FORUMS

New Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 Update Fixes Major Bugs

Senior Recognized Developer rovo89 has patched Xposed for Lollipop 5.0 to … more

Download Sony’s new AOSP-like concept for Xperia Z3

Over in our forums, Recognized Contributor Jozinek has posted a very … more

OnePlus 2 vs Moto X Style: Which is The Better Flagship?

Two big industry names have announced their newest flagship phones within the … more

Making Your Own Xposed Modules Is Easier Than You Think

Close to the heart of XDA is the Xposed Framework by Rovo89. Most of … more

[ROM][CM7] [v1.3] Size-agnostic SD Card image and CM7 installer for SD Cards.

1,302 posts
Thanks Meter: 2,634
 
By verygreen, Recognized Contributor on 20th March 2011, 07:55 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
21st March 2011, 02:52 AM |#21  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
More
I may be stupid but...is it possible to install gapps with this?
 
 
21st March 2011, 03:03 AM |#22  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modra76

Please download it from nook.linuxhacker.ru
and put on first partition of this SD card
the name should start with updatei-cm and end with .zip

Then the cursor just sits. No installation of the .zip file. Do I have to have the original cm zip file on the sd card with the gapp zip file? I thought it was posted that doesn't work.

Ok, I can reproduce this and the other bit of good news is I made automatic install/recovery to work too. Thanks for the report.
Check the first post in like 5 minutes for the update about v1.1
21st March 2011, 03:04 AM |#23  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADude

verygreen -

Would this work with an Android 3.0 Honeycomb Preview build, instead of a CM7 build ?

I have not tried. Depends if they have a similar rc.encore.init file that describes mounts.
Provide me with a link to an image and I'll tell you (and I can update the installer to work with it too).

Edit: I just checked with a file named HC-v4-emmc.zip from HC thread. Unfortunately it'll definitely won't work as it's not in an expected format. The zip file contains three tar files that need to be separately unpacked.
While it is possible to implement updating for this sort of an archive, it just looks like a one-tiem format that is not likely to be used by anything in the future.
Given that HC thread has SDCard installation instructions, I guess there is no point in supporting HC yet until things stabilize some more.
Last edited by verygreen; 21st March 2011 at 04:16 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to verygreen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 03:07 AM |#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cybertimber2007

Seeing the same. Also tried naming the gapps file "update.zip", to no avail.

Same here...is there no way to adb these Gapps? the dev block always seems to be invalid when I try to adb them


Edit: just saw very greens updated post.
The Following User Says Thank You to pceasar For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 03:14 AM |#25  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Ok this is an update to my previous post.

I've got the gapps zip file to install.

I did the following:

1. Follow verygreen's instructions in original post.
2. Then I setup my wireless.
3. Turned nook off and pulled sdcard.
4. Connected sd card to computer.
5. Make backup of uImage and uRamdisk
6. Renamed uRecImage to uImage and uRecRamdisk to uRamdisk
7. Downloaded the latest gapps zip file and copied it to the sd card.
8. Copied the update cm zip file that I originally used from the initial install back to the sd card.
9. Ejected card, inserted card into nook and booted up.
10. Recovery popped up and started to unzip both zip files.
11. Let it finish and then it will boot normally.
12. Once the nook boots, the initial sign pops up.
13. Skip everything until you get the normal home screen. None of the sign-in will work because it is looking for a phone signal.
14. Once you get to the home screen, make sure your wifi is still setup correctly and click on the market. Then follow the normal account setup directions.

Hope this helps everyone.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Modra76 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 03:15 AM |#26  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Thanks for the quick reply Verygreen. You posted right as I was typing up how I got the gapps to install. Thanks for all the hard work.
21st March 2011, 03:24 AM |#27  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 69
 
More
Yea, there is a way... however when I tried it, things got very screwy (adw broke mainly). Something might have glitched, but I'll look into it again if the need arises. Based on other posts though, don't think I'll need to.

Sent from my HTC Hero CDMA using XDA App
21st March 2011, 03:29 AM |#28  
OP Recognized Contributor
TN
Thanks Meter: 2,634
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Modra76

13. Skip everything until you get the normal home screen. None of the sign-in will work because it is looking for a phone signal.

Actually sign-in does work for me, since wifi is setup and working.
21st March 2011, 03:34 AM |#29  
Modra76's Avatar
Member
Flag Michigan
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
Yeah that maybe something on my end. Sometimes my wifi doesn't pick up right away on my nook.
21st March 2011, 04:00 AM |#30  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
More
I don't know if I did it the right way, however I followed verygreen's steps as close as possible and I was easily able to install gapps as well. I'm on a Windows 7 machine, so maybe my steps were a bit different:

1) Burned the installer image to my uSD using Win32 Disk Imager
2) Downloaded CM nightly build (most current at the time was #26)
3) Copied this zip file directly to the burned image. (Like verygreen said there's only one partition)
4) Put the uSD card in my Nook and booted up.
5) Let verygreen's program work it's magic.
6) My Nook booted back up to my Stock Rooted, so I rebooted my Nook.
7) Booted right up to CM7!

8) To install gapps, I plugged my Nook into my usb port and followed the instructions for the HC from this link:
http://www.nookdevs.com/Honeycomb_Go...pps_and_Market
9) Once it rebooted, Market and everything works BEAUTIFULLY!

Thanks verygreen!!!
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to dzigns For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st March 2011, 04:10 AM |#31  
aludal's Avatar
Senior Member
Capitola CA
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by verygreen

Supposedly nothing. I routinely boot into eclair and then insert CM7 sdcard and it's fine.


I can't distribute gapps, like I said
Well, until I figure out why recovery boot does not work what you can try to do is this:
after initial install was successful (and you setup your wireless), power off the nook, get the sd card.
Download gapps-gb-...zip and put it on the first partition.
move the uImage file to uImage.bak and uRamdisk to uRamdisk.bak.
Copy uRecImage to uImage and uRecRam to uRamdisk.
boot with the resulting image. It should say that it found the gapps archive and unpack it.
After it flushes caches and reboots, power off, put the sd card back into the computer
move uImage.bak to uImage and uRamdisk.bak to uRamdisk
boot off the card again, hopefully the gapps are working after that.

Please let me know if any problems arise.

No problemo, thank you for all your care. A tidbit convoluted procedure, but quite understandable. Booting from shutdown takes >5 sec of pressing Power, otherwise it's just fine. Flash, YouTube, StreetView took manual installation from the Market, Flash 10.2/last YouTube give 2...5 fps, as was stated. Plus, when hiccuping and playing videos, the whole UI is becoming quite unresponsive. Well, takes some patience to wait for a streamlined ALSA. Though I still doubt it's purely ALSA/audio pipeline in video and its botched sync with video that makes video drop so many frames. Go out of sync then, but show smooth video, will ya? HWStagefright as fallback? VOME Engine from VisualOn?

Just kidding. Dalingrin will return soon and will show his magic.

Спасибо, Олег! А почему ядро 2.6.35 компилишь, вроде б ТИ ОМАП гиты ориентируют на 2.6.36+? Всё одно, успехов, а то я как разувериваюсь в возможностях 2.6.29 для Нукколора.
Last edited by aludal; 21st March 2011 at 04:54 AM. Reason: Additional Language

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes