Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[ROM][CM7] [v1.3] Size-agnostic SD Card image and CM7 installer for SD Cards.

OP verygreen

21st March 2011, 03:52 AM   |  #21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
377 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
I may be stupid but...is it possible to install gapps with this?
21st March 2011, 04:03 AM   |  #22  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,588
 
1,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modra76

Please download it from nook.linuxhacker.ru
and put on first partition of this SD card
the name should start with updatei-cm and end with .zip

Then the cursor just sits. No installation of the .zip file. Do I have to have the original cm zip file on the sd card with the gapp zip file? I thought it was posted that doesn't work.

Ok, I can reproduce this and the other bit of good news is I made automatic install/recovery to work too. Thanks for the report.
Check the first post in like 5 minutes for the update about v1.1
21st March 2011, 04:04 AM   |  #23  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,588
 
1,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADude

verygreen -

Would this work with an Android 3.0 Honeycomb Preview build, instead of a CM7 build ?

I have not tried. Depends if they have a similar rc.encore.init file that describes mounts.
Provide me with a link to an image and I'll tell you (and I can update the installer to work with it too).

Edit: I just checked with a file named HC-v4-emmc.zip from HC thread. Unfortunately it'll definitely won't work as it's not in an expected format. The zip file contains three tar files that need to be separately unpacked.
While it is possible to implement updating for this sort of an archive, it just looks like a one-tiem format that is not likely to be used by anything in the future.
Given that HC thread has SDCard installation instructions, I guess there is no point in supporting HC yet until things stabilize some more.
Last edited by verygreen; 21st March 2011 at 05:16 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to verygreen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 04:07 AM   |  #24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
126 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybertimber2007

Seeing the same. Also tried naming the gapps file "update.zip", to no avail.

Same here...is there no way to adb these Gapps? the dev block always seems to be invalid when I try to adb them


Edit: just saw very greens updated post.
The Following User Says Thank You to pceasar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 04:14 AM   |  #25  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Ok this is an update to my previous post.

I've got the gapps zip file to install.

I did the following:

1. Follow verygreen's instructions in original post.
2. Then I setup my wireless.
3. Turned nook off and pulled sdcard.
4. Connected sd card to computer.
5. Make backup of uImage and uRamdisk
6. Renamed uRecImage to uImage and uRecRamdisk to uRamdisk
7. Downloaded the latest gapps zip file and copied it to the sd card.
8. Copied the update cm zip file that I originally used from the initial install back to the sd card.
9. Ejected card, inserted card into nook and booted up.
10. Recovery popped up and started to unzip both zip files.
11. Let it finish and then it will boot normally.
12. Once the nook boots, the initial sign pops up.
13. Skip everything until you get the normal home screen. None of the sign-in will work because it is looking for a phone signal.
14. Once you get to the home screen, make sure your wifi is still setup correctly and click on the market. Then follow the normal account setup directions.

Hope this helps everyone.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Modra76 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 04:15 AM   |  #26  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thanks for the quick reply Verygreen. You posted right as I was typing up how I got the gapps to install. Thanks for all the hard work.
21st March 2011, 04:24 AM   |  #27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
311 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
Yea, there is a way... however when I tried it, things got very screwy (adw broke mainly). Something might have glitched, but I'll look into it again if the need arises. Based on other posts though, don't think I'll need to.

Sent from my HTC Hero CDMA using XDA App
21st March 2011, 04:29 AM   |  #28  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,588
 
1,289 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modra76

13. Skip everything until you get the normal home screen. None of the sign-in will work because it is looking for a phone signal.

Actually sign-in does work for me, since wifi is setup and working.
21st March 2011, 04:34 AM   |  #29  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Yeah that maybe something on my end. Sometimes my wifi doesn't pick up right away on my nook.
21st March 2011, 05:00 AM   |  #30  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
I don't know if I did it the right way, however I followed verygreen's steps as close as possible and I was easily able to install gapps as well. I'm on a Windows 7 machine, so maybe my steps were a bit different:

1) Burned the installer image to my uSD using Win32 Disk Imager
2) Downloaded CM nightly build (most current at the time was #26)
3) Copied this zip file directly to the burned image. (Like verygreen said there's only one partition)
4) Put the uSD card in my Nook and booted up.
5) Let verygreen's program work it's magic.
6) My Nook booted back up to my Stock Rooted, so I rebooted my Nook.
7) Booted right up to CM7!

8) To install gapps, I plugged my Nook into my usb port and followed the instructions for the HC from this link:
http://www.nookdevs.com/Honeycomb_Go...pps_and_Market
9) Once it rebooted, Market and everything works BEAUTIFULLY!

Thanks verygreen!!!

The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dzigns For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes