4T

Although the specs call for a 5.35v@2.0A charger. It's a power supply and the charger is in the device for one but it never draws anywhere near 2A as I've measured it. The most it draws is around 1.2A during boot up and maybe you've noticed that the charging indicator goes OFF during boot up also. After bootup it draws around 800mA.

Some have had mixed success when using cigarette/power point automobile USB adapters. Even a 1A model "may" work if you boot up first before pugging it in. Another trick is to start with a fully charged device. Not sure what the Streak looks for to cause "more" problems than others using different models of power supplies.

There was a whole thread about this or it went OT somewhere here.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes